Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Gaming in Windowed Mode

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-12, 10:24 AM Thread Starter   #1
HR4
Registered

 
HR4's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North Wales

 
Gaming in Windowed Mode


How many play games in windowed mode. I have just tried it out for Arma 2 and it seems o.k, I don’t usually play in windowed mode, but it got me to wondering how many do or how many have tried it out...

__________________
Arma2, gaming pc1:
AMD Athlon II x4 640 Propus 3.4Ghz (oc)
Gigabyte tech
500gb HDD, Quad Core
Sapphire HD5850 2GB Toxic Limited Edition (oc)
Arma3 ready, gaming pc2
Overclocked Intel Six Core i7-3930K 4.6GHz (max)
ASUS P9X79
AMD Radeon HD7970 3GB
120GB SSD, 2TB WD Caviar Black
Both Windows 7 64 Bit
HR4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-12, 10:36 AM   #2
Pandam00nium
Member

 
Pandam00nium's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Up in the mountains~

 
I always try to play in windowed mode if it's possible. I like the option of being able to multi-task whether it's chatting with friends or looking up specific things.

__________________
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 912
CPU: AMD Phenom II 1090T @ 3.81GHz
Mobo: MSI 880G-E45
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB
GPU: MSI 6950 1GB TwinFrozr III
SSD: OCZ Vertex Plus R2 120GB // HDD: Samsung F3 1TB
PSU: Corsair VX550

Heatware
ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
Pandam00nium is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-12, 10:53 AM   #3
Janus67
Benching Team Leader
Grabbed Senior

 
Janus67's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio State

 
I do for any non-fps

__________________
Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


Folding User Stats
Janus67 is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-12, 11:14 AM   #4
SteveLord
Member

 
SteveLord's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Iowa

 
FPS - No way
Shogun 2 - A must. My dad takes 10-15 minutes to take his turns!

__________________
"There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
patience for useless things."

__________________
SteveLord is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-12, 11:24 AM   #5
Pvt.Dancer
Member

 
Pvt.Dancer's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wilsonville, OR

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveLord View Post
FPS - No way
Shogun 2 - A must. My dad takes 10-15 minutes to take his turns!
LOL!


I Do windowed on games like Diablo and other RPG's because I'm usually watching something on netflix. though on the occasion I have played in a windowed mode in BF3 so that I could talk to a few friends on steam but that was never permanent

__________________
Main Rig
Mobo: ASUS Maximus IV Extreme CPU: Intel I7 2600K @ 4.8 GHZ Vcore 1.48 Cooling: Custom water cooling 3x120 rad, EK supreme HF full copper, EK 150 basic res, Koolance PMP-450 High-flow Pump RAM:16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300 GFX: ASUS GTX 690 PSU: Corsair HX 850 Case: Corsair 800D

Server
CPU: 2x Xeon x5550 Memory: 48GB DDR3 1333 ECC REG 8x QR HDD's: 3x 15k SAS 350GB Raid 5 & 3x 7200 RPM SAS 1TB Raid 5
Pvt.Dancer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-12, 01:24 PM   #6
nasvemos671
Member



Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Yuma, Arizona

 
I actually plah WoW in windowed mode, especially when I'm questing and need to check wowhead out.
nasvemos671 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-12, 03:07 PM   #7
BugFreak

 
BugFreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
It all depends on the game for me. I play WOW in windows but BF3 is not.

__________________
AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
ASUS M4A89TD Pro
Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel


"Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson
BugFreak is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-12, 01:46 AM   #8
Redstone
Member

 
Redstone's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Coast

 
windowed so I can play on the secondary monitor. MyTV

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 925
HEATSINK: Silenx Ixtrema Pro
MOBO: MSI NF750-G55
HARD DRIVES: SanDisk SSD 128GB • Maxtor 160GB Slave
MEMORY: A-DATA XPG Gaming Series • DDR3-1333 • 8-8-8-24
POWER: Corsair TX650M
MONITOR: Acer S231HL
VIDEOCARD: EVGA GeForce 650GTX
O/S: MSFT Windows 7 Pro
CLUBS: Callaway X-14’s King Cobra 440cc Ping Anser 5 KS
Redstone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 01:12 PM   #9
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Depends on my mood, most things is full screen. Though since some how how ever I got it setup I can run video and game full screen on both my monitors it really doesn't affect me too much.

Window mode is nice if it allows it and still gives me the performance. FPS's though always full screen no question.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 01:13 PM   #10
merz.38
Member

 
merz.38's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio State

 
Never tried to do it, the buttons and bars around the window bug me too much.

__________________
Coolermaster Cosmos 1000 case
Asus P9X79 w/ Intel i7 - 3820
32GB Corsair Dominator 1866 MHz ram
EVGA 680 GTX 2GB
2 x OCZ Vertex 2 60gb running in raid 0
2 x Seagate Barracuda 1TB running in raid 0
Corsiar TX-950w
Custom Watercooling Loop Build Thread:http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=701267
Macbook Air running Windows 7 64-bit
merz.38 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 04:29 PM   #11
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
Full screen on one monitor, chat/movie/whatever on the other. It's easy enough alt-tabbing around that I don't have a reason to play in windowed.

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 05:49 PM   #12
RADIO_ACTIVE
Member

 
RADIO_ACTIVE's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
^ this is what I do, never cared much for windowed mode.

__________________
CPU: i7 960 @ 3.8ghz
MOBO: EVGA x58 SLI
RAM: gSkill - 6gigs DDR3 1600
GPU: GALAXY 2x GTX 480 SLI @ 780/1560/2012
SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 120gig
PSU: Kingwin 1000w
CHASIS: Antec 900 two
RADIO_ACTIVE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-01-12, 09:15 PM   #13
Atomichearse

 
Atomichearse's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wichita, KS

 
Full Screen on everything unless it's something I'll leave idle for a while like an MMO. For most games, it's not problem to just Alt+Tab out of any situation.

__________________
Intel i5-2500 | HIS Radeon HD 7950 IceQ Turbo
Seasonic Gold X750 | Corsair H70
128GB OCZ Vertex 4 | 128GB Samsung 840 Pro
16GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1648 Mhz 8-8-8-1T| ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Corsair Obsidian 650D |
Atomichearse is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-12, 07:07 AM   #14
JU571N
Member



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: US

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by merz.38 View Post
Never tried to do it, the buttons and bars around the window bug me too much.
More games need borderless windowed mode. It's the best of both worlds.

__________________
ECS A785GM-AD3
Cooler Master GeminII S
Athlon II X3 450 (3.64ghz@1.5v)
4gb Kingston HyperX (1516 9-9-9-24)
ATI HD 5770 (990/1375@1.212v)
Corsair VX450
Asus VE228H
JU571N is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-12, 07:39 PM   #15
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
I don't know about every game but on TF2 you can remove the border by just modifying the game startup in steam and adding "-noborder"

Moving the game up a few pixels works well, too.

I run every game in windowed mode. It's a lot easier. I do it with dual monitors, too. Some games don't like being tabbed out, and tabbing back in has always been a little slower than I'd like.
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 02:23 AM   #16
Cheesecraker
Registered

 
Cheesecraker's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2012

 
I like to play general games in windowed mode like Oblivion, Skyrim and pretty much any slower paced games but if its online game or a faster paced game I play fullscreen.
Cheesecraker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 08:19 AM   #17
Metlcub



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mickleton NJ

 
Only game I play in windowed mode is Everquest, and that's cause i'm 3 boxing. BF3, LOL, and any other game are FS with something up on the second monitor.

__________________
Mobo ASRock z77 Extreem4
CPU i7-2600k @ 4.2 1.20v
CPU HS/F Corsair H-100
RAM Corsair Veng 12gig DDR3-1600
GPU EVGA 760 SC Acx
Storage 2tb HDD
DVD Samsung BD/DVD/CD
Inputs Logitech G510 and G700
Sound Sb X-Fi titanium , TB DX12
Case Haf X Advanced
PSU TT TR2 RX 750w
My Heatware
Metlcub is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?