Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

APC UPS unhappy?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-12, 12:03 AM Thread Starter   #1
Arbiter Odie
Member



Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Heading straight for Tau Ceti

 
APC UPS unhappy?


I was running prime 95 to make sure my current overclock was stable. The computer has been acting strangely for the past few days, so I figured it was time to double check. Everything was fine for the first ten minutes.

Then, while I was web-browsing (with prime95 still going), my UPS (an APC ES 550) clicked twice, my computer and screens lost power, and the UPS started beeping over and over again. I turned it off, re-arranged the plugs, and turned the computer back on. It's still alive, thankfully.

So, I guess the question it, what happened? And how do I keep it from happening again in the future? My computer specs are listed in my signature, and are mostly up to date.

Thank you,
Arbiter Odie

__________________
Motherboard: Sabertooth 990FX
CPU: FX-8120 @ 4.6 Ghz at 1.38 volts
RAM: 16GB (1600Mhz Cas 9) Ripjaws
Graphics Cards: GT 430 (overclocked)
Hard Drive: Vertex 4, Vertex 2, Mushkin Callisto Deluxe
Power Supply: Kingwin Lazer Platinum 550 Watt
Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion
Arbiter Odie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-12, 10:46 AM   #2
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
You're running your entire OC'd computer and monitors through a 330 watt UPS?

__________________
Rig1: C2D E8400 @3510 Ф Asus P5G41T-M-LX Plus mobo Ф 8 Gigs Ballistix DDR3 1333 Ф Asus GT520 Silent Ф 4 Deep Cool 92mm case fans Ф FSP 1U 460 Watt PSU
External Watercooling: 40' Copper Coil Geothermal ground loop Ф Cooling modded MCP350 & MCP355 W/Swiftech white dual pump top Ф D-Tek Fuzion V2, 1/4"

Rig2: Via Esther C7 1.5 @ 1.65 Ф Jetway 7F2WE1G5D mITX mobo Ф 1 Gig Generic Ram (max) Ф 120 watt Pico PSU.

Life's Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late. ~ Benjamin Franklin
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
Arbiter Odie (05-02-12)
Old 05-02-12, 02:10 PM Thread Starter   #3
Arbiter Odie
Member



Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Heading straight for Tau Ceti

 
Apparently. Am I overdrawing it? Should I get a larger one?

__________________
Motherboard: Sabertooth 990FX
CPU: FX-8120 @ 4.6 Ghz at 1.38 volts
RAM: 16GB (1600Mhz Cas 9) Ripjaws
Graphics Cards: GT 430 (overclocked)
Hard Drive: Vertex 4, Vertex 2, Mushkin Callisto Deluxe
Power Supply: Kingwin Lazer Platinum 550 Watt
Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion
Arbiter Odie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-12, 03:57 PM   #4
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
Yep.
You need to find an online wattage calculator that you can plug in your hardware and get a wattage (high) number from. A PSU calculator will do.
Add that number to the monitor's wattage total, add 15-20% for headroom/longevity, and then go shopping with that new number in mind.

I don't know of any calculators personally, but if your computer itself is running good off the 550W Kingwin, you could wing it with that as your computer wattage, then add monitors.

Effectively what you're doing is expecting the APC's circuitry to pass 600+ watts through it's circuits designed for 330 watts.
Surprised it hasn't failed altogether actually. Be glad that they too plan for headroom!

__________________
Rig1: C2D E8400 @3510 Ф Asus P5G41T-M-LX Plus mobo Ф 8 Gigs Ballistix DDR3 1333 Ф Asus GT520 Silent Ф 4 Deep Cool 92mm case fans Ф FSP 1U 460 Watt PSU
External Watercooling: 40' Copper Coil Geothermal ground loop Ф Cooling modded MCP350 & MCP355 W/Swiftech white dual pump top Ф D-Tek Fuzion V2, 1/4"

Rig2: Via Esther C7 1.5 @ 1.65 Ф Jetway 7F2WE1G5D mITX mobo Ф 1 Gig Generic Ram (max) Ф 120 watt Pico PSU.

Life's Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late. ~ Benjamin Franklin
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
Arbiter Odie (05-02-12)
Old 05-02-12, 04:42 PM Thread Starter   #5
Arbiter Odie
Member



Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Heading straight for Tau Ceti

 
Wow. Thank you for warning me! I think I'll find a good surge protector/power strip for the time being (I can't afford a bigger UPS). Do I need to worry about wattage on those too?

For instance,
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812106085

It appears to handle 15 amps output at 120 volts. Therefore, it would have no problem handling my computer, correct?


Additionally, can I temporarily solve the problem by moving my power cables over to the surge protected only side? Are those affected by the 330 watt maximum draw limit? Or are they safe to use?

__________________
Motherboard: Sabertooth 990FX
CPU: FX-8120 @ 4.6 Ghz at 1.38 volts
RAM: 16GB (1600Mhz Cas 9) Ripjaws
Graphics Cards: GT 430 (overclocked)
Hard Drive: Vertex 4, Vertex 2, Mushkin Callisto Deluxe
Power Supply: Kingwin Lazer Platinum 550 Watt
Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion
Arbiter Odie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-12, 04:56 PM   #6
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
15 amps at 120v is 1800 watts.

The 330 watt limit of the UPS should be through the battery protected outputs only, so moving it over to the surge protector side should alleviate the problem.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
Arbiter Odie (05-02-12)
Old 05-02-12, 04:59 PM   #7
RollingThunder
Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
Premium Member #12

 
RollingThunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arbiter Odie View Post
Wow. Thank you for warning me! I think I'll find a good surge protector/power strip for the time being (I can't afford a bigger UPS). Do I need to worry about wattage on those too?

For instance,
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812106085

It appears to handle 15 amps output at 120 volts. Therefore, it would have no problem handling my computer, correct?


Additionally, can I temporarily solve the problem by moving my power cables over to the surge protected only side? Are those affected by the 330 watt maximum draw limit? Or are they safe to use?
You can omit your monitor from the battery backup side and put it only on the surge side. If you happen to have a printer plugged in there, remove that too to the surge side

Diggr's correct, running Prime and surfing with an overclocked system is taking your UPS over it's 330W backup limit or too close to it.

FYI, this rig is using the same UPS you have and my other one is an APC 650. I know, I should reverse them but when I'm checking overclocks with Orthos / Prime95, I unplug what's not needed on the battery backup side (monitor) and I'm fine.

__________________
Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2007 1600x1200
2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
Vista 64.............................XP Pro
Experience teaches only the teachable.
RollingThunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
Arbiter Odie (05-02-12)
Old 05-02-12, 05:07 PM Thread Starter   #8
Arbiter Odie
Member



Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Heading straight for Tau Ceti

 
You guys are awesome.

@Rolling Thunder: I don't have anything but the computer and two monitors attached to the battery backup side. I'll move the monitors and see if that helps.

@Thideras: Done, plugs relocated.


Thank you everybody!

__________________
Motherboard: Sabertooth 990FX
CPU: FX-8120 @ 4.6 Ghz at 1.38 volts
RAM: 16GB (1600Mhz Cas 9) Ripjaws
Graphics Cards: GT 430 (overclocked)
Hard Drive: Vertex 4, Vertex 2, Mushkin Callisto Deluxe
Power Supply: Kingwin Lazer Platinum 550 Watt
Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion
Arbiter Odie is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?