Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Vertex 3 and a Vertex 2

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-12, 04:16 PM Thread Starter   #1
Imperatrix
Member



Join Date: Jun 2010

 
Vertex 3 and a Vertex 2


So i got my Vertex 3 today to use as my main drive and bump my 2nd device to storage However after installing windows on V3 i download ocz toolbox to secure Erase the 2nd drive. well after attempting its no longer showing up in the drive window , but Bios/windows both say its there and working just doesnt show up next to my local C:/ drive. any thoughts?
Imperatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 04:17 PM   #2
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Initialize the disc in Computer Management.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 04:23 PM Thread Starter   #3
Imperatrix
Member



Join Date: Jun 2010

 
mbr or guid partition table
Imperatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 04:35 PM Thread Starter   #4
Imperatrix
Member



Join Date: Jun 2010

 
and its asking me to format it? /crys im confused.
Imperatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 04:36 PM   #5
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Right. You essentially "zeroed" out the drive with the OCZ toolbox. You can format it to the 1024k length in windows so its properly aligned.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 05:22 PM   #6
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
Right. You essentially "zeroed" out the drive with the OCZ toolbox. You can format it to the 1024k length in windows so its properly aligned.
Shh. Don't confuse him



If running Vista/7 just format it with windows format tool. It automatically does offset. all auto settings will be fine

XP does not and then you need to use diskpart to format it properly.

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
EarthDog (05-03-12), Imperatrix (05-03-12)
Old 05-03-12, 05:37 PM   #7
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
K.I.S.S!!!!

Sometimes on auto, though it shows aligned (green in CDM or w/e), I get some weird number that isnt 1024. So that is why I personally manually do it.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
Imperatrix (05-03-12), Neuromancer (05-03-12)
Old 05-03-12, 05:39 PM Thread Starter   #8
Imperatrix
Member



Join Date: Jun 2010

 
thanks fellas got it working now!
Imperatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?