Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > General CPU Discussion
General CPU Discussion
Forum Jump

Higher Base block or Higher Multiplier?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-12, 07:25 PM Thread Starter   #1
flyjum
Registered



Join Date: May 2012

 
Higher Base block or Higher Multiplier?


What performs better?
flyjum is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 07:34 PM   #2
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Depends on the system in particular. but baseclock 99% of the time

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 07:40 PM Thread Starter   #3
flyjum
Registered



Join Date: May 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
Depends on the system in particular. but baseclock 99% of the time
990x cpu
I have it clocked @ 4.2ghz with 1.28v temps are 60 full load(water setup)
I left the base clock at factory settings just changed the multiplier

Ram is corsair vengeance 1600 1.5v 24gb
Ram seems to run hot as hell even at 1.51v
Dram core is set to auto

I think the ram overheated or the memory controller because I shut it off and went to restart and it did nothing not even post for like 20 mins
Ram was so hot I could not touch even the heat spreaders
flyjum is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 07:50 PM   #4
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
WOW. yeah on X58 BCLK for the win.. but if your RAM is overheating wow... havent seen that since BH-5 days

In fact that RAM is why heatspreaders and active cooling for RAM is WHY we still have it now on all ram even though it is unneeded. Well that, and it lets companies hide what chips are being used.

I took the heatspreaders OFF my corsair vengeance 1600 1.5v 9-9-9 sticks. Because they are crappy little aluminum do nothing spreaders.

I would address that issue first. RMA if necessary. 1.5v ram does not need active cooling.

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 09:44 PM Thread Starter   #5
flyjum
Registered



Join Date: May 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
WOW. yeah on X58 BCLK for the win.. but if your RAM is overheating wow... havent seen that since BH-5 days

In fact that RAM is why heatspreaders and active cooling for RAM is WHY we still have it now on all ram even though it is unneeded. Well that, and it lets companies hide what chips are being used.

I took the heatspreaders OFF my corsair vengeance 1600 1.5v 9-9-9 sticks. Because they are crappy little aluminum do nothing spreaders.

I would address that issue first. RMA if necessary. 1.5v ram does not need active cooling.
What sort of temps should the ram even be at and is there anyway(software based) to test?
flyjum is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 09:48 PM   #6
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
No software way based to test unless you have something like the Crucil ballistix elite that includes a thermal sensor on it.

Otherwsie have to strap a probe to it or use an IR sensor or something.

If your RAM is getting hot it is not right. Something is going wrong. Contact your RAM manufacturer for details cuz honestly if it is getting that hot, I cant imagine even accidentally sending 2V to it would do it. I have pushed 1.85v through sticks with a tiny ass heat spreader and they dont barely get warm. Even hypers that get warm dont get hot. Of course we add fans to them to push them through 2000+ at 6cas just because it is expected.

EDIT: I pulled the heatspreaders OFF of my corsair vengeance because honestly..they do NOTHING.

I can send you my useless heatspreaders if you need them (only 2 though lol)

EDIT EDIT: sorry for being smarmy. I just mean if you RAM is getting hot there is something wrong, BIOS setting might change it, but I cant see anything about your setup that is saying it is not a design flaw. I have only pushed 240 BCLK on x58 though ..

Put a fan on it or send it back.

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

Last edited by Neuromancer; 05-03-12 at 10:07 PM.
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 11:01 PM Thread Starter   #7
flyjum
Registered



Join Date: May 2012

 
I have an asus rampage 3 black edition mobo if that matters

Anyway I set the base clock to 200 and set the ram to 1600 and the cpu speed to 4200
Voltage is the same 1.28

have you ever overclocked a 990x?
What would be a good safe voltage?
flyjum is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-12, 08:16 PM   #8
Russia14
Member

 
Russia14's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North America

 
BCLK methinks too
Russia14 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-12, 03:21 PM   #9
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyjum View Post
I have an asus rampage 3 black edition mobo if that matters

Anyway I set the base clock to 200 and set the ram to 1600 and the cpu speed to 4200
Voltage is the same 1.28

have you ever overclocked a 990x?
What would be a good safe voltage?
I have not OCed a 990X but they are pretty durable chips unless you freeze them. I know guys that have benched them TRYING to kill them on air at 1.55-1.6volts and did not succeed

I would say "safe" voltage is where your temps stay under control. Summer is coming so have that to deal with...

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > General CPU Discussion
General CPU Discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?