Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Worthy to upgrade i7 920 @ 4.2 to Ivy Bridge

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-12, 11:16 AM Thread Starter   #1
BeerHunter
Member



Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oil Country

10 Year Badge
 
Worthy to upgrade i7 920 @ 4.2 to Ivy Bridge


I am wondering if anyone has seen any clock for clock benchmarks so I can see if it's worth it. It's my understanding 4.5Ghz will be easily achieved with the Ivy Bridge so I'll can probably add 10% right off the bat but how much faster is Ivy Bridge clock for clock?
BeerHunter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 11:23 AM   #2
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Its worth it. SB was a significant step up over Nehalem chips like you have, and IB is a minor jump above SB...sooooo yeah.

Just make sure you have top notch air to hit 4.5ghz as the IB chips run a lot warmer.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 11:29 AM Thread Starter   #3
BeerHunter
Member



Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oil Country

10 Year Badge
 
Cool. I water cool. Hey OT I was wondering if old Swiftech apogee GTZ is okay too?
BeerHunter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 11:30 AM   #4
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
There are better, but if it will fit in the socket (its mounting hardware I mean), it will work.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 01:08 PM Thread Starter   #5
BeerHunter
Member



Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oil Country

10 Year Badge
 
I went hunting around google and I may be wasting my money. What do you say about this earthdog?

http://www.overclock.net/t/905206/of...#post_11887175

All I need horsepower for is games. After saying I won't run 5Ghz with an ivy bridge I figure I won't see much at all.

I wish these review sites would be more comprehensive and include last 4-5 gens of CPUs so you know whether upgrade was worth it but that's all I found.

Notice in Bad company 2 Nehalem is a actually beating Sandy Bridge at same Mhz.
BeerHunter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 01:22 PM   #6
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
920 at 4.2 is plenty till Haswell

__________________
Core I5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Asus Z77 Maximus V
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 2800 10-11-11-31 1.60v
MCW82 WaterCooled Vanilla EVGA GTX 670
Intel 320 120GB SSD
Corsair AX1200
Venom X

Last edited by Don Karnage; 05-03-12 at 01:45 PM.
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 01:27 PM   #7
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeerHunter View Post
Cool. I water cool. Hey OT I was wondering if old Swiftech apogee GTZ is okay too?
I'm actually using one and I just put a 3770K under it yesterday. It might not be quite as good as a brand new block but it's still no slouch in cooling performance.
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 01:40 PM   #8
tangletail
Member



Join Date: Jun 2011

 
I wouldn't say worth it completely. I typically switch between AMD and Intels when I do upgrades that usually require me to turn over the entire system. To me... it's not worth an upgrade if your current hardware still works just fine, and or nothing else -completely- blows what you have already out of the water. Other wise, I'd be paying five hundred every half a year. From what I have seen in average, that this has been mostly a fourth better then previous generations. I may be reading things wrong however, I'd wait till something is at least double the performance of another.
tangletail is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 02:46 PM   #9
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
If you were waiting for double the performance, you must upgrade every few years as it takes time to literally double.

Like I mentioned earlier, Nehalem to SB was a significant CPC upgrade, then SB to IB was still an improvement, but not that much.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 11:34 PM Thread Starter   #10
BeerHunter
Member



Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oil Country

10 Year Badge
 
I pulled the trigger anyway. Since I had to get new video card I said WTH its only like $350 + ram extra. Speaking of which 8 or 16 these days? I run 6 now.
BeerHunter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-12, 11:51 PM   #11
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeerHunter View Post
I pulled the trigger anyway. Since I had to get new video card I said WTH its only like $350 + ram extra. Speaking of which 8 or 16 these days? I run 6 now.
What do you plan on doing with the computer?

__________________
Core I5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Asus Z77 Maximus V
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 2800 10-11-11-31 1.60v
MCW82 WaterCooled Vanilla EVGA GTX 670
Intel 320 120GB SSD
Corsair AX1200
Venom X
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 12:00 AM   #12
kristian221
Member

 
kristian221's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2011

 
If you want to do a lot of multitasking might as well go 16 with how dirt cheap RAM is right now. But if your just going to run a game and even a few things in the background 8 is fine.
kristian221 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 12:38 AM   #13
Supertrucker
Way Too Jealous Member

 
Supertrucker's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southern California

10 Year Badge
 
I dont know how much it speeds things up because im used to my computer being normal and everyone elses being slow as hell, but win7 will cache a whole lot of stuff in ram if you have the space. With 16gigs of ram ive seen it cache upwards of 6gb of info. Was it really noticable over 8, not really, but its nice to know I have it. Im half tempted to throw another 16gb in just so I can have a 20-24 gb ramdrive to play with. I bet skyrims load times would be pretty nice

__________________
4670k @ 4.5 w/ apogee HD Asrock Extreme 6
Crossfire R9 290 @ 1175/1350 EK fc blocks
Yamasaki Catleap 2560x1440 IPS w/120hz pcb
Senn HD598s w/ Sound Blaster Z
Swiftech mcp 35x 120.6 swiftech qp w/GT ap-14s
Supertrucker is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?