Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

RAM won't post at advertised settings?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-12, 11:14 AM Thread Starter   #1
LiquidArrogance
Member



Join Date: Nov 2009

 
RAM won't post at advertised settings?


Feeling like a noob here. First system build in years.

Asrock Z77 extreme 6 w/ this ram kit:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231501

Go into bios and set it at DDR3 2133 11-11-11-30 @ 1.6v and it won't post

Put everything on auto and it boots at DDR 1600?
LiquidArrogance is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 11:46 AM   #2
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Try enabling the DDR3-2133 XMP profile or bump the DRAM voltage to 1.65V.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
LiquidArrogance (05-04-12)
Old 05-04-12, 11:51 AM Thread Starter   #3
LiquidArrogance
Member



Join Date: Nov 2009

 
Thanks for the reply. In bios I only see two XMP profiles and both are @ 1600?

I'll try to post pics here when I get a chance. Installing mobo drivers right now.

There's a good chance I just don't know my way around these new BIOS menus. I just about fainted when I saw I use a mouse while in BIOS . . . lol.
LiquidArrogance is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 12:33 PM   #4
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Enable an XMP profile and reboot, then check what it set things to. It doesn't always pop up right when you select the profile.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 01:05 PM   #5
larrymoencurly
Member

 
larrymoencurly's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Could the problem be that there's no such thing as 2133MHz CLK 11 DRAM chips?

All I could find at Micron was CLK 14 (listed as 1066 MHz): link

Samsung doesn't list anything faster than 1866 MHz.
larrymoencurly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 03:53 PM Thread Starter   #6
LiquidArrogance
Member



Join Date: Nov 2009

 
Ok, I finally figured out the XMP profiles and also finally got a motherboard speaker installed so I can hear beeps (Asrock didn't give me one, nor did silverstone with the case, but that's another complaint thread.

So, there are two XMP profiles and both look identical.

If I set XMP to "auto" the computer boots fine. If I set it to either other profile and save I get:

(Black screen, 4 beeps, reset) x four times and then it boots ok

LiquidArrogance is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 04:00 PM   #7
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Set the "Load XMP Setting" to either profile, then set "DRAM Frequency" to 1600.
Reboot.
Check what voltages you get for DRAM, VTT and VCCSA (might be listed as System Agent).
Check what timings it is setting in DRAM Configuration.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
LiquidArrogance (05-04-12)
Old 05-04-12, 04:36 PM Thread Starter   #8
LiquidArrogance
Member



Join Date: Nov 2009

 
Thanks for the replies. So I what you said and got one blank reboot with no beeps and then it booted fine with these results.

LiquidArrogance is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 04:43 PM   #9
Janus67
Benching Team Leader
Grabbed Senior

 
Janus67's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio State

 
What if you just have two sticks installed? The ripjaw"Z" ram its technically made for quad channel socket 2011/x79 boards and not 1155. Maybe that could be the issue?
Janus67 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
LiquidArrogance (05-04-12)
Old 05-04-12, 04:58 PM Thread Starter   #10
LiquidArrogance
Member



Join Date: Nov 2009

 
Damn . . . didn't notice that. Bought it for this board based on the recommendation of a dude on these forums

Trying a bios update right now and will post back after.

Thanks for the replies!
LiquidArrogance is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 05:03 PM Thread Starter   #11
LiquidArrogance
Member



Join Date: Nov 2009

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janus67 View Post
What if you just have two sticks installed? The ripjaw"Z" ram its technically made for quad channel socket 2011/x79 boards and not 1155. Maybe that could be the issue?
Looks like you called it. Two sticks boots fine @ 2133.

So do I want 8 gigs at 2133 or 16 at 1600 . . . lol.

Thanks again peeps. Y'all always come through for me when all these newfangled devices make me feel like a noob!
LiquidArrogance is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-12, 05:26 PM   #12
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Give VCCSA and VTT a bump. VCCSA to 1v or so, VTT to 1.15v or so.
That may fix you right up at 2133.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
LiquidArrogance (05-05-12)
Old 05-04-12, 10:04 PM   #13
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
... and bump the DRAM voltage to 1.65V w/ all modules installed like I suggested earlier.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
LiquidArrogance (05-05-12)
Old 05-05-12, 03:38 PM Thread Starter   #14
LiquidArrogance
Member



Join Date: Nov 2009

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by redduc900 View Post
... and bump the DRAM voltage to 1.65V w/ all modules installed like I suggested earlier.
Forgot to report back that I did try that yesterday with the same results. Trying other recommendations now.
LiquidArrogance is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-12, 03:44 PM Thread Starter   #15
LiquidArrogance
Member



Join Date: Nov 2009

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by redduc900 View Post
... and bump the DRAM voltage to 1.65V w/ all modules installed like I suggested earlier.
Still getting the same results with all of the recommendations. Debug code is 55: memory not installed.
LiquidArrogance is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-12, 05:13 PM   #16
moocow

 
moocow's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas State

 
MOAR volts

__________________
YAY HWBOT!
[heatware]
moocow is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
LiquidArrogance (05-05-12)
Old 05-05-12, 06:06 PM Thread Starter   #17
LiquidArrogance
Member



Join Date: Nov 2009

 
LOL . . . all around or just to the DRAM? When should I start worrying that I'm getting too high?
LiquidArrogance is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?