Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Fastest 8Core CPU

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-12, 06:36 AM   #61
Ravara
Member



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Denmark

 
My zotac geforce gtx 560ti amp edition is a reference model aswell but it didnt cost alot of money and what mattered for me was that their RMA service will still hold even if you watercool your card.. id gladly pay a little more for that and not to mention i can clock higher due to amp edition and watercool.. trust me i see the benefit of saving money ive just never seen a cheap card throw heavy points in bench but id gladly change my view on this if im wrong
Ravara is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 07:14 AM   #62
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 
The performance does not differ from one make to another unless there running different clocks.

My card in an XFX model, among the cheapest and not regarded among the best.

It is coming up to 3 years old, has spent its entire life overclocked way over its reference clocks on the stock cooler. It has never put a foot wrong.
It was a mid range card 3 years ago, its had a hard life in that its been worked for all its worth and more.

Yet at this moment it can still max out today's games, things like Dirt 3 with all settings maxed @ 1920 x 1080 i'm getting a solid 50 FPS.
The only 2 games its finding its self out of ideas is BF3 and Crisis 2, yet it will still do even those games at the higher setting with smooth frame rates @ 1920 x 1080.

So despite its apparent (low end brand) it was solid the day i bought it, and its still every little bit as solid today.
I would put it up against the most expensive 5770 out there provided we are running the same coolers.

I agree with you on the RMA, to a limited extent (IE there is only so much i'm willing to pay for that)

As for a card its self,- the actual GPU they use are the same (they come from AMD's manufacturer in a box), its only the board and various components on that which differ, plus the cooler.

Like with nVidia AMD demand a minimum level of quality from the card maker, if the quality does not meet those standards they don't use them.

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill

Last edited by Frakk; 05-06-12 at 07:22 AM.
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 07:15 AM Thread Starter   #63
Drew_91
Registered

 
Drew_91's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: England

 
Yeah I never expected it to be an amazing card but all of the other cards that got roughly the same benchmark score were getting on for double the price. I don't think I will be watercooling my rig any time soon though haha.

__________________
CASE - bitfenix raider
MOBO - ASRock 990FX Extreme3
CPU - AMD FX 4100 Black Edition
GPU - Asus EAH6850
RAM - 4 GB DDR3 1333
HDD - 2 x 500G seagate barracudas
CPU cooler - Cool master hyper 212
PSU - Corsair TX650 V2

Steam: drew_1991
Xfire: joiner1991
Drew_91 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 08:54 AM   #64
Ravara
Member



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Denmark

 
Well i agree that factory clocked cards are worthless unless watercooled for more OCing but as for aircooling i guess a card like sapphire is decent due to low heat? just never liked the noise they produce hehe and i always wanted max of a card, also a reason i love the gtx 480 its still incredibly strong, as you might have noticed im a geforce lover
Ravara is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 09:32 AM   #65
Aldakoopa
Member

 
Aldakoopa's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina

 
I've had no problems gaming on High/Ultra in all my games with my FX-4100 and 6850. The 6850 does have some stutter at stock clocks but overclocked it's completely fine. I'm only playing on a single 1600x900 monitor though...

I also don't have BF3, but from what I can tell I should be able to play it on high settings.

__________________
Signature needs some serious revision. Will update when done swapping parts around.

Last edited by Aldakoopa; 05-06-12 at 09:41 AM.
Aldakoopa is online now Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 09:53 AM   #66
Ravara
Member



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Denmark

 
Yeah ofc you can run high settings, even my card tho its factory OCed has to be tweaked a little to run bf3 ultra in ez mode but they do also recommend gtx570 or equal but why is crysis 2 always compared to grapgic performance if i may ask the game is quite easy to run smooth imo?
Ravara is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 09:56 AM   #67
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravara View Post
Well i agree that factory clocked cards are worthless unless watercooled for more OCing but as for aircooling i guess a card like sapphire is decent due to low heat? just never liked the noise they produce hehe and i always wanted max of a card, also a reason i love the gtx 480 its still incredibly strong, as you might have noticed im a geforce lover
You don't like the noise they make but you like the GTX 480?

Performance wise it is still a strong card today, relatively.

But you could fry an egg on that thing it gets so hot and the fan sounds like gale force winds in a box as is trying to keep the GPU cool, somewhat without hope i might add.

You crack me up.....

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 10:07 AM   #68
Ravara
Member



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Denmark

 
Well as you see in my signature im a watercooling geek thougt you had seen that alreadyvand max noise from my rig is 19dba which makes me happy xD
Ravara is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 10:12 AM   #69
JU571N
Member



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: US

 
Does Sapphire still make the ATI/AMD branded cards? I remember 9-10 years ago back in the 9800pro days everyone owned a Sapphire card. I remember seeing Asus and Powercolor some other brands back then but Sapphire ran the show. A Sapphire/ATI 9800 Pro equipped with an Arctic Cooling VGA Silencer was the card to have. I think one my old ones is still running in a NF7-S board with an Athlon XP-M 2500+ Barton cooled by a small turbine Thermaltake Extreme Volcano (seriously, a 80mm fan pushing 70 cfm? wtf) as my brother's garage computer.

__________________
ECS A785GM-AD3
Cooler Master GeminII S
Athlon II X3 450 (3.64ghz@1.5v)
4gb Kingston HyperX (1516 9-9-9-24)
ATI HD 5770 (990/1375@1.212v)
Corsair VX450
Asus VE228H
JU571N is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 10:14 AM   #70
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 
You can add that signature to your posts, like you see with mine.

Just go to Quick Links at the top of the page, then Edit Signature.

@ JU571N, thats a yes...

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 10:15 AM   #71
Ravara
Member



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Denmark

 
Oh lol it changes when i use my phone.. doh

__________________
Case : Coolermaster HAF 912+
CPU : AMD FX-8120 Black edition (5,0ghz OC) *Watercooled*
GPU : Zotac gtx 560ti (1080mhz/2300mhz OC) *Watercooled*
Mobo : Gigabyte 990XA-UD3 *watercooled*
RAM : Corsair vengeance 1600mhz (OC) 16gb
PSU : Be quiet 730W
HDD1 : 1x 250GB 7200rpm + 1x1500GB 5900rpm

Last edited by Ravara; 05-06-12 at 10:22 AM.
Ravara is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 10:29 AM   #72
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 
Nice Case seems to be a popular one that one.

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-12, 10:34 AM   #73
Ravara
Member



Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Denmark

 
Yeah its a nice case i was just too stupid not to buy the Haf X since im running lc mode

__________________
Case : Coolermaster HAF 912+
CPU : AMD FX-8120 Black edition (5,0ghz OC) *Watercooled*
GPU : Zotac gtx 560ti (1080mhz/2300mhz OC) *Watercooled*
Mobo : Gigabyte 990XA-UD3 *watercooled*
RAM : Corsair vengeance 1600mhz (OC) 16gb
PSU : Be quiet 730W
HDD1 : 1x 250GB 7200rpm + 1x1500GB 5900rpm
Ravara is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-12, 06:36 PM   #74
fenguepay
New Member



Join Date: May 2012

 
radeon hd 6670


Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Karnage View Post
What games are you trying to play at high and ultra? BF3? 6850 will be good for medium
I have the radeon 6670 and i play bf3 at ultra with my fx-8150 asus sabertooth 990fx and 16 gigs of 1333 mhz ram corsair 4x4 pack, dont know and care what kind
fenguepay is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-12, 06:55 PM   #75
bigben6
Member

 
bigben6's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cincinnati

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by fenguepay View Post
I have the radeon 6670 and i play bf3 at ultra with my fx-8150 asus sabertooth 990fx and 16 gigs of 1333 mhz ram corsair 4x4 pack, dont know and care what kind
6670, ultra? what kinda FPS do you get.... that seems... odd...

__________________
THE RIG
CPU- AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition (3.7Ghz) | MOBO- Biostar TA890FXE
GPU- Asus EAH6850 (900Mhz/1200) | RAM- 8 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600 (4x2gb)
SSD- OCZ Vertex 60 GB | HD- WD Black 1TB
PSU- Corsair 650 W | COOLER- Hyper 212+
MONITOR- Asus Vh242H | CASE- Antec 902
Overheating Click Me!
bigben6 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-12, 07:07 PM   #76
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 
I can get everything on Ultra provided i have AA and AF off completely, yet even then my FPS are only just playable.

This on an overclocked 5770 (which i might add is a better card than the 6670)

Its doable provided the res is not so high, which is interesting as that's whats in APU's

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-12, 07:36 PM   #77
Richierichdolla
Member

 
Richierichdolla's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harlem NYC

 
Is there really that much of a difference in high setting and ultra settings in bf3. I am asking cause I want to play this game but cannot cause I dont have a graphics card yet. I just was to have good fps and it to look nice at 1080p. I also dont have much money to spend on a graphics card so the 6850 looks good to me for the price, lowest i have seen one is for 169$

__________________
Cpu -Intel Core I5 2500k ( Hyper 212 Evo)
MB - AsRock z77 Pro 3 Motherboard
RAM - Kingston Hyper X DDR3 8GB @ 1600
SSD - OCZ Agility3 60gb
HDD - 500gb WD Caviar Blue
Case - NZXT PHANTOM 410
GPU - Sapphire 7770 Vapor-x edition.
Richierichdolla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-12, 07:46 PM   #78
Frakk
Member



Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richierichdolla View Post
Is there really that much of a difference in high setting and ultra settings in bf3. I am asking cause I want to play this game but cannot cause I dont have a graphics card yet. I just was to have good fps and it to look nice at 1080p. I also dont have much money to spend on a graphics card so the 6850 looks good to me for the price, lowest i have seen one is for 169$
Actually no, the difference between Medium >> High >> Ultra is not that significant.

There is a difference but its not huge, its look fantastic on high and even Medium as long as your running 1920 x 1080, which a 6850 will do.

__________________
“The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.” -Winston Churchill
Frakk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-12, 08:52 PM   #79
fenguepay
New Member



Join Date: May 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigben6 View Post
6670, ultra? what kinda FPS do you get.... that seems... odd...
43 ish and I have some fraps videos
fenguepay is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-12, 09:05 PM   #80
SF101
The Printer Guru

 
SF101's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: WCT ALB Canada

10 Year Badge
 
bet your not getting that in the karkland maps.. i bet your getting like 15fps in those maps.

6850 overclocked does ok in bf3 but dont expect playable fps in ultra. your looking at med/high settings with MSAA off and post process effects off.

__________________

My 5 Current Rigs-Guest-Main-Work/Spare-HTPC-Laptop
I7930@4.0GHz-Guest
3770K@ 4.8GHz -Main
2500k @ 4.7GHz -work/Spare
3570K @ 4.5 -HTPC
MSI GT70-2OC/770m-998/4800MHz -Laptop
SF101 HW BOT
Join the Bench Team!

GPU's ("xfire"2x R9-290X@1150/1500"EKWB"|GIGAOC7970WF3@1250/1850|Asus480GTX@900/2000|
2xEvga260Core216's SLI in HTPC-Retired gpu's 9600ati|9800proATI|8800GTS"320mb&640mb"
|8800GTX|9800GT|9800GX2
SF101 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?