Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

New Computer; Restarted System, it Shut Off; Smells Bad

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-12, 04:23 PM Thread Starter   #1
Adramelech
New Member



Join Date: May 2012

 
New Computer; Restarted System, it Shut Off; Smells Bad


I just bought a new system and put it together myself. I had a bit of an issue, forgetting the standoffs, but I put 'em in, fired the system up and it was doing just fine. I installed Windows successfully, it rebooted a few times through the process. So far so good; all normal. After running it for about ~15min after install, I rebooted to see how fast it boots up on my new SSD. It shutdown, but it didn't turn back on. I tried turning it back on, nothing. I waited a few minutes, tried again, my cases LEDs flicked on for half a second and shut off again. I did have one of the side panels open still, although I doubt it would burn in ~25 minutes because of something like that.

Could you guys list me any cables and parts that if burnt/disconnected it will act like that? I know a few, could you guys add a few more, to help while I can be careful about what I do so I don't do more damage?

CPU and CPU cable both create results like that.

Also, if I get it booted, what software can I use to diagnose any abnormalities with most/all my parts at once? I know Core Temp will allow me to see CPU temperature, so I'll likely check that, but anything else to be checked?

I am personally afraid it was the mobo since I attached it without standoffs.

I am plugging it back in to test, but I'd like to know what to check ASAP so I don't do more damage.

Edit: Okay, it turned on. What do I need to check for now?
New Edit: It shut off after thirty seconds then rebooted imediately. That was without the GTX card, so there is no way an SSD and CPU was taking up that much energy from the PSU.

__________________
CPU: i7 3770
GPU: 550 Ti
SSD: Mushkin 120GB
Mobo: B75MU3
RAM: 8 GB; 1600MHz; Cas L. 7
OS: Gentoo, Windows 7
Adramelech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 04:26 PM   #2
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Find where the smell is coming from.. check the PSU first. Look for bulged caps and burned spots on the mobo etc.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 04:26 PM   #3
Bobnova
Innocent Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
I would first reinstall the mobo with the proper standoffs.
Then I would remove the CPU and reinstall it and its cooler.
I would do the same for the ram. We want new connections everywhere.

If it boots, once it is in windows fire up CPU and GPU temp sensing software and check the temps.

Bonus question: What PSU do you have?



EDIT:
I missed the smell. That is a far from good sign. If you're lucky it is the PSU and it hasn't killed anything else.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)


How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

Heatware.
Bobnova is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 04:29 PM Thread Starter   #4
Adramelech
New Member



Join Date: May 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
Find where the smell is coming from.. check the PSU first. Look for bulged caps and burned spots on the mobo etc.
It wasn't a particularly strong smell, so I am not sure if thermal paste makes a slight smell while melting on for the first time. The thermal paste still hasn't melted fully too, so I don't think the CPU over heated.

I also see nothing abnormal on the motherboard.

EDIT: Oh, and the PSU is a Rosewill HIVE 5 550w 80plus: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16817182131
Has tons of DoA comments. That worries me.

EDIT: My i7 7330 is currently hovering at 35c idle in my BIOS and the system temperature is 26c. Hasn't shut off in a decent amount of time in the BIOS.

__________________
CPU: i7 3770
GPU: 550 Ti
SSD: Mushkin 120GB
Mobo: B75MU3
RAM: 8 GB; 1600MHz; Cas L. 7
OS: Gentoo, Windows 7

Last edited by Adramelech; 05-08-12 at 04:39 PM.
Adramelech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 04:43 PM   #5
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
thermal paste does not smell.

Rosewill? Yikes. Recently they started making a couple decent PSU's, most others are garbage. Not sure if the HIVE falls in that category though.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 04:45 PM Thread Starter   #6
Adramelech
New Member



Join Date: May 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobnova View Post
I would first reinstall the mobo with the proper standoffs.
Then I would remove the CPU and reinstall it and its cooler.
I would do the same for the ram. We want new connections everywhere.

If it boots, once it is in windows fire up CPU and GPU temp sensing software and check the temps.

Bonus question: What PSU do you have?



EDIT:
I missed the smell. That is a far from good sign. If you're lucky it is the PSU and it hasn't killed anything else.
I replaced everything over again, and it seems to be running fine. The BIOS held for a while at 35c CPU and 25-26c System. I have now booted into Windows, seems all right so far. However, I am using the integrated graphics card, not my 550 Ti, it is still removed.

A friend of mine agreed with me when I said a slight smell tends to be normal on new computers. So far no errors, hopefully replacing everything fixed it up nicely. I guess I will wait and see if anything new happens.

Anyone else find there is a slight smell in new computers that just started their first run?

__________________
CPU: i7 3770
GPU: 550 Ti
SSD: Mushkin 120GB
Mobo: B75MU3
RAM: 8 GB; 1600MHz; Cas L. 7
OS: Gentoo, Windows 7
Adramelech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 04:50 PM   #7
Bobnova
Innocent Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
That PSU makes me nervous.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)


How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

Heatware.
Bobnova is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 04:52 PM   #8
Cerberus2k7
Drifto Mexicano

 
Cerberus2k7's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Morris, IL

 
If it smells kinda like sharpie then you have something failing on the PCB. And most likely it's in the PSU. If you have a voltmeter you can check the rails on the ATX pinout and see if it's providing enough juice.

__________________

Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w
Cerberus2k7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 04:55 PM   #9
Yamitoko
Member



Join Date: May 2012
Location: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

 
Both the smell and the make and model of the PSU are telling me that it could be something with the PSU, I would be careful about running it when you're not sure what's wrong it with though, might be the difference between RMA and buying a new set of components. Especially if it's the PSU.
Yamitoko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 05:32 PM Thread Starter   #10
Adramelech
New Member



Join Date: May 2012

 
So what do you guys recommend I do to make sure everything is working properly? I might be able to get my hands on a voltmeter from someone, but what will this show?

What is the best way for me to go about testing everything to make sure nothing is flawed? It's been running for a while now; since I got it running and posted saying I had it running.

__________________
CPU: i7 3770
GPU: 550 Ti
SSD: Mushkin 120GB
Mobo: B75MU3
RAM: 8 GB; 1600MHz; Cas L. 7
OS: Gentoo, Windows 7
Adramelech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 08:03 PM   #11
capttripppp
Member


 
capttripppp's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Anchorage, Alaska

 
Dude, get a new PSU! A corsair or something. When a bad psu goes it can and often does take alot of stuff out with it. So if you weigh the cost of getting a new psu versus the cost of a whole new setup you will see that that is the way to go
Edit: then there will be no worries

__________________
"I just picked up some Vaseline and a big syringe. I'm thinking using the syringe will make it easier to put the Vaseline in all the little hard to reach spots. I'm hoping to get to mess with it tonight, if so I'll post some videos" Convicted1
capttripppp is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 09:32 PM Thread Starter   #12
Adramelech
New Member



Join Date: May 2012

 
New test; everything works perfectly fine until I hook up my GPU. I tried hooking up the cord that goes straight into my GPU from my PSU. PCI Express cord. When I plug it in and turn it on, it turns on for a second and stops. I also tried uses the GPU's PCI power plug to to standard 4 pin power plug and plug my PSU into that. Same result. If I wait for it after it quickly spins the first time, it'll do it again briefly, a little bit down the road.

If the PSU doesn't have enough wattage to support the hardware, will it just immediately shut down like that?

The PSU has been working perfectly fine when the GPU is not in, so I'd prefer not to buy a new card unless I absolutely must, since I don't even have the money, and it'll be a MASSIVE pain to get the funds required for a decent new one.

__________________
CPU: i7 3770
GPU: 550 Ti
SSD: Mushkin 120GB
Mobo: B75MU3
RAM: 8 GB; 1600MHz; Cas L. 7
OS: Gentoo, Windows 7
Adramelech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 10:06 PM   #13
Moussa93
Member

 
Moussa93's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Reston

 
Reminds me earlier today.
When I finished my build, I plugged everything in the PSU, turned on... Was working nice.
Then I plugged the fans through a wrong PSU cable...
Haha when I turned it on it did a little "boom" some smoke I was so damn scared :lol:
But then I unplugged the Fans and plugged them directly to the Motherboard. Everything is fine.
An advice would be to unplug everything and to plug back
Moussa93 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 10:26 PM   #14
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
If you plug the wrong stuff into the wrong place, pins are different for differnt plugs. You might of smoked the PSU pluging something wrong into the GPU, or smoked the PSU.

Your gonna have to dig deeper, buy stuff to Tshoot unless you have a trusted friend you don't mind buying smoked parts for.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 10:27 PM   #15
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
Get a Corsair CX series PSU. They're the cheapest quality unit you can buy. If you don't just want cheap then it opens up your choices a bit.

Corsair CX Series

The power supply really is the LAST thing you want to cheap out on in your system. It has the potential to kill the rest of your components. Rosewill make a few nice computer cases, in general I wouldn't trust their PSU's. Even the ones that a top quality units, with Rosewill you just don't know if they're going to change their OEM at some point and you end up with a dodgy PSU.

__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 11:13 PM Thread Starter   #16
Adramelech
New Member



Join Date: May 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjw21a View Post
Get a Corsair CX series PSU. They're the cheapest quality unit you can buy. If you don't just want cheap then it opens up your choices a bit.

Corsair CX Series

The power supply really is the LAST thing you want to cheap out on in your system. It has the potential to kill the rest of your components. Rosewill make a few nice computer cases, in general I wouldn't trust their PSU's. Even the ones that a top quality units, with Rosewill you just don't know if they're going to change their OEM at some point and you end up with a dodgy PSU.
OMG. I have NO clue how I missed that PSU when I was searching New Egg. I'll take a look at that; see what I can do.

__________________
CPU: i7 3770
GPU: 550 Ti
SSD: Mushkin 120GB
Mobo: B75MU3
RAM: 8 GB; 1600MHz; Cas L. 7
OS: Gentoo, Windows 7
Adramelech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 11:24 PM   #17
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
No worries mate. Move over to something better as soon as you can.

__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?