Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

BF3 Performance on SLI or Single Card Setups

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-12, 11:20 AM   #21
EvilJoker
Member

 
EvilJoker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bristol,Va

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
You still didnt answer his question.. How much AA do you have set?

1600x900 is a low res so I would imagine 1GB would be sufficient.
Yes.. its set to default setting on ultra preset. 4x

EarthDog.. PMS today?

__________________
MOBO - ASUS V Formula(@ RMA AGAIN)
CPU - AMD FX-8150 3.9ghz(OC 4.7ghz ) (Ive hit 5ghz!)
HSF - CORSAIR H100
RAM - G-Skill (4x2gb) 1600
OPTIC - LITE-ON DVD/RW LIGHTSCRIBE
HDD -{Main}Patriot 64GB SSD / OCZ Agility 3 90GB SSD / OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB SSD / (2X)SG400GB(1x) 1TB Toshiba(Storage)
PSU - ANTEC High Current Gamer 750
GRAPHIX - ASUS GTX 570 DCII / EVGA GTX 570 HD DS SLI
CASE - ANTEC 1200 MODDED EXTRA FAN
COOLING - (10X) ANTEC TRICOOL 120MM /BIGBOY 230M
MONITOR - Samsung 2343BWX \ LG 32" LED
OS - Win 7 Ultimate 64
EvilJoker is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-12, 11:24 AM   #22
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
I had no idea that changing the default setting changes the AA. Usually thats independent...hence my poking you to answer the question.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-12, 04:50 PM   #23
Cheezewhiz
Member

 
Cheezewhiz's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SoCal

 
Ahh good ole BF3.

Before it came out I built my rig around the recommended specs which were clearly BS.

6950 2gb. 1055t AMD. 8 GB 1333.

Performance was awful. Couldn't even turn on AA without getting dips to 15 FPS.

I went through hell with this game.

I tried 2 AMD CPUs - 1055t and 975 BE
2 AMD motherboards - 990FX and 870t (i think)
Switched to i5 2500k with single 6950 2gb - performance was a lot better...but not constant 60FPS

Dual 6950's 2GB - Solid performance. Major Driver issues - Play a single map for a while then once a map change occurred my drivers would crash forever. Had to reinstall manually in safe mode every time
Dual 6950 2gb was nice and lowest FPS on ultra I saw was 50 in intense situations. There was stutter also sometimes.

Got rid of both 6950's and bought a single GTX 570 2.5 GB.

Performance was really good. But even at ultra and 4xAA it did struggle.

Finally switched to my current setup with 580 3gb. I have the game almost maxed out. Everything 4xAA, deferred high. Motion blur. All ultra except for Shadow and Mesh on medium and SSAO instead of HBAO.
I get solid 60FPS and lowest would be 53 in intense situations.
Very smooth game play. Not stutter. Smooth as butter.

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=702655

That is a thread I started for my VRAM usage. Varies from card to card. I used 1.9 GB max for setting I just described.

__________________
PSU: Seasonic 300w SFX
CPU: i5-3550p
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600
GPU: Zotac 650ti Boost
Mobo: AsRock b75 mITX
HDD: WD 500GB Intellipower-Green
Case: Silverstone Mini-Fortress
Cheezewhiz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 07:22 AM   #24
stainlineho
Member

 
stainlineho's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA, USA

 
For BF3 I typically get 45-55 FPS depending on what is happening. I play at 1920x1080 in Ultra as well.

GPU is Sapphire 6970.
i5-750 at 3.2
8GB GSkill DDR3-1600

__________________
My 1st WC Build Log--->NZXT Switch 810 "White Widow"
stainlineho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 10:06 AM   #25
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
According to Fraps

At 1100 core I average 50fps on ultra at 1920x1080. At 1200 core I average 57fps.
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 10:20 AM   #26
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
You need a sig DK... Mindreading is NOT my thing.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 10:38 AM   #27
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
You need a sig DK... Mindreading is NOT my thing.
I have one ED. Just doesn't get shown when i post from mobile

The beast is going on chilled water today so we'll see if she can break 1300 core

__________________
Core I5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Asus Z77 Maximus V
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 2800 10-11-11-31 1.60v
MCW82 WaterCooled Vanilla EVGA GTX 670
Intel 320 120GB SSD
Corsair AX1200
Venom X
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 11:08 AM   #28
SF101
The Printer Guru

 
SF101's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: WCT ALB Canada

10 Year Badge
 
if you kill msaa or even set it to 2 your frames will nearly double ... and tbh i almost think its clearer /less blurry off?

__________________

My 3 Current Rigs-Guest-Main-Work/Spare-HTPC-Laptop
I7930@4.0GHz-Guest
3770K@ 4.6GHz -Main
2500k @ 4.7GHz -work/Spare
3570K @ 4.2 -HTPC
MSI GT70-2OC/770m-998/4800MHz -Laptop
SF101 HW BOT
Join the Bench Team!

GPU's (XFX290/X@1150/1500"EKWB"|GIGAOC7970WF3@1250/1850|Asus480GTX@900/2000|
2xEvga260Core216's SLI in HTPC-Retired gpu's 9600ati|9800proATI|8800GTS"320mb&640mb"
|8800GTX|9800GT|9800GX2
SF101 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 11:26 AM   #29
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 04:58 PM   #30
EvilJoker
Member

 
EvilJoker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bristol,Va

 
Yea.. i dropped it from 4x to 2x and it did and motion blur off. it did keep more stable FPS.. like 47-48.. witch ant to bad from these older cards

__________________
MOBO - ASUS V Formula(@ RMA AGAIN)
CPU - AMD FX-8150 3.9ghz(OC 4.7ghz ) (Ive hit 5ghz!)
HSF - CORSAIR H100
RAM - G-Skill (4x2gb) 1600
OPTIC - LITE-ON DVD/RW LIGHTSCRIBE
HDD -{Main}Patriot 64GB SSD / OCZ Agility 3 90GB SSD / OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB SSD / (2X)SG400GB(1x) 1TB Toshiba(Storage)
PSU - ANTEC High Current Gamer 750
GRAPHIX - ASUS GTX 570 DCII / EVGA GTX 570 HD DS SLI
CASE - ANTEC 1200 MODDED EXTRA FAN
COOLING - (10X) ANTEC TRICOOL 120MM /BIGBOY 230M
MONITOR - Samsung 2343BWX \ LG 32" LED
OS - Win 7 Ultimate 64
EvilJoker is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 07:38 PM   #31
Cheezewhiz
Member

 
Cheezewhiz's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SoCal

 
I just got my second gtx 580 3gb....BF3 = SEX

__________________
PSU: Seasonic 300w SFX
CPU: i5-3550p
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600
GPU: Zotac 650ti Boost
Mobo: AsRock b75 mITX
HDD: WD 500GB Intellipower-Green
Case: Silverstone Mini-Fortress
Cheezewhiz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 09:16 PM   #32
EvilJoker
Member

 
EvilJoker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bristol,Va

 
DO you really need 2 GTX 580 to play on ultra? Im not asking a smart $$$ question, Im really asking.

__________________
MOBO - ASUS V Formula(@ RMA AGAIN)
CPU - AMD FX-8150 3.9ghz(OC 4.7ghz ) (Ive hit 5ghz!)
HSF - CORSAIR H100
RAM - G-Skill (4x2gb) 1600
OPTIC - LITE-ON DVD/RW LIGHTSCRIBE
HDD -{Main}Patriot 64GB SSD / OCZ Agility 3 90GB SSD / OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB SSD / (2X)SG400GB(1x) 1TB Toshiba(Storage)
PSU - ANTEC High Current Gamer 750
GRAPHIX - ASUS GTX 570 DCII / EVGA GTX 570 HD DS SLI
CASE - ANTEC 1200 MODDED EXTRA FAN
COOLING - (10X) ANTEC TRICOOL 120MM /BIGBOY 230M
MONITOR - Samsung 2343BWX \ LG 32" LED
OS - Win 7 Ultimate 64
EvilJoker is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 09:26 PM   #33
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
His standards are incredibly high like MIN FPS of 50-60 iirc.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 09:26 PM   #34
Shadowmonk

 
Shadowmonk's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008

 
With memory less than 1gb on your SLI setups i would probably use Danoc's FXAA injector to replace the msaa/post proc AA. Should get better performance and a nice visual boost. I know with all settings maxed @ 1080p
my 7950 crossfire is burning 2.2gb vram, without the injector its near 3gb.

I'm an FPS junkie as well! Can't stand stuttering through a game.

Last edited by Shadowmonk; 05-08-12 at 09:35 PM.
Shadowmonk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 09:49 PM   #35
Cheezewhiz
Member

 
Cheezewhiz's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SoCal

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
His standards are incredibly high like MIN FPS of 50-60 iirc.
That was going to be my exact response as Earthdog has seen how anal I cant get about FPS. I cannot stand Frames dropping below my refresh rate. I like locked 60fps. Now it never drops below that. Never its simply amazing.

Dual 580s for the win.


But ya a single 580 is good enough.

I just hate experiencing 60FPS during a certain part of the map and then all the sudden I am at 50 FPS. That rapid drop in FPS is what I cant stand.

__________________
PSU: Seasonic 300w SFX
CPU: i5-3550p
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600
GPU: Zotac 650ti Boost
Mobo: AsRock b75 mITX
HDD: WD 500GB Intellipower-Green
Case: Silverstone Mini-Fortress
Cheezewhiz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 11:41 PM   #36
EvilJoker
Member

 
EvilJoker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bristol,Va

 
Danoc's FXAA injector?? What is that.. ive never heard of it?

__________________
MOBO - ASUS V Formula(@ RMA AGAIN)
CPU - AMD FX-8150 3.9ghz(OC 4.7ghz ) (Ive hit 5ghz!)
HSF - CORSAIR H100
RAM - G-Skill (4x2gb) 1600
OPTIC - LITE-ON DVD/RW LIGHTSCRIBE
HDD -{Main}Patriot 64GB SSD / OCZ Agility 3 90GB SSD / OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB SSD / (2X)SG400GB(1x) 1TB Toshiba(Storage)
PSU - ANTEC High Current Gamer 750
GRAPHIX - ASUS GTX 570 DCII / EVGA GTX 570 HD DS SLI
CASE - ANTEC 1200 MODDED EXTRA FAN
COOLING - (10X) ANTEC TRICOOL 120MM /BIGBOY 230M
MONITOR - Samsung 2343BWX \ LG 32" LED
OS - Win 7 Ultimate 64
EvilJoker is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-12, 07:13 AM   #37
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Not trying to dump google on you, but I cant get to "games" from work.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...Od2M5sh4paEFag

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-12, 09:44 AM   #38
EvilJoker
Member

 
EvilJoker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bristol,Va

 
i googled itlast night, couldnt find no where to d/l it

__________________
MOBO - ASUS V Formula(@ RMA AGAIN)
CPU - AMD FX-8150 3.9ghz(OC 4.7ghz ) (Ive hit 5ghz!)
HSF - CORSAIR H100
RAM - G-Skill (4x2gb) 1600
OPTIC - LITE-ON DVD/RW LIGHTSCRIBE
HDD -{Main}Patriot 64GB SSD / OCZ Agility 3 90GB SSD / OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB SSD / (2X)SG400GB(1x) 1TB Toshiba(Storage)
PSU - ANTEC High Current Gamer 750
GRAPHIX - ASUS GTX 570 DCII / EVGA GTX 570 HD DS SLI
CASE - ANTEC 1200 MODDED EXTRA FAN
COOLING - (10X) ANTEC TRICOOL 120MM /BIGBOY 230M
MONITOR - Samsung 2343BWX \ LG 32" LED
OS - Win 7 Ultimate 64
EvilJoker is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-12, 12:57 PM   #39
Electroneng
Registered

 
Electroneng's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southern U.S.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheezewhiz View Post
That was going to be my exact response as Earthdog has seen how anal I cant get about FPS. I cannot stand Frames dropping below my refresh rate. I like locked 60fps. Now it never drops below that. Never its simply amazing.

Dual 580s for the win.


But ya a single 580 is good enough.

I just hate experiencing 60FPS during a certain part of the map and then all the sudden I am at 50 FPS. That rapid drop in FPS is what I cant stand.
This sounds like myself! I once built a rig with two GTX 570's just to play Hawx 2 on a 1680 x 1050 monitor. I was getting like 200 fps! LOL

__________________
Sys1: Intel i7 3930k 4.7ghz @ 1.34v w/ NH-D14: Asus X79 Sabertooth : 16GB G.Skill Snipers 1866 : Asus GTX 680 : Corsair HX850 : CM HAF 912 Modded
Sys2: AM FX 6300 4.9ghz w/ NH-D14: ASUS M5A99X R2.0 : 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2134 : ASUS 7870 : Antec 620c : Corsair 300

Overclock.net Hwbot Team
Electroneng is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-12, 01:02 PM   #40
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Funny... HAWX2 gets 200 FPS on a single 580 anyway!

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?