Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Problems with Win 7 lap top

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-12, 07:55 PM Thread Starter   #1
Speedracer 64
Member

 
Speedracer 64's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Franklin, Ky

 
Problems with Win 7 lap top


I have a friend that has a lap top. It is having problems with being really slow anymore. I figured it was a virus. Ran Microsoft Windows Essentials, Maleware Bytes, and CCleaner. It helped a little. Found 1 maleware program. After no real luck here I rebooted the computer in safe mode. I went to auto correct the problem. It said there was a problem but couldn't fix it. What can I do next? Not really sure aside of reloading Win 7.

Thanks
Jason
Speedracer 64 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 09:20 PM   #2
jazon1
Member

 
jazon1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA

 
sounds like your could have a stick of ram going bad on it,i have also seen one that was dropped and the ram popped out of the retainer clip and had similar results.

__________________
CPU----Intel i7 3820 (@4.3)
Cooler-Corsair H100 W/Spectre pro fans
Case---TT Armor Revo
Psu----Corsair AX1200
Mobo---ASUS Sabertooth X79
Ram----32 Gigs Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Sound--Creative Recon3D Fatal1ty
Hdd----Mushkin Chronos 120GB SSD + 8TB External
Bluray-LG 3D 12x W/MDISC
Video--Evga GTX 680 SC Signature
Monitor-Samsung 46"3D LED-UN46C8000XF
OS-----Windows 7 x64 Ult
jazon1 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 09:25 PM Thread Starter   #3
Speedracer 64
Member

 
Speedracer 64's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Franklin, Ky

 
Any way I can test if the ram is bad?
Speedracer 64 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 09:31 PM   #4
jazon1
Member

 
jazon1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA

 
first i would pop the door off the ram and look at it to see if its seated right in the slots then i would run a few passes of memtest,instructions are on the page
http://www.memtest.org/

__________________
CPU----Intel i7 3820 (@4.3)
Cooler-Corsair H100 W/Spectre pro fans
Case---TT Armor Revo
Psu----Corsair AX1200
Mobo---ASUS Sabertooth X79
Ram----32 Gigs Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Sound--Creative Recon3D Fatal1ty
Hdd----Mushkin Chronos 120GB SSD + 8TB External
Bluray-LG 3D 12x W/MDISC
Video--Evga GTX 680 SC Signature
Monitor-Samsung 46"3D LED-UN46C8000XF
OS-----Windows 7 x64 Ult
jazon1 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?