Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > HTPC
HTPC All your home theater PC needs.
Forum Jump

HTPC Input devices.....what do you use?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-12, 02:08 AM Thread Starter   #1
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
HTPC Input devices.....what do you use?


Now that i am doing an HTPC i am digging through the forums to see what devices people use for their HTPC and they seem to vary, if it isnt in the main post, add what you use and why and include pics if you can.....

Some seems to prefer remote controls like the logitech harmony line, others smaller compact keyboards with built in track pads of balls....

Help me, and others decide what should we be looking at?
  • How does it work?
  • What is the distance on it?
  • How does it integrate with your software, XMBC, MC or other software?
  • Did it work in windows, linux or other systems?


items from other threads suggested or used:

IOGEAR 2.4G Hz Multimedia Mini Keyboard with Trackball, Scroll Wheel and Backlight LED, GKM571R (Black)
http://www.amazon.com/Multimedia-Key...6631880&sr=8-1


Lenovo Multimedia Remote with Keyboard N5901
http://www.amazon.com/Lenovo-Multime...g=hardfocom-20


Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400
http://www.logitech.com/en-sg/keyboa...-keyboard-k400


Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Desktop 7000
http://www.amazon.com/Microsoft-Natu...6632176&sr=8-1


Azend Group MediaGate GP-IR01BK 1-Channel IR Windows Vista Media Center Remote Control and Receiver (Black)
http://www.amazon.com/Azend-MediaGat...sr=1-2-catcorr


IOGEAR Multimedia Keyboard with Laser Trackball and Scroll Wheel, 2.4GHz Wireless GKM561R (Black)
http://www.amazon.com/Multimedia-Key...g=hardfocom-20


Premium Wireless HTPC Media Center Keyboard with Laser Trackball
http://www.vidabox.com/store/index.p...products_id=10


Logitech Harmony 650 Remote
http://www.logitech.com/en-us/remote...s/devices/6621


Logitech Wireless Keyboard K360 (Dark Silver) (920-003366)

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Wirel...g=hardfocom-20


CE Compass Mini Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad Mouse PC Remote Control
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...g=hardfocom-20


Cideko Wireless Air Keyboard and Gyro Mouse Combo for PC, Mac, and PS3 (AVK02)
http://www.amazon.com/Cideko-Wireles...g=hardfocom-20


HP Wireless Mini Keyboard
http://www.amazon.com/HP-XB387AA-ABA...g=hardfocom-20


Wireless USB PC Remote Control Mouse for PC
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...g=hardfocom-20


Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...g=hardfocom-20



Software remotes for devices

http://www.unifiedremote.com/

http://www.mobilemouse.com/

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-12, 10:49 AM   #2
Cerberus2k7
Drifto Mexicano

 
Cerberus2k7's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Morris, IL

 
Cheap Logitech wireless keyboard similar to this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16823126197


With the Logitech M705 for browsing/media
http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Wirel...664821&sr=1-10


And the Razer naga for gaming.
http://www.amazon.com/Razer-Laser-Ga...6664923&sr=1-1


As for range and whatnot, it's pretty much moot point for me since I don't go past the 8' range but I use my logitech devices on the unifying receiver which I really like.

__________________

Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w

Last edited by Cerberus2k7; 05-10-12 at 11:34 AM.
Cerberus2k7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-12, 11:23 AM   #3
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
I use an anyware multifunctino remote control to control PC stereo and TV. Anyware used to sell their stuff under their name now then just outsource it for ones like that Azend you posted above. Rosewill remotes are also anyware made. Very cheap and works well.

For KBM I used a Microsoft wireless entertainment desktop 7000 bluetooth edition. KB works anywhere in the room and has a built in touch pad. Miouse just sits up on the TV stand and only really gets used when someone is gaming at the PC (Put a chair right in front of it for the kids to LAN game)

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is online now Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-12, 11:26 AM   #4
Janus67
Benching Team Leader
Grabbed Senior

 
Janus67's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio State

 
I personally use a logitech k400 with the trackpad built in. It works really well.

i have tested up to 20ft with no problems, windows 7 with xmbc interface
Janus67 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-12, 11:42 AM   #5
xsuperbgx
Benching Team Leader


 
xsuperbgx's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ut.

 
I use the lenovo pictured above. My biggest complaint is that it doesnt control the tv also. So i need to change the input, volume, cable channel with the tv remote. Perhaps the lenovo can do both, i havent looked into it much. I have only had it a couple weeks.i used to do a full wireless keyboard and mouse, but that is awkward. It is always in the way and the mouse always got lost or fell behind the couch.

__________________
Come join in on the benchingmarking fun! Competitions, contests, prizes. + Learn tips and tricks to get a better score.
SteamOS || Woomack's memory test list. || Compare your 4Ghz Spi32m score. || Mining efficiency.. || Set up a benching OS. || Get Cold. || You can bench your Raspberry Pi.
Join us in the "OVERCLOCKTAGON"!!!

LTC "LQPgAb7jbtYEzi6W9hnXsS4Xi3RLN7NDgu"
heat
xsuperbgx is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-12, 02:21 PM   #6
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
I'd also be interested in what OS people are using just to know how well Linux supports these devices. I'd imagine they'd work just fine...

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-12, 06:13 PM   #7
Cerberus2k7
Drifto Mexicano

 
Cerberus2k7's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Morris, IL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by johan851 View Post
I'd also be interested in what OS people are using just to know how well Linux supports these devices. I'd imagine they'd work just fine...
My setup I've used VMs of Arch/CentOS/RHEL with no problems but no physical linux machines.

__________________

Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w
Cerberus2k7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-12, 08:03 PM   #8
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
After a fair bit of trial and error I found the Shintaro Wireless Multimedia Keyboard with Trackball to be by far and away the best device out there. It's shapped to fit in your lap accross your knees. The trackball is on the right hand side with a left click button beneath it for easy use. Likewise there's left and right click buttons on the left side of the keyboard. It has a 10m range so long as the reciever is in line of sight.

There's also a scroll wheel on the left hand side. Very convenient all round. Not an expensive choice either.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Shintaro-Wir...item5887fa5e16

Nothing else comes close to it.




__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-12, 09:29 PM   #9
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
I had a cheap one like that I bought off the classifieds years ago off the forums. Except instead of trackball it had a stick. Got it in a "box o crap" sale IIRC.

It works in a pinch but I wouldnt use it for a main HTPC.



As for OS

Vista x64 and 7 x64 have been what I used, but I actually LIKED using media center. I played around with some of the replacements before and found them to be too much work, and there are addons for MC that can be done to do everything other options do by default.

I am not saying MC is better, just that I liked it more and my sister and her kids wont bother learning anything else. *sigh

As for Linux alternatives there were some ground up HTPC distros that I think all got shelved at some point not sure if any are still around. Mythbuntu was one, Linux One or something like that was supposed to be the best thing ever not sure if it ever got off the ground.

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is online now Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-12, 09:56 PM   #10
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
I've tried many more expensive solutions. The trackball is the thing makes a massive difference, that and the shape/design of the thing.

__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-12, 10:30 PM   #11
JLK03F150
Member

 
JLK03F150's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
I use an Adesso wireless keyboard with touchpad. We mostly stream programs from various network and cable sites & it works well for that. Running Vista 32bit.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16823166047

__________________
Q9650, Rampage Formula X48, 4x1GB G.Skill PC2-6400 (D9GMH), HD 6950 2GB, 2x 64GB SandForce 1222 SSD RAID 0, BFG LS1000, Gamer
4670K, ASRock Z87 Extreme 4, 2x8GB Crucial PC3-1600, GTX 650, 240GB Intel 335 SSD, 1TB WD Black, Seasonic S12-650W, Lightroom4
E6600, nvidia e-7150 i630, 2x2GB Mushkin PC2-8500, HD 4650, 500GB WD Blue, Antec 380W, HTPC
What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper
cpu on water, cards air, me whiskey! - icebob
JLK03F150 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-12, 11:35 PM   #12
Wicked Klown
Hard Ass Southern Boy Senior

 
Wicked Klown's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sheboygan, Wisconsin

10 Year Badge
 
I use a MS bluetooth elite keyboard & mouse, range 90feet. I'm having issues getting it to work right in Windows 7 pro x64, worked great in Vista x64. I also use my HTC inspire and a Harmony 650.

__________________
Media Server | Norco RPC-470 | GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 | Phenom II X4 925 Deneb | 8gigs G.SKILL Ripjaws PC3 10666 | 64gig Crucial M4 | x2 2TB Samsung F3 | x2 1TB Samsung F1 | x1 2TB Samsung F4 | 500gigs Seagate 7200.10 | Sapphire HD4830 HDMI | Corsair 650hx

HEAT

"Never surrender. You're too much of a hardass to die on everyone." - Voodoo Rufus
Wicked Klown is online now Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-12, 02:48 PM   #13
PanteraGSTK
Member

 
PanteraGSTK's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: over there

10 Year Badge
 
Gyration RF MCE remote and keyboard combo. Works perfectly. I also use a RCAware HDMI CEC bridge so my remote can control my receiver and NeoTV (cheapo roku) for netflix, hulu, and vudu. That and an Android tablet for people who think touchscreen remotes are neat-o.


__________________
EVGA 750i SLI FTW, Q6600 @ 3200mhz 1.325v, vdroop mod, Kingston pc8500 4gb, 2x 8800GT in SLI, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB,WD 320GB for games, Xclio 650w psu, Scythe Infinity 2X Kingwin 80cfm 120mm fans, X-fi xtreme gamer, Windows 7 Ultimate


Bill Gates over heard saying "If i had a penny for every time Windows Crashed... Oh wait, I do."
PanteraGSTK is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-12, 09:11 AM   #14
Sir Barton
Member

 
Sir Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fort Pontchartrain du Dtroit

 
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running stock rooted ICS



It has an IR blaster, with that, I use the Peel universal remote app, and it works great with everything I have. I use the XBMC remote app to control my ATV2s.

__________________

main system: Antec P180 | Asus P8Z68V-Pro | i5 2500k (stock) | 8GB HyperX 1600 | Sparkle 560Ti | 120GB HyperX (Wintendo) | 60GB Vertex (Debian)
laptop: Dell Inspiron 11z | Pentium SU4100 | 4GB Crucial 667 | 30GB Vertex
2nd system: Antec P180 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | E5200 (stock) | 4GB G. Skill 800 | eVGA 9500GT | 60GB Vertex (Mint Debian)
server: Chenbro SR10769 | Supermicro X7DWE | 2x Xeon L5420 | 8GB Kingston FB 667 | 4x 500GB WD Black RAID 10 | 4x Hitachi 7K300.C | Debian 6
media clients: 4x Apple TV 2 | 2x XIOS DS | 3x Squeezebox Duet
Sir Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-12, 03:10 PM   #15
Teko
Registered

 
Teko's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Alabama

 
I use a Logitech Harmony One + Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800 (Mouse/Keyboard combo). I rarely usually do any adding/art & info scraping/updates via my primary desktop using Team Viewer to control it remotely.

__________________
Desktop: ASUS P8P67 Pro (Rev 3.1) | Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz (Hyper212+) | 8GB (2x4GB) G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series | EVGA GTX 560 Ti 1GB | Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W | 750GB Western Digital Black + 1TB Western Digital Blue | HP 2511x 25" Monitor | Roccat Kave 5.1 | Logitech Z523 2.1| Windows 7 x64

HTPC: Dell Optiplex 755 SFF (Refurb) | Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16GHz | 4GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6450 1GB | 2TB Western Digital Green | 2TB Western Digital Elements (Backup) | Logitech Z623 THX-Certified 2.1 | Panasonic BD-RE Drive | Logitech Harmony One | Windows 7 x86 + XBMC Frontend
Teko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-12, 08:37 PM   #16
gsrcrxsi
Member



Join Date: Feb 2008

 
does the logitech K400 kb require line of sight? ive been using a logitech PS3 media board pro (essentially the same thing but bluetooth) and ive been happy with it, except my rambunctious cats decided to spill my beer all over it .

i liked that i could put the BT adapter on the back of the PC and not have to see it on the front or affect the quality of the signal.

__________________
---HTPC--- .................... ---MINE1/PTS--- .............. ---MINE2/PTS--- ............ ---SPARE/PTS--- .............
Antec Fusion Remote ...... No Case/Tray Mounted .... Coolmax Case ............... AOpen B200 ..................
E5200 @ 2.50GHz .......... Q9650 @ 3.83GHz ........... Q9550 @ 3.54GHz .......... E6700 @ 2.66GHz ...........
Intel DG33TL ................. ASUS P5Q Premium ......... ASUS P5E ...................... Intel DG965PZ ...............
XFX 270x (1050/1490) .... XFX 7950 (1120/1500) .... MSI 7870 (890/1370) ..... Intel onboard gfx ..........
Ceton infiniTV4 tuner ...... ATI 5970 (800/1000) ......
8GB Crucial DDR2-800 .... 4GB G.Skill DDR2-1200 .... 4GB Corsair DDR2-800 .... 4GB Corsair DDR2-800 ....
Intel X-25M 80GB ........... Intel X-25M 80GB ........... WD 500GB Green ............ WD 1TB Black ................
Antec 650w .................... Corsair 750w .................. Thermaltake 750w .......... 275w PSU .....................
2x WD 2TB Green ..........


BTC: 17jbS7Kq2BMC9VGYa1cDSBoZWarWyovjfv
gsrcrxsi is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-12, 09:18 AM   #17
Janus67
Benching Team Leader
Grabbed Senior

 
Janus67's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio State

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsrcrxsi View Post
does the logitech K400 kb require line of sight? ive been using a logitech PS3 media board pro (essentially the same thing but bluetooth) and ive been happy with it, except my rambunctious cats decided to spill my beer all over it .

i liked that i could put the BT adapter on the back of the PC and not have to see it on the front or affect the quality of the signal.
No idea to be honest, the wireless adapter that came with the 400 is so small (it is one of the USB plugs that stick out maybe half an inch from the usb port)

__________________
Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


Folding User Stats
Janus67 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-12, 07:35 AM   #18
ou_phidelt
Member

 
ou_phidelt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rockingham, NC

 
I use the backlit Lenovo and a Harmony One in the living room. In the bedroom I use the Azend Mediagate with my Xbox as an extender. All work great.

__________________
HEAT
ou_phidelt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-12, 07:56 AM   #19
manu2b

 
manu2b's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Libreville Gabon

 
I use my rooted Atrix with the "unified remote" free app.

It works great.

__________________
P8Z68-v pro/Gen3----3770k@4800MHz/1.38v - NH-D14 ----2x8GB GSkill Trident X@2133/8-10-10-24/1.68v (Thanks Woomack!) ---- 256GB 840 Evo + 1TB Seagate Barracuda ---- BeQuiet 1000W ---- Sapphire R9 290(x) unlocked + HIS R9 290x (1100/1350)

Intel DP67BG ---- i5 3470 ---- 2x Sapphire Dual-X 280x
SaberTooth 990FX R2.0 ---- FX6300 ---- 3x Sapphire Dual-x 280x
ASUS A55BM-Plus ---- AMD A4-4000 ---- 2x Sapphire Dual-X 280x
manu2b is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-12, 09:19 PM Thread Starter   #20
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
ya i found an app for Android i wanted to try out on my kindle fire see if that would work!

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > HTPC
HTPC All your home theater PC needs.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?