Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Will an underpowered PC affect gaming performance ?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-12, 08:06 PM   #21
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
If you can still grab a Phenom II X6 then I'd defnitely get it. I miss my old Penom II X6, so much faster than my current FX-8120 in so many things.

__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-12, 08:33 PM Thread Starter   #22
Gh0sT-NoVa
Member

 
Gh0sT-NoVa's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia, South East Asia.

 
I wonder how much longer before Phenom II X6 actually outdates lol, but is 3.0GHZ enough ? Since im under budget too , 3.0 its already 600+ here if not mistaken.

But the gaming magazine i read , local magazine company. They too is only running a Phenom II X6 , what GHZ im not sure.....
Gh0sT-NoVa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-12, 08:35 PM   #23
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
Which model is that Phenom X6? We can't tell you whether its good for an overclock without that info

__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-12, 06:09 AM Thread Starter   #24
Gh0sT-NoVa
Member

 
Gh0sT-NoVa's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia, South East Asia.

 
Bad news i guess i wont be getting a Phenom II , because....i check with the stores today, they no longer import any more Phenom II , all have been sold out no more new stocks. So now they only selling FX for AMD

Uh they have FX 4100 , 6100 , 8120 , 8150.

I prefer that i just pop it in my Mobo and run it without fuss , i dont do overclocking.

So is FX4100 , good enough? 1 Thing im still confuse about CPU , isnt that the important is the GHZ and Cache ? More CORES doesnt mean better no ? Because i heard that almost all the games barely uses the multi core's function. Instead it causes our game to crash , which i had experience it
Gh0sT-NoVa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-12, 04:36 PM   #25
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
FX4100 is sufficient for games.

__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-12, 05:58 PM   #26
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
im not sure how that is, i have never had a problem because i was running a quad core. to a point more cores will help in gaming but if the game is only coded to use 2 cores. then the only way to get more peformance when your video card is top of the line is higher cpu speed.

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-12, 07:03 PM   #27
mjw21a

 
mjw21a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Brisbane

 
BF3 will use 3 cores though thats about it. Always good to have a core free for Windows stuff

__________________
CPU & HSF: AMD FX-8120 & Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: Asus M5A97-EVO
RAM: 16GB (4Gx4) DDR3 2133 G.Skill RipjawZ F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL
Storage: 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD, 1x 250GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1x 1.5TB Samsung Silencer Series HDD
GFX: 4GB Gigabyte ATI R9 270X OC Edition + Yamakasi Catleap Q270 SE 27" IPS LED LCD
Audio: Asus Xonar DX, Senheiser CX270 earbuds + UltraDisk 4016 Condenser Lavelier Microphone
Case & Lighting: Silverstone Temjin TJ04-E w/ Side Window + Red CCFL's
PSU: 550W Antec EarthWatts Platinum
My rig piccies & links

"Under democracy one party always devotes its chief energies to trying to prove that the other party is unfit to rule - and both commonly succeed, and are right." H.L. MENCKEN
mjw21a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-12, 07:28 PM Thread Starter   #28
Gh0sT-NoVa
Member

 
Gh0sT-NoVa's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia, South East Asia.

 
I guess its depends on the game. Uh i think most modern games now will start to use multi cores.

I forget to point out i think the game i play was rather old, well its not that old , at that time the multi cores are already been released long ago i think.

But maybe developers never create the game to use it i guess.

It was Dragon Age Origins and i think i had a few more other games crashes when im using multi core , had to turn down to 2 cores or maybe 1,but i forgot what games and whether is old or new

In that case most my questions are solved !

Tks guys
Gh0sT-NoVa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-12, 09:53 PM   #29
Ronbert
Member

 
Ronbert's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: La Crosse, WI

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobnova View Post
To answer the title's question: No. Underpowered will crash, blackscreen, explode or smell really bad. It won't cause a drop in FPS. Unless you count dropping to zero.
Oh Bob, you always make me laugh

__________________
AsRock™ Extreme4
Intel™ i5 2500k + 4.5GHz
Hyper 212+, Lian-Li Case
WD 1TB Caviar Black 7200RPM
Windows 7 HB 64x
G.Skill™ Ripjaws 2x2GB 1600MHz
Lim. Edition Patriots 2x4GB 1600MHz
Corsair 850W TX
GTX 670 - 2GB


HEATWARE
Ronbert is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-12, 09:03 PM   #30
misternumberone
Member

 
misternumberone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Argentina

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gh0sT-NoVa View Post
Well i guess like u said about my CPU , maybe during PC Vantage it didnt needed that much " power " so it turn out fine , while some games when it needed my CPU most and it fails and causes lag.

Another problem is , im itching to get a new PC , well i dont know about u guys , even building a mid range gaming rig here aint cheap and im still a student , college actually lol.

Im 1 of those POOR yet HARDCORE gamers , to be honest i even feel quite embarrass being here , surrounded by overkill PC owners like u all

But i do plan to swap out everything , no point changing my CPU now, i think my Mboard is old , even my RAM is only DDR2, i prefer AMD too so i need get a AM3+ Socket Mboard

For now i maybe plan to change my GPU and PSU once again.

In that case guys , for the time being , what should i get for a better CPU ? FX-4 3.6 GHZ or the Phenom II X6 3.0 GHZ , this is the budget i plan for future might change though since well maybe when the time i really change my whole PC , new CPU might have release
If you are short on money, but want something really cool, I recommend building a system using stuff that cost thousands of dollars and was simply THE BEST several years ago. like 2007's version of a Quad GTX680 dual E5-2687W workstation rig. Maybe a Skulltrail mobo with dual C2Q QX9775s and Four HD 3870/4870s? I did something like this, cost me barely $500 and plays everything latest(On DirectX 10 XD) like a dream.

__________________

Motherboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D
Memory: 2*8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K @ 4.50Ghz w/CM Hyper 212 EVO
GPU: 2*EVGA Nvidia GTX 770 Classified w/ACX OC
Storage: 240GB Intel 530 SSD, 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Display: 3*ASUS VS247H-P (5760*1080)
Keyboard: Corsair Vengeance K70 Black Cherry MX Red
Mouse: Corsair Vengeance M65
OS: Windows 8.1
misternumberone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-12, 09:59 PM Thread Starter   #31
Gh0sT-NoVa
Member

 
Gh0sT-NoVa's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia, South East Asia.

 
Sad thing is yes older stuffs is cheaper of course. But once its sold out here, they will no longer bring in any more stocks. Like AMD GPU now , u can say we no longer able to find anymore 6000 series , now they only have 7000 series on the shelves. For 7000 , well its least 7850 its consider good if u ask me which is a whopping 800 bucks , with 800 bucks u could gotten something like 6870 or maybe even 6950.

But of course i think 7850 its hell lot stronger, but once again , money problem lol.

I wanted to go for a 6850 , my friend got it maybe 2 GB ver , its decent. But they no longer have stock , so i think the HD 7770 OC its the closes version now. Still it costs around 500 like the old 6850 1GB , 2 GB is 600.

GPU and the PSU are the most expensive parts of a PC if u ask me !

Even a 400 - 500 bucks motherboard its decent enough for gaming , so are processors.

RAM is the cheapest even gaming series.

Well for SSD that's just crazy lol , 1 TB SSD here is 3 - 4 K i think , which u can get the best GPU out there now !
Gh0sT-NoVa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-12, 02:16 PM   #32
misternumberone
Member

 
misternumberone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Argentina

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gh0sT-NoVa View Post
Sad thing is yes older stuffs is cheaper of course. But once its sold out here, they will no longer bring in any more stocks. Like AMD GPU now , u can say we no longer able to find anymore 6000 series , now they only have 7000 series on the shelves. For 7000 , well its least 7850 its consider good if u ask me which is a whopping 800 bucks , with 800 bucks u could gotten something like 6870 or maybe even 6950.

But of course i think 7850 its hell lot stronger, but once again , money problem lol.

I wanted to go for a 6850 , my friend got it maybe 2 GB ver , its decent. But they no longer have stock , so i think the HD 7770 OC its the closes version now. Still it costs around 500 like the old 6850 1GB , 2 GB is 600.

GPU and the PSU are the most expensive parts of a PC if u ask me !

Even a 400 - 500 bucks motherboard its decent enough for gaming , so are processors.

RAM is the cheapest even gaming series.

Well for SSD that's just crazy lol , 1 TB SSD here is 3 - 4 K i think , which u can get the best GPU out there now !
._. my local Best Buy hasn't started selling 2012 Graphics Cards yet. They still sell 8400GTs.

__________________

Motherboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D
Memory: 2*8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K @ 4.50Ghz w/CM Hyper 212 EVO
GPU: 2*EVGA Nvidia GTX 770 Classified w/ACX OC
Storage: 240GB Intel 530 SSD, 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Display: 3*ASUS VS247H-P (5760*1080)
Keyboard: Corsair Vengeance K70 Black Cherry MX Red
Mouse: Corsair Vengeance M65
OS: Windows 8.1
misternumberone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-12, 07:50 PM Thread Starter   #33
Gh0sT-NoVa
Member

 
Gh0sT-NoVa's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia, South East Asia.

 
Seriously = 0 ? My country its usually slow on all this new things , but now everywhere its already selling 7000 series and 600 series cards.

But we only have 3 - 4 brands. Sapphire , ASUS , Gigabyte , Leadtek and MSI (Very rare to see ) , i saw Power Color once , in a store where a place almost no one go to lol.
Gh0sT-NoVa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-12, 07:25 AM   #34
misternumberone
Member

 
misternumberone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Argentina

 
I live in Texas, and the local Best Buy isn't really interested in PC components as much as others. They have 6000 and 500 series cards, but low-end ones, they only have up to the HD 6770 and the GTX 560 Ti.

__________________

Motherboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D
Memory: 2*8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K @ 4.50Ghz w/CM Hyper 212 EVO
GPU: 2*EVGA Nvidia GTX 770 Classified w/ACX OC
Storage: 240GB Intel 530 SSD, 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Display: 3*ASUS VS247H-P (5760*1080)
Keyboard: Corsair Vengeance K70 Black Cherry MX Red
Mouse: Corsair Vengeance M65
OS: Windows 8.1
misternumberone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-12, 07:45 AM Thread Starter   #35
Gh0sT-NoVa
Member

 
Gh0sT-NoVa's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia, South East Asia.

 
6770 ? Wao...least 6790 its only worthy lol

560 Its not bad i think.

Currently the 7770 beats the 560 well yeah i know its a new tech but still a win is a win.

I hope i can get a new PC before my current one die , sounds lifeless but PC and online its the only entertainment , im not a social type of ppl i rather spend my money on my PC then going out lol. Guess im a total nerd = /
Gh0sT-NoVa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-12, 07:36 PM   #36
misternumberone
Member

 
misternumberone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Argentina

 
560 Ti 448 is very much better than normal 560

__________________

Motherboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D
Memory: 2*8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K @ 4.50Ghz w/CM Hyper 212 EVO
GPU: 2*EVGA Nvidia GTX 770 Classified w/ACX OC
Storage: 240GB Intel 530 SSD, 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Display: 3*ASUS VS247H-P (5760*1080)
Keyboard: Corsair Vengeance K70 Black Cherry MX Red
Mouse: Corsair Vengeance M65
OS: Windows 8.1
misternumberone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-12, 03:41 AM Thread Starter   #37
Gh0sT-NoVa
Member

 
Gh0sT-NoVa's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia, South East Asia.

 
Im not sure about Nvidia cards lol quite confusing.

TI is usually better right ?

SLI means Crossfire right ?
Gh0sT-NoVa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-12, 09:36 AM   #38
ssjwizard
Has slightly less legible writing
than Thideras, Member

 
ssjwizard's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rio Rancho, NM

10 Year Badge
 
The thing that you measure performance on by looking at nVidia cards is core count and memory bus width. IE an nVidia card with 1gb of 128bit vRAM and 120 CUDA cores is gona be alot slower than something with 1gb of 256 vRAM and 150 CUDA cores. There naming convention is pretty linear also but not quite.

__________________
Life is what you make of it, we exist for the sole purpose of existing. Dont waste the universe efforts!
All statements, imagery, and ideas contained within any posts are merely retold tales of fictional acts by a figment of the universe imagination.

So your looking for an AMD FX motherboard, things you need to know. Whats the max safe temps/volts for an FX?

Green Gorilla, CM 690-II nVidia, FX 8320, GTX 670, liquid cooled
Liquid Fusion, CM 690-II, A8+6670 Dual GFX, liquid cooled
Extreme evaporative water loop 450mm^3 water cooled beast - Incomplete
ssjwizard is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-12, 10:19 AM Thread Starter   #39
Gh0sT-NoVa
Member

 
Gh0sT-NoVa's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malaysia, South East Asia.

 
Well yeah thats what most ppl told me , the important is the BIT but of course the memory , clock speed etc.

Whats CUDA core ? I hear ppl saying it but when i read on the specs i dont c this

But surprisingly even the HD 7770 is only 128 BIT its still quite powerful
Gh0sT-NoVa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-12, 03:01 PM   #40
misternumberone
Member

 
misternumberone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Argentina

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gh0sT-NoVa View Post
Well yeah thats what most ppl told me , the important is the BIT but of course the memory , clock speed etc.

Whats CUDA core ? I hear ppl saying it but when i read on the specs i dont c this

But surprisingly even the HD 7770 is only 128 BIT its still quite powerful
SLI does not mean crossfire. SLI means Scalable Link Interface, Formerly Scan Line Interleave, and works entirely differently from CFX. However, In a practical sense, SLI essentialy does the same thing as Crossfire, yes. And, memory bandwidth doesn't directly influence a card's processing capability... A CUDA core is a special thing developed by Nvidia for use in relation to GPGPU technology.HD 7770 has only 128-bit memory link? I thought it was 256, like my HD 4890. Hm.

__________________

Motherboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero
Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D
Memory: 2*8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K @ 4.50Ghz w/CM Hyper 212 EVO
GPU: 2*EVGA Nvidia GTX 770 Classified w/ACX OC
Storage: 240GB Intel 530 SSD, 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Display: 3*ASUS VS247H-P (5760*1080)
Keyboard: Corsair Vengeance K70 Black Cherry MX Red
Mouse: Corsair Vengeance M65
OS: Windows 8.1
misternumberone is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?