Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Unable to play video on youtube + Firefox

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-12, 05:44 PM Thread Starter   #1
DHP
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011

 
Unable to play video on youtube + Firefox


[SOLVED]


Hello everyone;

I'm using Firefox 13, W7.
I was watching a couple video on youtube, when I open another one and instead of the video was a black screen, I then did a right click on it and it said "animation is not charged" (or something close) my first step was to reload the page but it's the same thing... I then went to a previous tab where a video was loaded and I try to play it but it didn't work even after reloading.

I reinstalled Java, Adobe flash player, firefox and still not working.
Video work's on dailymotion with firefox
I deactivated Adblock, and it's the same.

I then tried to watch the youtube video on IE, and it work but it was kind of weird, because I couldn't pause the video I don't know if it's recurent on IE (never use it).
I'm guessing it's a link between youtube and firefox....

Any advice ?

__________________
i5-2500k, P8P67 PRO Asus, 6950 2Gb, G.Skill 2x2Gb 1600mhz, CM 690 II Advanced.

Last edited by DHP; 06-10-12 at 06:00 AM.
DHP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-12, 12:24 AM   #2
Jmtyra
Premium Member #21



 
Jmtyra's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dallas/Fort-Worth

 
Very strange...anything else on your machine acting odd?
What AV are you using on your machine?

Oh, and try disabling all of your Firefox addons, and see if you still have the error.


Last edited by Jmtyra; 06-10-12 at 12:32 AM.
Jmtyra is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-12, 04:54 AM Thread Starter   #3
DHP
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011

 
What's AV ?

I did disable ALL addons

This is also something weird. Do you see the problem there(on the picture) ? (This is me going from the tab I was writing right here to the youtube video and you can clearly see that what was on this page stayed in place of the youtube video...) Kind of weird ain't it ?


Edit: Ok so I did something new. I uninstall flash player, then I went on youtube and obviously Firefox told me there was a missing pluging (flash) and by there recommendations I reinstalled it, and right after that the video on THAT page was working, I then went to another open tab where a video was, But it didn't work even after reloading the pages and restating firefox I then tried to open a new video on youtube but it didn't work but EVEN after re-opening firefox the video where I reinstalled flash WORK'S even after restarting the pc. So now I have ONE WORKING VIDEO ON YOUTUBE (awesome:/ )
Attached Images
 

__________________
i5-2500k, P8P67 PRO Asus, 6950 2Gb, G.Skill 2x2Gb 1600mhz, CM 690 II Advanced.

Last edited by DHP; 06-10-12 at 05:21 AM.
DHP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-12, 05:59 AM Thread Starter   #4
DHP
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011

 
IT WORKS !

I decided to take the problem further by starting my virtual machine with W8 installing firefox + flash on it and I launched a video on youtube, and it was working wich kind of directed me toward the fact that it was Firefox the problem.

So on my real machine I reinstalled (once more ) firefox but this time after reinstalling I didn't upload my profile to see if it was my setting and this time around video on youtube were working. I then back up my profil completely expecting the video not to work but it did....

So I don't know now what the problem was exactly. All I know is that it works so ^^

__________________
i5-2500k, P8P67 PRO Asus, 6950 2Gb, G.Skill 2x2Gb 1600mhz, CM 690 II Advanced.
DHP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-12, 08:49 AM   #5
Jmtyra
Premium Member #21



 
Jmtyra's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dallas/Fort-Worth

 
Hey, awesome, you got it working!

(AV is antivirus, btw)

Jmtyra is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-12, 09:01 AM   #6
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
I've marked the thread [SOLVED] since you got it figured out. You can mark your own threads as solved by using the "Thread Tools" just above your first post.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-12, 02:17 PM Thread Starter   #7
DHP
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmtyra View Post
Hey, awesome, you got it working!

(AV is antivirus, btw)
Thx.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
I've marked the thread [SOLVED] since you got it figured out. You can mark your own threads as solved by using the "Thread Tools" just above your first post.
Thx. I was trying to edit the title but I couldn't find it.

__________________
i5-2500k, P8P67 PRO Asus, 6950 2Gb, G.Skill 2x2Gb 1600mhz, CM 690 II Advanced.
DHP is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?