Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Competitive Benchmarking Team > Volt Modding & Circuitry
Volt Modding & Circuitry Calling Dr. Frankenstein! When too much is barely enough...
Forum Jump

EVGA 7600 GT - help with vmod

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-13, 08:34 AM Thread Starter   #1
ivanlabrie


 
ivanlabrie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

 
EVGA 7600 GT - help with vmod


Well, I come here for some pointers regarding the subject...
I got some replacement caps already for what seems like cracked caps and missing ones.

Here are some shots showing the naked card:







I'm gonna try it first on air, and might go for some sandwich bag action once I get my 3770k replacement which is on its way here as we speak (Horrerblade )

__________________
Folding User Stats
"What it can take scales inversely with how much you want it to not die." Bobnova
ivanlabrie is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-13, 08:52 AM   #2
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
You are def. missing a cap!

Until BobN comes in this is what google brought up: https://www.google.com/webhp?sourcei...w=1337&bih=914

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-13, 09:18 AM Thread Starter   #3
ivanlabrie


 
ivanlabrie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

 
I've seen those but wanted some more insights, specially on the repair side of things.
I don't wanna fire that sucker missing a cap and with the others caps with cracked tops.

__________________
Folding User Stats
"What it can take scales inversely with how much you want it to not die." Bobnova
ivanlabrie is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-13, 09:21 AM   #4
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
I don't see any cap issues (the dented-looking polymers have the gas relief scoring put in from inside the cap instead of from outside the cap, so it looks like lines of bulge. When they fail they split open, not subtle). The missing one is an issue. I'd use a low ESR (<10mOhm) 6.3V polymer with as much capacitance as you can manage. Then II'd put another one on the back side. Originally it was probably an electrolytic.
Otherwise, those all look fine.
The line on the cap and the line on the PCB denote negative (-), with the exclusion of some Asus motherboards.

Voltmod wise this looks to be among the better guides, it'll walk you through it easily enough: http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/gra...ltmodding.html

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
ivanlabrie (03-04-13)
Old 03-04-13, 09:24 AM Thread Starter   #5
ivanlabrie


 
ivanlabrie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

 
Yup, I guess that will do...Gonna get the pots and try soldering the missing cap back in place.
For now this 3ghz p4 631 should do for testing xD
Thanks for stopping by

EDIT: btw, I got a few Ketuo and Jackson branded caps...All 6.3v 1500uf ones, which should I use?

__________________
Folding User Stats
"What it can take scales inversely with how much you want it to not die." Bobnova
ivanlabrie is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-13, 09:28 AM   #6
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
What are their ESR ratings?

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-13, 09:34 AM Thread Starter   #7
ivanlabrie


 
ivanlabrie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

 
hmmm

02
0509
LOW
ESR

That's what I see on the JACKON one. The Ketuo one doesn't even say anything ESR related on it. Just max temp (105c) and that is ROHS compliant xD
If anything the Ketuo one is a bit bigger physically.

__________________
Folding User Stats
"What it can take scales inversely with how much you want it to not die." Bobnova
ivanlabrie is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-13, 09:38 AM   #8
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Without a known ESR spec I can't really tell you much, heh. I'd go for which ever is taller, then put a second cap on the backside.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-13, 10:14 AM Thread Starter   #9
ivanlabrie


 
ivanlabrie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

 
Second cap on the same spot? I could both I guess xD
Do I solder them to the same legs and call it a day?
I'm gonna vmod anyway, and got spare caps one for every type the card has. Should I put dual caps on all spots?

__________________
Folding User Stats
"What it can take scales inversely with how much you want it to not die." Bobnova
ivanlabrie is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-13, 10:42 AM   #10
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Might as well, yeah. Make sure you get the polarity correct.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-13, 10:54 AM Thread Starter   #11
ivanlabrie


 
ivanlabrie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

 
Or else...BOOM?

I will, I expect to have it done by tomorrow. Expect some results by Wednesday.

__________________
Folding User Stats
"What it can take scales inversely with how much you want it to not die." Bobnova
ivanlabrie is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-13, 10:55 AM   #12
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Yup. Best case: Cap leaks.
Worst case: Cap dead-shorts and blows MOSFETs to hell, then explodes.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-13, 02:35 PM Thread Starter   #13
ivanlabrie


 
ivanlabrie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

 
Well, I know what to do when I get my scores and feel like blowing up stuff then...

__________________
Folding User Stats
"What it can take scales inversely with how much you want it to not die." Bobnova
ivanlabrie is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-13, 09:08 AM   #14
Mandrake4565
Member

 
Mandrake4565's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New City, NY.

 
Ivan as you know I'm planning on doing the same with my 7600gt so I hope you don't mind the hijack. I need to replace the caps on my card also. They say on the top FX75 1500 6.3, is this the replacement I should use? http://www.digikey.com/scripts/DKSea...82438018502229

__________________
Mountain Mods U2-UFO Duality/ Asus Crosshair V Formula----------Silverstone TJ07/ Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
Amd FX 8350 @ 4.7/ Msi GTX 780 Lightning-----------------------------Intel I7-4770K/ Msi GTX 580 Lightning
OCZ Vertex 4 128g SSD/ Windows 7 64bit------------------------------Samsung Evo SSD/ Windows 7
G-Skill Sniper X 4g @ 1866/ Cooler Master SP 1000-------------------G-Skill Ripjaw 2133/ Seasonic X-650w
EK Supreme HF/ Thermochill PA 120.3------------------------------------Custom Benching Loop
Dual Laing D5 Vario/ Koolance Rp-452X2
BitFenix Spectre Pro 6 X 120mm

Last edited by Mandrake4565; 03-07-13 at 09:58 AM.
Mandrake4565 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-13, 09:40 AM   #15
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Link doesn't work. Can you post the part number?

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-13, 09:57 AM   #16
Mandrake4565
Member

 
Mandrake4565's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New City, NY.

 
Really i just clicked on it and it did, odd. Anyhow here's the #565-3229-ND

__________________
Mountain Mods U2-UFO Duality/ Asus Crosshair V Formula----------Silverstone TJ07/ Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
Amd FX 8350 @ 4.7/ Msi GTX 780 Lightning-----------------------------Intel I7-4770K/ Msi GTX 580 Lightning
OCZ Vertex 4 128g SSD/ Windows 7 64bit------------------------------Samsung Evo SSD/ Windows 7
G-Skill Sniper X 4g @ 1866/ Cooler Master SP 1000-------------------G-Skill Ripjaw 2133/ Seasonic X-650w
EK Supreme HF/ Thermochill PA 120.3------------------------------------Custom Benching Loop
Dual Laing D5 Vario/ Koolance Rp-452X2
BitFenix Spectre Pro 6 X 120mm
Mandrake4565 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-13, 10:03 AM   #17
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
I think it must cache the search in your browser. I've run into that problem with digikey links before.

Those caps should work fine.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-13, 10:13 AM   #18
Mandrake4565
Member

 
Mandrake4565's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New City, NY.

 
Ok thanks Bob much appreciated.

__________________
Mountain Mods U2-UFO Duality/ Asus Crosshair V Formula----------Silverstone TJ07/ Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
Amd FX 8350 @ 4.7/ Msi GTX 780 Lightning-----------------------------Intel I7-4770K/ Msi GTX 580 Lightning
OCZ Vertex 4 128g SSD/ Windows 7 64bit------------------------------Samsung Evo SSD/ Windows 7
G-Skill Sniper X 4g @ 1866/ Cooler Master SP 1000-------------------G-Skill Ripjaw 2133/ Seasonic X-650w
EK Supreme HF/ Thermochill PA 120.3------------------------------------Custom Benching Loop
Dual Laing D5 Vario/ Koolance Rp-452X2
BitFenix Spectre Pro 6 X 120mm
Mandrake4565 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-13, 06:24 PM Thread Starter   #19
ivanlabrie


 
ivanlabrie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

 
Well, it seems the solder I got is not too good...What's the best kind for this type of application?

__________________
Folding User Stats
"What it can take scales inversely with how much you want it to not die." Bobnova
ivanlabrie is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-13, 08:37 PM   #20
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
40/60 lead/tin rosin core, 0.022", 0.031" works, but it's a bit clunky for tiny stuff.
None of that RoHS junk.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Competitive Benchmarking Team > Volt Modding & Circuitry
Volt Modding & Circuitry Calling Dr. Frankenstein! When too much is barely enough...
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?