• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

(Planned) Project Stack Attack

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jamesman32

Stack Attack

First off, :welcome: to my first *official* build log, a project titled Stack Attack.

I've been doing small mods on my cases for about 2 years now. I started in the summer of 08 with a custom window and paint job, and have been working my way up since then. When I first started out, I had a pair of tin snips and some spray paint. I've now got a full machine shop I can use, with such tools as a chop saw, band saw, lathe, Bridgeport mill, belt sanders, and a plethora of hand tools, so we may be doing some custom fabrication this time around :clap:

Case
The case we'll be modding is the tried and true Cooler Master Stacker 832. An all aluminum full tower blast from the past.

The case will be painted gloss white on the exterior, with a matte black interior. The fans will all have blue LEDs.

cooler_master_stacker_832-400-400.jpg

Parts List

• Cooler Master Stacker 832 refurb - $50 from CM - Received
    Cooler Master R4 Blue LED fans - $8 each (11 total) - Received
    Cooler Master 4 in 3 SATA cage refurb - $10 from CM (3 total) - Received
    Apevia Black steel fan grills - $1 each (11 total) - Received
    Custom 12 switch fan controller - $20 from OCF Member - Received
    Powder Coating - $80 from local shop - Need to schedule

Plan of Attack

• Strip down case for powder coating
    Paint fans matte black (currently clear plastic)
    Send case, panels, and accessories to powder coater
    Receive parts back
    Sleeve all fan and case wires
    Make any fan cable extensions and sleeve
    Install all fans, drive cages, fan controller
    Sleeve PSU
    Install hardware

And that's all I've got planned for the moment