Notices

Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Vendor Discussion
Vendor Discussion Likes and Gripes about Vendors. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Newegg's Eggxpert Review Program

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-27-14, 05:59 AM Thread Starter   #481
Aldakoopa
Member

 
Aldakoopa's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina

 
How do I what?
Aldakoopa is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-14, 06:44 AM   #482
Silver_Pharaoh
Formerly Trashcanned
n00b Member

 
Silver_Pharaoh's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Middle of the "sticks" Ontario, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aldakoopa View Post
How do I what?
If you are asking how to check the rails while the PSU is in use, just use a multimeter.

Orange wires are the 3.3v rails

__________________
Gigabyte Z77-HD4 + i5-2300 @ 3564 Mhz - 33x108 Mhz Bclk :)/-----------\ Asrock K7S41GX W/OC BIOS + Duron "Spitfire" @ 1065Mhz 7.5x142 Mhz Fsb
G.Skill Ripjaws 8-9-9-24 1T XMP @ 863.7Mhz Dual/---------------------------\ Kingston DDR400 2.5-3-3-8
2x WD Green Sata 3&6, Samsung 155UI as Backup disk /--------------------\ Seagate 7200RPM 40Gb IDE
Coolermaster i600 80+ Bronze PSU/---------------------------------------------\ Generic 450 watt PSU :/
MSI R7850 + Sapphire Dual-x BF4 OC 270x -- 900 Kh/-------------------------\ ATI All-In-Wonder 9200 AGP 8x OC'd to 270Mhz Core 240Mhz Memory
BTC address: 1Anubis8Tvjfyx3AMfVCck7eNyUL6zt3aJ For college! (Thanks!)
Folding User Stats
Folding for Adak and my beloved grandfather, Donald. You are missed dearly.
What does a sick wife, a six pack of Arcadia Nut Brown Ale and poor altcoin mining equal?
Working on my RAM timings as I've never been able to figure out how to get these over 1666. --Blaylock
Success! OC'd an Nintendo 64!! ->Log here<-
Silver_Pharaoh is online now Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-14, 08:58 AM Thread Starter   #483
Aldakoopa
Member

 
Aldakoopa's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina

 
Ok thanks Silver! That's just another reason I need to pick up a multimeter...
Aldakoopa is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-14, 09:06 AM   #484
Silver_Pharaoh
Formerly Trashcanned
n00b Member

 
Silver_Pharaoh's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Middle of the "sticks" Ontario, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aldakoopa View Post
Ok thanks Silver! That's just another reason I need to pick up a multimeter...
here is a guide.

You can also just shove the probes in the connectors while it's hooked up to the mobo.

For the 3.3v rails, just connect it to your mobo, power it up and put the red probe in one of the orange wire "slots" on the 24 pin ATX connector. then just touch the case with the black probe, or insert it into a black wire "slot" on the same 24 pin ATX mobo connector.




Or just browse utube

__________________
Gigabyte Z77-HD4 + i5-2300 @ 3564 Mhz - 33x108 Mhz Bclk :)/-----------\ Asrock K7S41GX W/OC BIOS + Duron "Spitfire" @ 1065Mhz 7.5x142 Mhz Fsb
G.Skill Ripjaws 8-9-9-24 1T XMP @ 863.7Mhz Dual/---------------------------\ Kingston DDR400 2.5-3-3-8
2x WD Green Sata 3&6, Samsung 155UI as Backup disk /--------------------\ Seagate 7200RPM 40Gb IDE
Coolermaster i600 80+ Bronze PSU/---------------------------------------------\ Generic 450 watt PSU :/
MSI R7850 + Sapphire Dual-x BF4 OC 270x -- 900 Kh/-------------------------\ ATI All-In-Wonder 9200 AGP 8x OC'd to 270Mhz Core 240Mhz Memory
BTC address: 1Anubis8Tvjfyx3AMfVCck7eNyUL6zt3aJ For college! (Thanks!)
Folding User Stats
Folding for Adak and my beloved grandfather, Donald. You are missed dearly.
What does a sick wife, a six pack of Arcadia Nut Brown Ale and poor altcoin mining equal?
Working on my RAM timings as I've never been able to figure out how to get these over 1666. --Blaylock
Success! OC'd an Nintendo 64!! ->Log here<-
Silver_Pharaoh is online now Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-14, 05:52 PM   #485
Rhinotwotwo
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2013

 
Was offered a flashdrive of all things :P
Rhinotwotwo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-14, 06:04 PM Thread Starter   #486
Aldakoopa
Member

 
Aldakoopa's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina

 
Haha, I've been getting some good stuff lately. I'm due for a flash drive or a networking adapter. =/
Aldakoopa is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-28-14, 06:58 AM   #487
slamscaper
New Member

 
slamscaper's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2014

 
I'd actually love to get another USB 3.0 external drive, or even a nice 3-4TB internal drive. I always need more storage. Recently I started encoding my whole movie collection using the .mkv container and h264 compression. It's starting to take up quite a bit of space on my hard drives. I typically play the movies on a WDTV live media player, which is reading the files directly off of an external USB 3.0 hard drive. I used to run a media server so I could stream the movies over from my PC, but I found that playing them directly off a hard drive is more reliable for high quality rips.

I wish I wouldn't have sold the 1TB Corsair Voyager Air drive they sent me a long while back. I didn't think I'd have use for it, but now I can think of multiple scenarios where it would have come in very handy.
slamscaper is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-28-14, 05:02 PM   #488
slamscaper
New Member

 
slamscaper's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2014

 
They have 6TB mechanical drives out now and 8TB drives on the way... I'd happily review one of those beasts. I have two 2TB drives, along with two 1TB drives installed now. If I was sent one of the larger internal drives, I'd uninstall the two 1TB drives and put them in an external enclosure for backups.

Anyway, the new motherboard arrived today. It's a really sweet MOBO! Nicer than I expected. First thing I noticed was how heavy the box was, which is due to the high quality heat sinks on this board. I'm really digging these heat sinks (some nice machining here indeed). Can't wait to start testing this bad boy.




slamscaper is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-28-14, 05:05 PM   #489
S_I_N
Member

 
S_I_N's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas

 
man that is one sexy looking board.

__________________
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Intel 4770K
2x 240GB Kingston HyperX 3K's in Raid0
WD Black 649Gb 64mb Sata 6GB/s
HIS 7970's in xfire
Custom water Cooled
Corsair AX860
Corsair Air540
S_I_N is online now Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-28-14, 08:01 PM   #490
slamscaper
New Member

 
slamscaper's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2014

 
I know right? It looks great.
slamscaper is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-28-14, 08:10 PM Thread Starter   #491
Aldakoopa
Member

 
Aldakoopa's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina

 
I like orange...

Have fun with it slamscaper.

I ordered a multimeter, soldering iron, and helping hand/magnifying glass. I needed them for various things, but the meter is partly for the incoming PSU.

I can't wait for it to arrive...
Aldakoopa is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-14, 02:21 AM   #492
slamscaper
New Member

 
slamscaper's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2014

 
A DMM is a very useful tool indeed. Once you start using it you'll wonder how you got along without one for so long.
slamscaper is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-14, 07:37 AM Thread Starter   #493
Aldakoopa
Member

 
Aldakoopa's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina

 
Yeah... I need one to help figure out the fan on my laptop, and there's some future volt mods I might be planning on doing on some older video cards...

Now I just have to learn how to use one. At least I have internet...

__________________
......BULLDOZER-|-NOTBULLDOZER
.FX-4100 CPU i5-4670K
ASUS Sabretooth 990FX MOBO ASRock Z97 Extreme 6..
CM Hyper 212+ COOLER CM Hyper 212+
...ASUS HD 6850 GPU XFX HD 7850 DD
.PNY Optima 1333MHz RAM ADATA XPG 1866MHz
.................Antec 300 CASE Corsair Graphite 600T
120GB Samsung 830 SSD 120GB Samsung 830
500GB Seagate SSHD SSHD...............................
500GB Seagate Barracuda HDD 3TB Seagate NAS............
GS600 PSU CX500
Aldakoopa is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-14, 10:13 AM   #494
balroger
Registered

 
balroger's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

 
I run a 4x4TB USB 3.0 external drive box for my media, 8TB available for media the orther 8TB is a mirror.

__________________
Main Server and Video Compressor:
AMD Phenom II 1050T 3.4GHz on a MSI 760GM-P35,
On board Radeon 3000 (essentially run remotely from a laptop)
16 GB (4x4GB) DDR3 G-Skill F3-12800 @ 667 Mhz,
500GB Seagate ST3500630AS, 1 TB WD Green Windows 7 Ultimate

Media Server:
Intel Q6600 @ 3 GHz with Zerotherm BTF90 on a GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R,
nVidia 7300 (output to a 60" Samsung Plasma)
4Gb DDR2 @ 800 MHz,
4 x 4 TB Seagate external Tank, 1x SAMSUNG 830 SSD 64GB, 1 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint Windows 7 Ultimate
Win TV PVR 500 Hauppauge and Firefly rf remote
balroger is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-14, 11:25 AM   #495
slamscaper
New Member

 
slamscaper's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2014

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by balroger View Post
I run a 4x4TB USB 3.0 external drive box for my media, 8TB available for media the orther 8TB is a mirror.
Nice setup.
slamscaper is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-14, 05:46 PM   #496
balroger
Registered

 
balroger's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

 
I got bitten once by a failed 500GB drive, I swore I'd never get caught like that again.

__________________
Main Server and Video Compressor:
AMD Phenom II 1050T 3.4GHz on a MSI 760GM-P35,
On board Radeon 3000 (essentially run remotely from a laptop)
16 GB (4x4GB) DDR3 G-Skill F3-12800 @ 667 Mhz,
500GB Seagate ST3500630AS, 1 TB WD Green Windows 7 Ultimate

Media Server:
Intel Q6600 @ 3 GHz with Zerotherm BTF90 on a GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R,
nVidia 7300 (output to a 60" Samsung Plasma)
4Gb DDR2 @ 800 MHz,
4 x 4 TB Seagate external Tank, 1x SAMSUNG 830 SSD 64GB, 1 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint Windows 7 Ultimate
Win TV PVR 500 Hauppauge and Firefly rf remote
balroger is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-14, 09:29 AM   #497
slamscaper
New Member

 
slamscaper's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2014

 
I typically have the latest version of Acronis True Image installed. I image my system drive over once every couple weeks, plus I keep all my important media stored redundantly over two internal hard drives and a third external hard drive. Redundancy is key. I'd love to have a proper RAID controller so I could automate the whole mirroring process with some added performance to boot, but alas I haven't acquired one as of this time. The RAID controller built into my MOBO is a joke really, at least for any config other than RAID 0 (there is a nice performance gain, but obviously RAID 0 isn't reliable).
slamscaper is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-14, 11:35 AM   #498
balroger
Registered

 
balroger's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

 
I've been down the RAID track and had a bad experience with a softraid. I now run ICE mirror on a weekly basis to mirror the drives. I'll only go back to a RAID should I ever get a decent hardware RAID card.

__________________
Main Server and Video Compressor:
AMD Phenom II 1050T 3.4GHz on a MSI 760GM-P35,
On board Radeon 3000 (essentially run remotely from a laptop)
16 GB (4x4GB) DDR3 G-Skill F3-12800 @ 667 Mhz,
500GB Seagate ST3500630AS, 1 TB WD Green Windows 7 Ultimate

Media Server:
Intel Q6600 @ 3 GHz with Zerotherm BTF90 on a GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R,
nVidia 7300 (output to a 60" Samsung Plasma)
4Gb DDR2 @ 800 MHz,
4 x 4 TB Seagate external Tank, 1x SAMSUNG 830 SSD 64GB, 1 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint Windows 7 Ultimate
Win TV PVR 500 Hauppauge and Firefly rf remote
balroger is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-14, 09:53 AM   #499
slamscaper
New Member

 
slamscaper's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2014

 
Yeah I feel the same way. Sadly a good RAID controller is quite expensive.

So the X99 boards are now available at the egg... Praying that they'll send me one of these boards to review. I'm gonna be so jelly when other reviewers start receiving them, lol.

There are a lot of enthusiasts that aren't feeling the new X99 platform. I don't really get that, as it's a monster of a chipset. X79 was getting a bit long in the tooth, so a platform update was sorely needed in the high-end segment. X99 isn't bringing any huge performance gains for gamers. However, power users will surely appreciate this new platform update.

*EDIT* Oh and BTW, the new Gigabyte Z97 board I just received has gold heat sinks on it, not orange. Personally I think the gold heat sinks look sweet, but some people aren't fond of that color. They do have an all black version of this same board as well.

Last edited by slamscaper; 08-31-14 at 12:25 PM.
slamscaper is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Vendor Discussion
Vendor Discussion Likes and Gripes about Vendors. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?