Notices

Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Forum Feedback
Forum Feedback Likes and Gripes about the Forums. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Silly Log In Query.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-06, 07:13 PM Thread Starter   #1
Adak
Senior Member

 
Adak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
Silly Log In Query.


Howdy All,

Silly question, but what's the easy way to log in on the forum?

I do a complicated little dance number to get here: 1) Go to Home, try to log in, but there is only room for a user name, and no box for a password. 2) Try it anyway, but NO, it's no go, attempt rejected. 3) Hunt around a find the "User Control Panel", and there I can log in no problem. Upon completing that, I'm in some empty foreign forum so, 4) Hunt around and find the right forum, and FINALLY, I can get inside and post, whatever.

Must be a better way than this for ya'll!

Gotta run and get my folding app set up right, now that the first one is "folded".

TIA,

Adak
Adak is offline Author Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-06, 07:19 PM   #2
TollhouseFrank
Senior Headphone Guru

 
TollhouseFrank's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T3h Intr@tub3z!

 
hmm... no idea... also, this thread would have been slightly better served in the Forum Feedback Section, which is where i'm gonna ask a mod to move it (for better visibility and others may have had the same problem)

TollhouseFrank is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-06, 08:44 PM   #3
pscout
Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :(

 
pscout's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto

 
If you start at 'www.ocforums.com'

on the left you should see under "CONTROL CENTER" 3 white entry fields.
The fisrt one has "User Name" already filled in ... type your user name in that field.
Then tab or click on the field to the left of it and type in your password,
then make sure the 'remember me' check box is checked
and then click on the login button.

This will store a cookie in your IE browser assuming you have cookies enabled in your IE security settings. If cookies are not enabled you will have to login each time.

The next time you arrive at the forum using the same machine, you will be automatically logged in. If you use another machine, you will have to do the same thing unless you export the cookies from the first machines IE and import them into the other machines IE.

__________________
Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout
pscout is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-06, 09:04 PM   #4
hibner

 
hibner's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Huntington, WV

10 Year Badge
 
in the upper right hnd side of the forum home page (http://www.ocforums.com) you should see the login. Fill it out, check the box, and start raisin that post count.

PS ... good to see ya foldin
and WELCOME TO THE FORUMS
Attached Images
 
hibner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-06, 09:18 PM   #5
nikhsub1
Unoriginal Macho Moderator

 
nikhsub1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles

10 Year Badge
 
Moved to a more appropriate section

__________________
Loading Signature ...
nikhsub1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-06, 11:19 PM Thread Starter   #6
Adak
Senior Member

 
Adak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
Blame the cookie monster!




OK, I see my problem. I have an anti-spyware program that automatically removes a LOT of cookies. It's VERY hungry for them.

So whenever I came here, it wouldn't even show me the password entry field, because it saw me as a stranger, each time, and "knew" I had to register.

In the meantime, I removed the graphical client, and got the two consoles working, and with the change in the "cookie monster", I'll be .

Thanks for the info.

Adak
Adak is offline Author Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-06, 12:54 AM   #7
TollhouseFrank
Senior Headphone Guru

 
TollhouseFrank's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T3h Intr@tub3z!

 
so how in the world could a 'cookie blocker' block access to the forums?!?!?

TollhouseFrank is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-06, 05:40 AM   #8
dark_15
Drunken Master JNCIE Senior

 
dark_15's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Out on the road again...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TollhouseFrank
so how in the world could a 'cookie blocker' block access to the forums?!?!?
This forum (as well as a few other VB Forums) uses a cookie to store some of your information (like whether you are logged in, last time you've lgged in, and where you are on the forum). Some programs will delete these cookies, and when the VB site cannot find the old cookie, it assumes you've logged off. And then you muist re-login again...

Check it out sometime; that's why when you log off, it says "All cookies cleared!"

__________________
JNCIE-SEC #69, JNCIP-ENT, JNCSP-SEC, JNCIS-SA, JNCIS-AC, JNCIA-IDP, JNCIA-WX, ACMP, RCSP-WAN

HEAT Register Personal Blog
dark_15 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Forum Feedback
Forum Feedback Likes and Gripes about the Forums. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?