Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Forget new features, Windows 8 will run 16-Bit Apps! RTM release 1st week of Aug

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-12, 05:12 AM Thread Starter   #1
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Forget new features, Windows 8 will run 16-Bit Apps! RTM release 1st week of Aug


EDIT: Awwwww what a let down. Turns out this feature is only present in 32-Bit version of Windows 8! It's not a feature at all. 16-Bit apps I wanted worked under 32-Bit Windows XP and Windows 7 anyway.
================================================== ================================




That is only three weeks from now.

Hopefully it will be available on MSDN and TechNet shortly after Release To Manufacturing version is complete in the first week of August.

Control Panel > (on top right) Small Icons > 16-bit Application Support > Enable


The only reason I am still on 32-Bit Windows is because I couldn't run 16-Bit Apps on 64-Bit Windows. Finally I can switch to 64-Bit OS and still run old-skool apps!

Last edited by c627627; 12-15-12 at 09:02 PM.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 06:03 AM   #2
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Neat feature... for the 1% who may still run 16 bit apps?

Regardless, MetroUI /end game for me.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 10:44 AM Thread Starter   #3
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
The only thing I can say is that Windows 7 hit the stores in October of 2009, it had no classic shell buttons and by November of 2009 we had a third party add on re-enabling them:

Name:  Toolbar.jpg
Views: 626
Size:  48.1 KB


So why not Classic Desktop with Classic Start Menu with classic features add-on for Windows 8?

Someone like this guy should already be working on it: http://classicshell.sourceforge.net/history.html



There is no way we are going to have Windows 8 without the ability to make it look like Windows 7.... eventually.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 10:47 AM   #4
wagex
Premium Member #13


 
wagex's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: newkirk, oklahoma

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
The only thing I can say is that Windows 7 hit the stores in October of 2009, it had no classic shell buttons and by November of 2009 we had a third party add on re-enabling them:

Attachment 112787


So why not Classic Desktop with Classic Start Menu with classic features add-on for Windows 8?

Someone like this guy should already be working on it: http://classicshell.sourceforge.net/history.html



There is no way we are going to have Windows 8 without the ability to make it look like Windows 7.... eventually.
im running the classic shell on win8 in a vm here at work and it works great but i kidna digg metro but thats a whole different thread

__________________
rig-NZXT source 210 elite --serv-- norco 270 2u---------------htpc-apex htpc case
2500k 4.5ghz 1.3v------------------ opteron 2419 6-core--------------------e6600 @ 3.0ghz
p67-ud4 ------------------------------ h8dmi-2 --------------------------- gigabyte g41
8gb gskill 2x4 1600 --------4x4gb samsung ddr2 ECC -----------2x2b ddr3 1600
xfx r9-280x black ----------------- onboard -----------------------------------HD 5450
corsair hx850-------------------------antec vp-450----------------------------------275w came with case
custom loop --------------------------socket f 2u passive ---------------------xigmatek durin
win 7x64------------------------------server 2012 r2 datacenter--------------win 7 64 bit
steam user name : Wagex (you happy bro?) HEAT
"You can't get magical Harry Potter temps with big overclocks, PHYSICS has a lot to do with it." -conumdrum
wagex is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 11:08 AM Thread Starter   #5
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Right.

But all this time people were complaining about the interface and you're saying all the while the old Classic Shell add-on worked under Windows 8? That's great news.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 11:18 AM   #6
Pinky
Disabled

 
Pinky's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Narf City, USA

10 Year Badge
 
I'm with you, they will either cave to buyer pressure and include a way of using 'classic' views as a display option, or someone will make one. I'm also thinking there will be a Win8 Pro for ARM tablets released sooner than later. Once that's a reality I'll be snagging an adequate tab, rooting, and adding win8 to it.
Pinky is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 11:27 AM Thread Starter   #7
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Three weeks and counting, just be careful with any leaked releases which may have malware already built in. Got to get RTM from MSDN or TechNet or other official Microsoft source.

See if you know a friend with access. Hopefully we can ReArm until October?
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 11:48 AM   #8
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
The only thing I can say is that Windows 7 hit the stores in October of 2009, it had no classic shell buttons and by November of 2009 we had a third party add on re-enabling them:

Attachment 112787


So why not Classic Desktop with Classic Start Menu with classic features add-on for Windows 8?

Someone like this guy should already be working on it: http://classicshell.sourceforge.net/history.html



There is no way we are going to have Windows 8 without the ability to make it look like Windows 7.... eventually.
+1 no doubt. I will catch up with it if its worth it for benchmarking, or when that happens.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 12:37 PM   #9
Pvt.Dancer
Member

 
Pvt.Dancer's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wilsonville, OR

 
When it hits Technet Ill be all over it and start running benchmarks some synthetics and some games and see if there is any reason to go that way or not.

__________________
Main Rig
Mobo: ASUS Maximus IV Extreme CPU: Intel I7 2600K @ 5.0 GHZ Vcore 1.5 Cooling: Custom water cooling 3x120 rad, EK supreme HF full copper, EK 150 basic res, Koolance PMP-450 High-flow Pump RAM:16GB Corsair Dominator GT 1866 9.10.9.27 2T GFX: ASUS GTX 690 PSU: Corsair HX 850 Case: Corsair 800D

Server
CPU: 2x Xeon x5550 Memory: 48GB DDR3 1333 ECC REG 8x QR HDD's: 3x 15k SAS 350GB Raid 5 & 3x 7200 RPM SAS 1TB Raid 5
Pvt.Dancer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-12-12, 11:56 AM Thread Starter   #10
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
Neat feature... for the 1% who may still run 16 bit apps?
It's not the quantity...



I'll be curious to find out if there are any downsides to enabling this feature on a 64-Bit OS?
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-12, 09:04 PM   #11
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
You can run a 16bit guest OS in a VM on a 64bit host OS. I wonder if they figured out how to do that running 16bit code within the 64bit OS in some kind of virtualization space without a VM?

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is online now Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-12, 09:53 PM Thread Starter   #12
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
The most important question here is: are there any downsides?

What does "enabling it" do to everything else?
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?