• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

LGA1366 viability as an upgrade

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tech Tweaker

I am currently looking into upgrading my PC to something a bit newer since I've noticed my PC getting slower and it occasionally crashes when I'm gaming. I've currently got a C2Q Q6600 SLACR running at 3.1GHz (board limited) with 8GB's of memory and a GTX 460 for graphics. I've been running this PC for almost four years now (and it was used for two or three years by the previous owner before me), but at this point I've upgraded it to it's limits with this hardware. Sure, I could get another year or two out of the old girl if I swap the motherboard for something better, but it wouldn't really give me much more performance (aside from what I can gain with a higher overclock).

The platform I am currently looking at is LGA1366, mainly because some of the Core i7 processors can be had for a fairly low amount of money ($40-80 on ebay usually). Luckily, with prices of pretty much everything tech-related going down over the last year or two these have now become an affordable option for me. One other reason I'm looking at LGA1366 is because I already have a working board and a 6GB Tri-channel memory kit. I can probably upgrade to a better board if necessary. Board is an Asus P6T SE.

LGA1150 is well outside of my budget since it's so new, as is LGA2011, which is why I'm not looking at them. Unless I just get an absolutely stellar deal on a board and CPU, it's just not going to happen with those sockets for at least another two or three years.