Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Oc'ing of q9400 on G41

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-12, 02:54 AM Thread Starter   #1
eru3
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2012

 
Oc'ing of q9400 on G41


Hey guys i know this chipset sucks to oc. But i want to ask u what settings should i do to make stable 377. Cause actually i can run my computer on but it is unstable (bsods,OCCT tests errorrs). Stable value for this is 360 - which dont make me satisfy - i cant change vcore, my settings are (power supply is fine):
360 fsb
8 multiplayer
110 pcie frequency
1.65v for ram (ddr3,xms3, 1600mhz, dual channel)
i can change VTT and NB voltage but i didnt had to on this funny fsb. How tu push ot to those 377 at least ?
Any answers are expected, thanks !
eru3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 03:05 AM   #2
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
What model board do you have?

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 03:08 AM Thread Starter   #3
eru3
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2012

 
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Int...75/P5G41TM_LX/ this one exactly. I am hunting on asus rampage extreme but it is nowhere... ;d
eru3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 03:19 AM   #4
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
You can change Vcore w/ that board. Besides Auto the available settings are +50mV, +100mV, and +150mV. A FSB of 377MHz x 8 = 3.016GHz which is only a ~340MHz overclock, and shouldn't require an increase in Vcore. Lower the PCI-E frequency to 100MHz, adjust the DRAM frequency to DDR3-1508, the DRAM voltage to 1.65V, and the four primary DRAM timings to what the modules are rated at. Depending on how much RAM is installed, you can probably leave the rest of the settings on Auto.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 03:20 AM Thread Starter   #5
eru3
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2012

 
sry my mistake. it is p5g41c-mlx ;d I cant change vcore. I was thinking of vmods but they wont rowrk, no any modified bioses '/
eru3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 03:24 AM   #6
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
You shouldn't need to adjust the Vcore anyway w/ that low of an overclock.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 03:26 AM Thread Starter   #7
eru3
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2012

 
I suppose. But anyway it is a problem pf chipset- it is very abd due to integrated intel graphic (in oc ways). Usually people have maximum fsb around 340-360 Mhz. It wont post in wrong settings. I can run it at those 377 but it is unstable. Please help me to make it stable !
eru3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 03:29 AM   #8
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
I already told you what to do.
redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-12, 03:30 AM Thread Starter   #9
eru3
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2012

 
Still it is unstable (not passing OCCT tests). What to do now ?
Sry, this cant even post. I have to have 110 Pcie freq and 360 fsb than it post. On 100 it doesnt even run 360, 377 neither. Ram is 4GB

Last edited by eru3; 07-10-12 at 04:02 AM.
eru3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-30-12, 02:06 AM   #10
Phirebird
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2012

 
Lifesaver


Quote:
Originally Posted by eru3 View Post
Still it is unstable (not passing OCCT tests). What to do now ?
Sry, this cant even post. I have to have 110 Pcie freq and 360 fsb than it post. On 100 it doesnt even run 360, 377 neither. Ram is 4GB
You sir have just saved my skin. I noticed my system wouldn't boot unless I shoved the pcie speed to 107MHz, but with your post I managed to push the fsb to 378 on my P5G41C-M LX with Intel e6500. I put a post up on bios-mod website to see whether they'll be able to adjust the vcore manually by editing the bios rom and I'm waiting for their response.

Adjusted settings are at 375mhz fsb with 10x cpu multiplier and 111mhz pcie speed. Speed step and thermal throttling are disabled as well as the epu set to fixed four phase.

voltage is up on both the vtt and nb, I'm keeping them both up to just after they hit the yellow threat level.
Phirebird is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?