• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Old Rig needs help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

iamexo

So I built my first computer around 2 years ago and I have always wanted to overclock but I was scared to damage the hardware because I have very little experience with it. Almost every game seems to run flawless with this setup to date. I recently bought SW:TOR and this seems to be the only game I have trouble with as far as performance and multi tasking while playing. I can play these games as said settings.

WoW: Everything max except Shadows and ground clutter on low 40-70 FPS(I had 4 Games running at the same time before with little to no lag)
BF:3: Everything on high without a single hiccup from explosions or anything.
Starcraft 2: Almost everything on Ultra the only time I lag is when im plating custom games and theres millions of units fighting.
I have also played Kingdoms of Amalur, Mafia 2, Just Cause 2, Dota2, Leage of Legends and various others at maxed settings with no FPS issues at all.
*Note I can multi task music, web browsing and other things while playing all these games except SW:TOR

Now with everything low when I play SW:TOR the moment I log in and for about 10~ minutes I get 30-60 fps with no lag then randomly I will get 10-20 for untill I restart my computer. Also I cannot even open fire fox without there being 5 seconds delaying in screen switching between SW:TOR and my browser.

Now sorry for typing up a freaking storm I'm sure you guys get tons of people coming to you with problems and it gets to be a pain sometimes but I'm just looking for any advice on overclocking my CPU or what I can do to gain max performance with my rig.

My Specs are as follows.

Intel Core i7 860 Lynnfield @ 2.8GHz
Gigabyte P55-UD5