Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Network connections on Win XP

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-12, 09:24 PM Thread Starter   #1
JimmyG
Member

 
JimmyG's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Network connections on Win XP


I really feel stupid. I am trying to load Win XP on an old Pentium III Dell computer. I have installed the OS, but it does not want to install the ethernet network card. It says it can't find a driver.

I also have a Netgear WP311 wireless card installed, but I can't seem to connect it to my wireless network.

I have been trying everything I can think of and can't get connected to the network.

All the rest of my computers are running Win7.

Any help would be apprectiated!

__________________
Main Computer: INTEL 2600K; ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe; 850W Corsair; Antec P280 case;16 Gigs Corsair Vengance;EVGA 560 TI; 120 INTEL SSD; 2x500Gig WD HD; op system: Win 7-64; Backup computer:INTEL Q6600; 650W Corsair in Antec P180 Case; 4 Gigs RAM; EVGA GT430; Gigibyte P45T-ES3G mobo; 1x200 GB WD; 2x160 GB WD; 1x1GB WD. Operating system: Win 7 -64. ***Avatar by Gresyth***
JimmyG is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-09-12, 11:34 PM   #2
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
If it doesn't have the driver, you would need to download it and transfer it to that system. This is pretty straightforward unless I'm missing something.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-12, 07:17 AM Thread Starter   #3
JimmyG
Member

 
JimmyG's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
If it doesn't have the driver, you would need to download it and transfer it to that system. This is pretty straightforward unless I'm missing something.
I bought the ethernet card over the internet. It came without driver software and I have not been able to find a driver.

The card has this identifier: 24761 POTHPCIXAD01 [NI J 872]. It is a generic PCI LAN Card made in China. It has a statement that says "Software Support" and it lists every OS known to man.

__________________
Main Computer: INTEL 2600K; ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe; 850W Corsair; Antec P280 case;16 Gigs Corsair Vengance;EVGA 560 TI; 120 INTEL SSD; 2x500Gig WD HD; op system: Win 7-64; Backup computer:INTEL Q6600; 650W Corsair in Antec P180 Case; 4 Gigs RAM; EVGA GT430; Gigibyte P45T-ES3G mobo; 1x200 GB WD; 2x160 GB WD; 1x1GB WD. Operating system: Win 7 -64. ***Avatar by Gresyth***
JimmyG is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-12, 07:18 AM   #4
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
What is the device ID? You can see it in the device manager.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-12, 06:32 PM Thread Starter   #5
JimmyG
Member

 
JimmyG's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
What is the device ID? You can see it in the device manager.
I have 2 LAN cards the first came with the DELL Dimension 4100. It's ID =
PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_5E001388&REV_01\4&22656C78

The second card was purchase over the internet because I thought the first might be bad. It's ID =
PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_0013&SUBSYS_5E001385&REV_01\4&226 56C78

__________________
Main Computer: INTEL 2600K; ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe; 850W Corsair; Antec P280 case;16 Gigs Corsair Vengance;EVGA 560 TI; 120 INTEL SSD; 2x500Gig WD HD; op system: Win 7-64; Backup computer:INTEL Q6600; 650W Corsair in Antec P180 Case; 4 Gigs RAM; EVGA GT430; Gigibyte P45T-ES3G mobo; 1x200 GB WD; 2x160 GB WD; 1x1GB WD. Operating system: Win 7 -64. ***Avatar by Gresyth***
JimmyG is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-12, 06:54 PM   #6
Pinky
Disabled

 
Pinky's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Narf City, USA

10 Year Badge
 
The PCI card appears to be resold through "everydaysource", which resells chinese junk. I'd say cut your losses and get a real card.

Are you using the built-in windows XP wifi app (SP3) or the one included with the linksys wifi adapter? I've had several issues with linksys software in the past.

Copy the linksys folder found in c:\Program Files to your desktop, then uninstall the linksys card from device manager and reboot. Connect the wifi card, when it asks for a driver point it to the folder on the desktop you copied. It should install just the driver (no linksys wireless management software) and we'll see if the built in windows software can get you on wifi.
Pinky is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-12, 11:51 AM Thread Starter   #7
JimmyG
Member

 
JimmyG's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
The PCI card appears to be resold through "everydaysource", which resells chinese junk. I'd say cut your losses and get a real card.

Are you using the built-in windows XP wifi app (SP3) or the one included with the linksys wifi adapter? I've had several issues with linksys software in the past.

Copy the linksys folder found in c:\Program Files to your desktop, then uninstall the linksys card from device manager and reboot. Connect the wifi card, when it asks for a driver point it to the folder on the desktop you copied. It should install just the driver (no linksys wireless management software) and we'll see if the built in windows software can get you on wifi.
I'm using the built in app. But, I don't see any wifi connections. The screen is blank.

__________________
Main Computer: INTEL 2600K; ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe; 850W Corsair; Antec P280 case;16 Gigs Corsair Vengance;EVGA 560 TI; 120 INTEL SSD; 2x500Gig WD HD; op system: Win 7-64; Backup computer:INTEL Q6600; 650W Corsair in Antec P180 Case; 4 Gigs RAM; EVGA GT430; Gigibyte P45T-ES3G mobo; 1x200 GB WD; 2x160 GB WD; 1x1GB WD. Operating system: Win 7 -64. ***Avatar by Gresyth***
JimmyG is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-12, 07:33 PM Thread Starter   #8
JimmyG
Member

 
JimmyG's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
solved


After hitting another dozen roadblocks, I finally got my wireless card working and was able to connect to the internet.

Thanks for all your help!

__________________
Main Computer: INTEL 2600K; ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe; 850W Corsair; Antec P280 case;16 Gigs Corsair Vengance;EVGA 560 TI; 120 INTEL SSD; 2x500Gig WD HD; op system: Win 7-64; Backup computer:INTEL Q6600; 650W Corsair in Antec P180 Case; 4 Gigs RAM; EVGA GT430; Gigibyte P45T-ES3G mobo; 1x200 GB WD; 2x160 GB WD; 1x1GB WD. Operating system: Win 7 -64. ***Avatar by Gresyth***
JimmyG is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?