Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

6800 GT -> 6800 Ultra Extreme

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-04, 11:34 PM Thread Starter   #1
nissmo300
Member

 
nissmo300's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004

 
6800 GT -> 6800 Ultra Extreme


I saw someone post this on another board:


Quote:
I flashed the bios of my 6800 GT to the EVGA 6800 ultra extreme just now. I'm cooling the thing with my Koolance EXOS. The flashing process was flawless. The computer registers it as an ultra but it has the ultra extreme clocks.

I just ran 3dmark 2003 and I got 12,757 points... which i assume is good. I'm gonna try it again when i put my CPU at 3.6 GHz rather than 3. If you have a solid cooling for your 6800 GT i definitely suggest flashing it's bios to the ultra extreme... i didn't notice any artifacts or anything it wasn't even difficult. I got the bios files here: http://www.mvktech.net/download.php

-------------

UPDATE: Stock clocks of the:

6800 GT - 350 mhz/core 1000 mhz/mem
6800 Ultra - 400 mhz/core 1100 mhz/mem
6800 Ultra OC - 425 mhz/core 1100 mhz/mem
6800 Ultra Extreme - 450 mhz/core 1200 mhz/mem

If you can get the 6800 GT to clock to the speed of an Ultra, how much can you OC a Ultra or an Ultra Extreme for that matter?

Last edited by nissmo300; 08-18-04 at 11:51 PM.
nissmo300 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-04, 11:42 PM   #2
Avg
Senior Member

 
Avg's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NY, Long island

 
6800 gt 350mhz/core 1.0ghz/mem
6800 Ultra 400mhz/core 1.1ghz/mem
6800 Ultra Extreme 450mhz/core 1.2ghz/mem (clocks may vary)
http://www.hothardware.com/viewartic...?articleid=568
Quote:

__________________
Avg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-04, 11:49 PM Thread Starter   #3
nissmo300
Member

 
nissmo300's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004

 
Thanks AVG, thats helpful. Now we need to find some people who own any of these and see how far they can OC them.
nissmo300 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 12:21 AM   #4
myzhi
Registered



Join Date: May 2002

 
How high were you able to o/c the before flashing to Ultra extreme?
myzhi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 12:22 AM Thread Starter   #5
nissmo300
Member

 
nissmo300's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004

 
It's not mine, I said I found this post in another forum. Has anyone tried flash their 6800 GT with the bios of a 6800 Ultra Extreme?
nissmo300 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 01:16 AM   #6
Myhre
Member

 
Myhre's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Little Rock, AR

 
My PNY maxes out around 430/1.25 but that's without any flashes. I'm getting around 13k on 3dmark03. I don't think I want to flash up, I don't really think it gives that much of a perf boost, versus what it could do to the card. There is overclocking and then there is reckless abandon. I don't want to end up with a paperweight.
Myhre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 01:22 AM Thread Starter   #7
nissmo300
Member

 
nissmo300's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004

 
Quote:
My PNY maxes out around 430/1.25 but that's without any flashes.
That's very close to a Ultra Extreme. Good job. How do you think the BFG series overclocks?

EDIT: By the way what is the temp on it?
nissmo300 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 02:25 AM   #8
Pitbull2k
Registered



Join Date: May 2004
Location: Broonlyn, NY

 
my PNY goes up to 440/1110 on stock
And it dosent get too hot over 75 i think.
Pitbull2k is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 07:38 AM   #9
Myhre
Member

 
Myhre's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Little Rock, AR

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nissmo300
That's very close to a Ultra Extreme. Good job. How do you think the BFG series overclocks?

EDIT: By the way what is the temp on it?
It idles around 59C and never goes over 75C from what I can tell.
Myhre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 08:38 AM   #10
Nandro
Disabled

 
Nandro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wherever I happen to be.

 
My BFG GT will only go up to 426/1.07 water cooled at 40C. I may have just got a poor overclocker although i am happy with its performance. I have been able to go up a bit at a time with riva tuner, maybe the AS5 needs to cure a bit. I would highly recommend testing before doing this.
Nandro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 09:21 AM   #11
Myhre
Member

 
Myhre's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Little Rock, AR

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nandro
My BFG GT will only go up to 426/1.07 water cooled at 40C. I may have just got a poor overclocker although i am happy with its performance. I have been able to go up a bit at a time with riva tuner, maybe the AS5 needs to cure a bit. I would highly recommend testing before doing this.
Which BFG do you have? The one with the reference heatsink or the one with the Double fan chrome one?
Myhre is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 09:32 AM   #12
Nandro
Disabled

 
Nandro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wherever I happen to be.

 
I have the reference design.
Nandro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 09:53 AM Thread Starter   #13
nissmo300
Member

 
nissmo300's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004

 
Does anyone have a picture of the reference design?
nissmo300 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 10:20 AM   #14
bobmanfoo
Disabled



Join Date: Apr 2004

 
i have the reference BFG GT as well, modded my GT bios to give 1.4v and set clocks to 425/1.12, i am now able to max out at 450/1.18, custom cooled

hey Nandro, what water block are you using?
bobmanfoo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 11:04 AM   #15
mms4ba
Member

 
mms4ba's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004

 
How safe/unsafe is flashing your vid bios?

Can you flash back to the original bios if you choose?
mms4ba is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 11:06 AM   #16
Avg
Senior Member

 
Avg's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NY, Long island

 
You can flash back to the original bios, but you'll need an pci video card to boot from, but sometimes that's not possible and you'll end up with a really expensive paperweight.

__________________
Avg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-04, 07:22 PM   #17
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
I like testing with vgabios.exe prior to actually flashing. At least I am relatively assured of being able to flash back.

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?