Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

unlocking on KR7A

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-02, 07:17 PM Thread Starter   #1
slick306
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada

 
unlocking on KR7A


Has anyone sucessfully unlocked an XP and been able to have the CPU run at XP2000+ on the KR7A? I have been trying for hours, and my best attempt was 12x133mhz for XP1900+ I can't seem to get the 13x multiplier to work (for 12.5) anyone else found this?

Slick.
slick306 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-02, 07:53 PM   #2
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
According to the cpu rankings here, it can. I have my first xp1600 chip and have not played with it as of yet but I would not be too impressed if it did not best my T-bird 1.4 at 1.77.

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-02, 08:59 PM Thread Starter   #3
slick306
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada

 
Your never gettin 1.7+ out of a 1600+ man... Well, it would be a very special CPU if you did... Most of the ones I hear can do 1600 no problem, and after that most need large voltage increase. at 1700mhz a colt mod is usually necesarry. I have been able to get mine to post at 1750 at 1.85 volts.. But I mean hey you might have a special one.

Slick..
slick306 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-02, 10:34 PM   #4
TruckChase!
Member

 
TruckChase!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Minnesota, US

 
I don't have any problems setting any multipliers with my 1600+, but there's no way I can get it up to 1667Mhz with the air cooling I'm using now. I think I've gotten a pretty good 1600+, and I'm currently able to run it at 1630Mhz with a SK6/Delta "screamer" @ 2.1v.

__________________
C2D (WK 27"A")on ASUS P5B-E
3483Mhz/387Mhz FSB 1.454Vcore(Load Actual) 1.575(set)
Crucial PC-8500 2GB @ 967Mhz 5-5-4-12 2.1Vmem
ATI x1900XTX @ 739/1700 1.48Vgpu/2.12Vmem
150GB WD Raptor SATA HD
OCZ PowerStream 520w PS
Audigy X-Fi "Fatal1ty" UGH I can't stand endorsements...
Watercooled CPU/GPU; Mix of Danger Den and homebrew components
and the best monitor ever made:)
http://www.bf2player.com/sig/3295585-912.png
TruckChase! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-02, 12:24 AM   #5
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
A 1600+ is running at 1.4Ghz right? As I type this my 1.4 t-bird is running at 2.33v and 43c (dropped one degree in the last hour) at 1.77Ghz. Am trying to get it to 1.8. Did get it in at 1.85 the other night and did a little testing but it was not stable. The chip has posted at 1.82. I believe that the xp was supposed to run cooler and therefore the possibility of 1.8 was within reach. Am running just a waterblock so it might be on the outer edge but is still within reason. Got my 750 duron to run at 1120 and this chip to 1.77 so far but can't seem to get to 1.8........

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-02, 12:26 AM Thread Starter   #6
slick306
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada

 
Ahh, okay watercooling... I am running AIR... On water I can see 1.7ghz no problem, especially with those voltages!. nice oc...


Slick
slick306 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-02, 12:27 AM   #7
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
You don't happen to see 1.8.....do ya?

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-02, 12:45 AM Thread Starter   #8
slick306
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada

 
Well, I am in the middle of unlocking my xp, so I could have been limited before by me video card, or memory or some other things before. So I don't know. But I know if you gave this chip 2.2v it would probably do 1800mhz or more! Hehe...

Slick
slick306 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-02, 01:01 AM   #9
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
Quote:
Originally posted by slick306
Well, I am in the middle of unlocking my xp, so I could have been limited before by me video card, or memory or some other things before. So I don't know. But I know if you gave this chip 2.2v it would probably do 1800mhz or more! Hehe...

Slick
That is what I am looking for, yes.......I hope. BTW the chip has dipped into 42c during the last fifteen minutes but did not stay. I am waiting for that temp dip. It has always (for me) been after that when it will go farther. At 42c right now. Air 22.2c, water at 16.9c and still running stability check in back ground.

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-02, 10:43 AM   #10
TruckChase!
Member

 
TruckChase!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Minnesota, US

 
Quote:
Originally posted by slick306
But I know if you gave this chip 2.2v it would probably do 1800mhz or more!
Slick
Good luck, I doubt it.

If the chip was able to run that fast it wouldn't be ranked a 1600+. The TB1400 was often a great overclocker because it was the fastest standard T-bird made. Since there wasn't any other speed grade to bump it up to, the 1.4 is the cream of the crop. The XP 1600+ on the other hand, is a low-end XP. Not nearly as much headroom, especially when the next model up is only 70Mhz faster.

__________________
C2D (WK 27"A")on ASUS P5B-E
3483Mhz/387Mhz FSB 1.454Vcore(Load Actual) 1.575(set)
Crucial PC-8500 2GB @ 967Mhz 5-5-4-12 2.1Vmem
ATI x1900XTX @ 739/1700 1.48Vgpu/2.12Vmem
150GB WD Raptor SATA HD
OCZ PowerStream 520w PS
Audigy X-Fi "Fatal1ty" UGH I can't stand endorsements...
Watercooled CPU/GPU; Mix of Danger Den and homebrew components
and the best monitor ever made:)
http://www.bf2player.com/sig/3295585-912.png
TruckChase! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-02, 01:03 PM   #11
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
Well the t-bird finally got in at 1800. Very unstable. Windows fully booted however when I brought up Sisoft Sandra and tested the processor it shortly thereafter froze. Will keep at it. On the cpu rankings here at overclockers they show many hitting 1.8 on the 1600+. Do you think those are T-birds?

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-02, 02:38 PM   #12
TruckChase!
Member

 
TruckChase!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Minnesota, US

 
Quite honestly, I think they are either peltier+watercooling or better, or flat-out lies. Alot of overclockers seem to have a talent for exaggeration.

__________________
C2D (WK 27"A")on ASUS P5B-E
3483Mhz/387Mhz FSB 1.454Vcore(Load Actual) 1.575(set)
Crucial PC-8500 2GB @ 967Mhz 5-5-4-12 2.1Vmem
ATI x1900XTX @ 739/1700 1.48Vgpu/2.12Vmem
150GB WD Raptor SATA HD
OCZ PowerStream 520w PS
Audigy X-Fi "Fatal1ty" UGH I can't stand endorsements...
Watercooled CPU/GPU; Mix of Danger Den and homebrew components
and the best monitor ever made:)
http://www.bf2player.com/sig/3295585-912.png
TruckChase! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-02, 10:35 PM   #13
TruckChase!
Member

 
TruckChase!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Minnesota, US

 
But, on a more optimistic note,

Feel free to prove me wrong.

Just let us know how you do.

__________________
C2D (WK 27"A")on ASUS P5B-E
3483Mhz/387Mhz FSB 1.454Vcore(Load Actual) 1.575(set)
Crucial PC-8500 2GB @ 967Mhz 5-5-4-12 2.1Vmem
ATI x1900XTX @ 739/1700 1.48Vgpu/2.12Vmem
150GB WD Raptor SATA HD
OCZ PowerStream 520w PS
Audigy X-Fi "Fatal1ty" UGH I can't stand endorsements...
Watercooled CPU/GPU; Mix of Danger Den and homebrew components
and the best monitor ever made:)
http://www.bf2player.com/sig/3295585-912.png
TruckChase! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-02, 02:57 AM   #14
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
A number of interesting things to note. Used epxoy to seal the holes and then messed up on the bridges. Acetone to remove all traces of both the defog paint and epoxy. Today I redid all with no problems and success. BTW after using the acetone the chip looked just like it did when I bought it. The xp1600 does not like the 13 multiplier on this board. I did get it up to 1.72 so far at 2.22v. The really interesting things are that on this board with sdram it went to 152 cas2 which is closing in on the low end of ddr. Heat is the other interesting thing as there is close to none when compared to my T-bird. The highest I have been able to get it so far is about 34c. I would however take this with a grain of salt due to the electrical circuitry below the chip. The chip does post at 1.83 though I have not really played with this to find out if this is the limit. It does not like really high voltage at all. I am really anxius to try it on a board that does allow a higher fsb and is designed for it. I will have to wait for now and break the chip in some. Performance is close to but below the T-bird in all areas as of this time, save of course for SSE however the t-bird tested out higher under 3dnow. This chip does however "feel" faster. Has to be the fsb.

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-02, 03:31 PM Thread Starter   #15
slick306
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada

 
Where can I buy acetone? is this nail polish remover?

Slick
slick306 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-02, 09:34 PM   #16
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
Quote:
Originally posted by slick306
Where can I buy acetone? is this nail polish remover?

Slick
Hardware store in the paint department I believe. I used it on about three q-tips and cleaned things up real purty. I did use nail polish remover but I would make sure it has no additives and is in fact acetone (some are not). Check the label.

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-02, 01:25 AM   #17
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
Presently am running the XP1600 at 1.734 Ghz and am going to do some burning there. I believe with a faster mobo and ddr she may hit 1.8. As I stated before she will post higher than the t-bird 1.4. I don't know if there is enough headroom though. Love the temps (35c under load with 2.22v). It is really picky about voltage.

BTW, what is the formula to convert Mhz to xp ratings?

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?