Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

RAM not running in dual channel

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-12, 09:56 AM Thread Starter   #1
Leviatan1
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2012

 
RAM not running in dual channel


Hello I've been reading some post here and got redirected from G.skill web page,
So i'll tell you my problem:

I have my new PC, wich is composed for:

AMD PHENOM II x4 970 BE
ASUS M5A97 EVO
G.SKILL 1600 MHZ 2x2GB code F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL(XMP)


BOTH stick works and they run in single channel.

The problem is in DUAL channel that i get NO MEMORY DETECTED in POST.

I've never changed something in BIOS yet.

I would ask to you that you tell me the USUAL set up for running this RAMS at dual channel at 1600 AND 1333 MHZ. ND if its ok to do it and not ruin my cpu , wich i dont want to tweak at all.

TY very much
Leviatan1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-12, 10:05 AM   #2
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
I have that same motherboard and I'm running GSKill 1600 ram as well and in dual channel mode. Put one stick in slot #2 and one in slot #4, the two blue slots. Leave slots #1 and #3 empty.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-12, 11:50 AM Thread Starter   #3
Leviatan1
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2012

 
I already did that, and got NO MEMORY error during POST. I can't get into BIOS, but with one stick i can get into BIOS, so what should i CONFIG for getting dual channel to work? (both sticks works fine individually)
Leviatan1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-12, 12:04 PM   #4
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Try two things:

First, reset the CMOS with the jumper. Power down and install both sticks of ram. Make sure you power down and disconnect the PSU from the wall before you move the jumper and make sure you put the jumper back into the original position before you restore power.

If that doesn't work, put just one stick of ram in, go into bios and set the memory speed manually to 1333 mhz. That means taking it off of Auto and putting it to Manual and then selecting the 1333 mhz speed setting. Then power down and put the other stick of ram in.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-12, 12:08 PM Thread Starter   #5
Leviatan1
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2012

 
The first thing you said, I did it to make work one stick, since first time I tried dual channel from first install and got NO MEM ERROR I had to clean CMOS and then used ONE STICK.


I'll do your second proposal, in ANOTHER FORUM recommended this TOO, so I think that the opinion of 2 experienced users is good enough for me. TOMORROW ill let you KNOW.
Leviatan1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?