• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Colored stains in Water cooling setup

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Twistedfury

Hello all

I have been maintaining a water cooling setup for almost 2 years.Everything is going well and as intended but on my last 6 most maintenance which was about a week ago i noticed something that has me slightly worried so i im here to ask you fine people of the forum on directions.

I noticed that inside the CPU socket cooling part (forgot the name ) there are some colored stains.So im wondering is that something i should be worried about and if so what should be my next course of action against it ?

For the first year i was using a colored liquid from EKW and from that point on im using a mix of distiled water + antifreeze which gives the liquid a weak red color.

If you need any more information please ask.

Here are some pics to show what im talking about.

Note: CPU in question is : I7-2600k on stock frequencies

I was watching the CPU temperatues on HW monitor all week.They seem to be normal for the most part ranging from 35-48c while using youtube,surfing the web and other general day to day tasks.When it comes to ingame temperatures i tested them using Napoleon Total war and they where anywhere from 50-60c,but that game is not realy taxing on my setup.

Thank you for your time,and sorry if the pictures are to big,dont know how to make them smaller.

Attachments

• IMG_20140410_173418.jpg
    IMG_20140410_173418.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 764
  • IMG_20140410_173426.jpg
    IMG_20140410_173426.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 851
  • IMG_20140410_173541.jpg
    IMG_20140410_173541.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 827
That would appear to be the dyes in the liquid... which is why we tell people not to use it. That said, clean out the loop and you are good as gold. :)