• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I want to Build a water chiller

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

||Console||

Ok I have been running a water cooling setup for a few months now , I need somthing new to play with and dont have much $$ right now . So I figured Y not try and setup a chiller but i know nothing about this so I have come to the pros to ask for help .

My WC loop is D5->DD TDX->DD Maze4->BlackIceExtreem III->D5
So first question is where would it go in my loop Before or after the rad? Do i even need the rad in the loop when using a cooler? wouldnt the rad just be putting Ambient air into the loop causing higher temps ? Or is it best to Put the Rad in the sub zero container ?

Next question with a cooler should I insulate around the cpu block and the gpu ? Or will it not be cold enough to need any thing ?

Coolant do you need more when running a cooler so the water wont freeze ? what % would you recomand ?

Now that those questions are out of the way the cooler its self. I plan on trying to find somthing that is old for free(on side of road or @ junkyard) for this build as i have said it is a low cost build . So what should I keep my eyes open for? Old Ac units? old Dehumidifiers? is one better than the other? (get colder) . Now for the container what do people like to use? I figured i could find a old picknick cooler use whould this be suitable ?

This isnt somthing I want to rush into so any other thing that i didnt ask but i should have please inform me

some one made 1 out of one of those water chiller things (with the big water jug on top) and it worked quite well

He got it for like $23 dollars i think