Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Asus Sabertooth Z77 reporting ridiculous temperature

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-12, 09:45 PM Thread Starter   #1
Seltox
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2012

 
Asus Sabertooth Z77 reporting ridiculous temperature


Yo,

My Sabertooth Z77 is reporting an absolutely ridiculous, and obviously wrong, temperature:



On the Z77, the heatsinks are underneath the plating stuff, so I can't actually feel them directly, but NONE of the plating on the board feels even close to what I would call "hot".

I'm assuming it must be some sort of faulty sensor or something.. If it is, would there be a problem with just ignoring it? A motherboard is a pretty horrible thing to have to RMA.

Also, what are some good programs to check temperatures with, to make sure it's not just this terrible Asus suite that is screwing up (Seriously, almost all the bundled Asus software is horrible :P)
Seltox is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 06-09-12, 10:03 PM   #2
bmwbaxter
Premium Member #5



 
bmwbaxter's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

 
Try hwmonitor.

Probably just a bad sensor. It is unlikely to cause any issues. Another possibly solution would be to download the latest version of ai suite, might be a software issue aswell.
bmwbaxter is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-09-12, 10:06 PM Thread Starter   #3
Seltox
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2012

 
Yeah, I have HWMonitor as well, it's what I use for monitoring my CPU temps, but I don't know what the motherboard ones really mean..

Right now "TZ00" is 28, "TZ01" is 30. And sometimes a few other sensors show up on it, but they seem to sit REALLY low. Oddly enough though, I once saw one that said it's max was like 420, and it said it's current was 2.. I guess that could be the faulty sensor.
Seltox is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-12, 10:53 AM   #4
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Install the latest v1.02.29 of AI Suite II, which contains v1.01.22 of Thermal Armor.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-12, 11:55 PM   #5
wingman99
Member

 
wingman99's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

10 Year Badge
 
How is the cooling across the motherboard?

__________________
i5 2500K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570
wingman99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-12, 12:28 AM Thread Starter   #6
Seltox
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2012

 
Pretty good.

It's in a Corsair Obsidian 650D case:
- Front 200mm (unobstructed, hard drive cages are moved)
- Front 120mm (aftermarket hard drive cage in 5.25" slots)
- 2x 120mm roof (on a 240mm radiator)
- 120mm exhaust
- both 35mm fans installed on the motherboard



I've actually uninstalled the bundled Asus Suite for now. Intending to get an updated version, but I haven't gotten around to it yet :P
Seltox is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-12, 12:44 AM   #7
wingman99
Member

 
wingman99's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Looks like good case cooling. Would that plastic covering over the motherboard hold in the heat?

__________________
i5 2500K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570
wingman99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-12, 11:28 PM   #8
mkhader
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2012

 
I have the same motherboard with the same issue... and the exact same high mobo temp (127)....
Any ideas ?
mkhader is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-12, 02:30 AM   #9
thekillerlama
Member



Join Date: Jul 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkhader View Post
I have the same motherboard with the same issue... and the exact same high mobo temp (127)....
Any ideas ?
Its just a bad sensor, dont worry about it. I have seen this before specifically with a temp of 127c.
thekillerlama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-12, 02:32 AM   #10
Pierre3400
annnnnnd it's gone

 
Pierre3400's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Euroland, Denmark

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekillerlama View Post
Its just a bad sensor, dont worry about it. I have seen this before specifically with a temp of 127c.
So in that case, wouldnt it be a simple RMA?

__________________
Daily Gamer Enthoo Primo
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.4Ghz w/ EK Supreme - Asus Maximus VI Formula - 16Gb Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz CL9 - Corsair AX1200 - 3x Sapphire 7970 GHz Vapor-X 6Gb w/ Heatkiller GPU-X
Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb - Samsung 840 EVO 120Gb - Seagate Thin SSHD 500Gb

Lan Rig Bitfenix Prodigy White - Watercooled mATX
Intel i5 2500K @ 5Ghz w/ EK Supreme LT - Asus Maximus V Gene - 2x Gigabyte GTX670 OC w/ EK 680GTX Block
8Gb Kingston HyperX Fury 1866mhz CL10 - OCZ Octane 2.0 64Gb SSD - Kingston Vseries 128Gb SSD - Corsair AX750 - Samsung 50"
Mining Gear
2x AsRock H61 BTC Pro - 4x 280x - 5x HD7950 - 3x HD6970
Pierre3400 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-12, 09:32 AM   #11
mkhader
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekillerlama View Post
Its just a bad sensor, dont worry about it. I have seen this before specifically with a temp of 127c.
Thanks mate...:-)

Should I RMA it..?
mkhader is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-12, 10:47 AM   #12
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
It's an erroneous reading... just ignore it.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-13, 01:44 AM   #13
JTL2
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2013

 
I am currently running Thermal Radar v1.01.22 and am getting the same reading off the motherboard from the same sensor. But it only happened when I rendered a video file. All my other temps went up, but are still in normal range. This sensor also happens to be close to to the USB/OI case switches. Also, I have a fan blowing right on it and still getting the 127 reading.

Has anyone contacted Asus for an RMA to see what the problem is? Mine is brand new (had is less than 30 days so I could just return it for a new one), but I want to know if it's just a flaw in the production so all models are this way, or just a few flukes. Any thoughts?
JTL2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-14, 12:27 AM   #14
mist42nz
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2014

 
Mine reported a temperature of -1 degree C last night after several hours of Civ5.

4930K cpu, 32Gb, Seddon 240M dual fan cool, Corsair 800ish PSU, 780Ti OC. (3 days old, just rebuilding office now...)
mist42nz is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?