Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

dedicated VGA power supply

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-30-12, 03:33 PM Thread Starter   #1
EvilJoker
Member

 
EvilJoker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bristol,Va

 
Question dedicated VGA power supply


Anyone ever tried one?? dedicated VGA power supply?? I was thinking on getting one for my vid cards,, Would be cheaper on me that a new PSU...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817206007


^^^^Tell me what you think^^

THanks to all that helps!

__________________
MOBO - ASUS V Formula(@ RMA AGAIN)
CPU - AMD FX-8150 3.9ghz(OC 4.7ghz ) (Ive hit 5ghz!)
HSF - CORSAIR H100
RAM - G-Skill (4x2gb) 1600
OPTIC - LITE-ON DVD/RW LIGHTSCRIBE
HDD -{Main}Patriot 64GB SSD / OCZ Agility 3 90GB SSD / OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB SSD / (2X)SG400GB(1x) 1TB Toshiba(Storage)
PSU - ANTEC High Current Gamer 750
GRAPHIX - ASUS GTX 570 DCII / EVGA GTX 570 HD DS SLI
CASE - ANTEC 1200 MODDED EXTRA FAN
COOLING - (10X) ANTEC TRICOOL 120MM /BIGBOY 230M
MONITOR - Samsung 2343BWX \ LG 32" LED
OS - Win 7 Ultimate 64
EvilJoker is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-12, 04:05 PM   #2
MongGrel
Disabled



Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Clearwater FL

 
Sounds like an interesting idea at any rate, not sure if there are any drawbacks other than fitting it on the desktop somewhere, but I could probably just get a second CP-850 here and do the same if I needed it eventually, and plonk it on the desk behind the tower and run the cables in the rear. They are huge and run quiet, not sure if hooking one up independently from the main would effect things overall myself.

I guess you'd have to jump a few things, but *shrug*



*edit* if you were going to do that though not sure I'd trust that one with you're GPU's though. I'm not familiar with that particular one myself.
MongGrel is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-12, 04:06 PM Thread Starter   #3
EvilJoker
Member

 
EvilJoker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bristol,Va

 
it fits in a 5,25 bay(like cd rom), click the link in my post

__________________
MOBO - ASUS V Formula(@ RMA AGAIN)
CPU - AMD FX-8150 3.9ghz(OC 4.7ghz ) (Ive hit 5ghz!)
HSF - CORSAIR H100
RAM - G-Skill (4x2gb) 1600
OPTIC - LITE-ON DVD/RW LIGHTSCRIBE
HDD -{Main}Patriot 64GB SSD / OCZ Agility 3 90GB SSD / OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB SSD / (2X)SG400GB(1x) 1TB Toshiba(Storage)
PSU - ANTEC High Current Gamer 750
GRAPHIX - ASUS GTX 570 DCII / EVGA GTX 570 HD DS SLI
CASE - ANTEC 1200 MODDED EXTRA FAN
COOLING - (10X) ANTEC TRICOOL 120MM /BIGBOY 230M
MONITOR - Samsung 2343BWX \ LG 32" LED
OS - Win 7 Ultimate 64
EvilJoker is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-12, 04:23 PM   #4
MongGrel
Disabled



Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Clearwater FL

 
Yeah I did, I wondered about that after I looked, but still not sure I'd trust it.

Of course I hadn't read any reviews on it either I guess
MongGrel is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-12, 04:51 PM Thread Starter   #5
EvilJoker
Member

 
EvilJoker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bristol,Va

 
I just know that my to cards takes bout 400+watt, and thats not counting all the other stuff in my rig, then 25% OC... thinking bout taking some of the load of my PSU.. Maybe i just need to break down and get a new one.. or get rid of some of my HDD's

__________________
MOBO - ASUS V Formula(@ RMA AGAIN)
CPU - AMD FX-8150 3.9ghz(OC 4.7ghz ) (Ive hit 5ghz!)
HSF - CORSAIR H100
RAM - G-Skill (4x2gb) 1600
OPTIC - LITE-ON DVD/RW LIGHTSCRIBE
HDD -{Main}Patriot 64GB SSD / OCZ Agility 3 90GB SSD / OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB SSD / (2X)SG400GB(1x) 1TB Toshiba(Storage)
PSU - ANTEC High Current Gamer 750
GRAPHIX - ASUS GTX 570 DCII / EVGA GTX 570 HD DS SLI
CASE - ANTEC 1200 MODDED EXTRA FAN
COOLING - (10X) ANTEC TRICOOL 120MM /BIGBOY 230M
MONITOR - Samsung 2343BWX \ LG 32" LED
OS - Win 7 Ultimate 64
EvilJoker is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-12, 04:58 PM   #6
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Well, is it quality? Has JonnyGuru reviewed it? Refurbished? Effiency rating?

That's the issue. I'd get a new known good one and keep the old as a spare. Or sell to s freind. Or build a smaller PC.

New PSU with 80+% green whatever rating thats worth a crop in reviews is my suggestion.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-12, 03:49 PM Thread Starter   #7
EvilJoker
Member

 
EvilJoker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bristol,Va

 
Can never build smaller... yea, it has some reviews somewhere... But it's akin cheaper than a new PSU. The power I need will cost Alot(4 me it's Alot)
EvilJoker is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?