• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P5N-E SLi and E6600, Please Help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

keogh

Howdy,

I'm a noob, but I do know a bit about ocing, but not to much as I am still learning. I clocked my last PC (AMD X2 4400+ to 2.6ghz) without too many problems, but I am having problems clocking my E6600!

Firstly my spec (that matters) is:

ASUS p5n-E SLi
Intel Core2Duo E6600 w\ Artic Cooler Pro 7
GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC6400C4 800MHz Ultra Low Latency DDR2

Now I managed earlier to get my clock to 3.3ghz and I ran Orthos for 2+ hours without fault, and my temps where maxing at 52c, so not to bad. So I exited and continued the ocing process but uping the FSB/Vcore and so on.

I couldn't get it any higher no matter how high I uped the vcore, and I stopped uping the vcore at 1.5v... as I did not want to go past that.

Well I put it back to how I had it and couldnt run orthos for more than 10 minutes this time, so it obviously wanst stable? So something is causing this unstability, cos seeing some people get their E6600 to 3.9, I'm sure I can get it to 3ghz at least!

I set all my ram timings to auto and the ram clock speed to 600 to be on the safe side, so Im sure it wasn't that. Besides I was running a CPU stress in Orthos so that wouldnt have cuased many probs with the RAM.

So I am really at a loose end here, cos I am back at stock now cos I don;t know what to do to get it stable?

Could anyone help out with this? And what I should set the values at at start in my BIOS? And then what I should up and by how much?

The only settings I think I am interested in in the BIOS are:

Vcore Voltage:
Memory Voltage:
NB Core Voltage:
FSB Memory Clock Mode:
FSB Memory Ratio:
FSB (QDR) Mhz:
Mem (DDR) Mhz:
CPU Multiplier:
LDT Frequency: