Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

On harddrive corruption due to high fsb...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-13-03, 04:38 PM Thread Starter   #1
jlin453
Member

 
jlin453's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, Texas

 
On harddrive corruption due to high fsb...


read this in another forum on how to get 200+ fsb without currupting files:

If you do NOT run a RAID setup and have your hard drive(s) plugged into the boards IDE Ports, go into the bios and set the Hard Drive controller from ULTRA DMA to Pio mode on both channels. On Next boot into Windows, go into system properties and then Device Manager....under IDE/ATAPI ATA controllers...set primary and secondary to Pio mode only. Reboot. After these changes you'll now be able to run your board to most any FSB without fear of corrupting your hard drives...



Does this work?
jlin453 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-13-03, 05:17 PM   #2
o770
Member

 
o770's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

10 Year Badge
 
that sounds just like the AGP interface multiplier. if you got artifacts due to the high AGP bus and you have the AGP interface set to 4x, decreasing it to 2x will reduce the bus bandwidth and eliminate the artifacts.

it sounds to me like it would work once the PIO mode will dramatically reduce the IDE bandwidth. but it doensnt sound like something worth to try in my opinion.
o770 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-14-03, 10:00 AM   #3
sirtoby
Member



Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Finland

 
Running the drives in PIO mode would seriously slow down your system..

If you want an example.. try setting your burner to PIO mode instead of UDMA and try burning a cd..
sirtoby is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-14-03, 10:13 AM   #4
HardwareJedi
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: S. Williamsport, Pa. The Home of Little League Baseball

 
Basically your turning Off DMA transfers. Very good point sirtoby, I think the fastest PIO mode is PIO mode4 with something like 16.6MBs transfer rates. If you think some of your games levels are loading slow now, what will it be like without DMA. Besides the slower transfers, I would think HD CPU usage would go up too, because the DMA controller is offloading work from the CPU when enabled for HD transfers.

You have to ask yourself if the tradeoffs are worth it?

*Nothing wrong with playing around with it and seeing for yourself though. Have some fun!
HardwareJedi is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?