Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

the last 9800 vs 5900 thread.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-03, 11:13 AM Thread Starter   #1
emericanchaos
Member

 
emericanchaos's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Williamsport, PA

 
the last 9800 vs 5900 thread.


i'm see'ing about 8 posts a day about "what's better FX5900 or radeon 9800?". so this is to sum it all up for everyone.

THEY'RE THE SAME!. one is stronger in some tests while it gets beat in some by the other.

in my opinion 256MB of video ram isn't needed as there's no software that will utilize it. don't use this as a deciding point as to which to buy. it's just going to cost you alot more money and you won't see a difference.

please don't turn this into a fan boy thread about everything we've argued about before. when it comes down to it they're equal. it doesn't matter who cheated on what and who optimised for what. they're the same. buying either one won't be a waste of money so lets not argue over the minute petty differences.

__________________
xp4000+
crap MSI board
2GB XMMS
x700xt
not worth OCing with this board.
emericanchaos is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-03, 11:21 AM   #2
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
I love you man. This is so true.

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-03, 11:40 AM   #3
IR1
Member

 
IR1's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Jose, California

10 Year Badge
 
But Pixel Shader 2.0 is way screwed up on the FX series right now... but maybe they will fix it. Anyway yeah they are really close to the same performance.

But cheats do matter if they are only equal because one it cheating. Im not saying one is... but to say cheats are irrelevent is illogical.

__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
Asus P8Z68-V
8GB DDR3-1600 Patriot Viper Xtreme
Visiontek 6950 2GB Ref. (stock)

Lenovo Y500 - Core I7 2.4Ghz
8GB DDR3-1600
Nvidia GeForce GT650M SLI
IR1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-03, 11:54 AM   #4
R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3
Member

 
R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York

 
yeah, but we all know this will not be the last thread

the "cheat" is pretty irrelevant because the particular benchmark very poorly reflect real world performance, it's just that we stat monkeys value it so much, also why ATI developed with Futuremark...not trying to start an arguement here

it also matters if GFFX can't do FSAA in HL2 and the radeon series can

also telling from the benchmarks and reviews additional ram helps a lot in higher resolutions, but both cards have versions with 256mb

anyhow, they are very close competitors but not exactly the same
R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-03, 01:23 PM   #5
shiltz
Member

 
shiltz's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003

 
Quote:
Originally posted by R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3
it also matters if GFFX can't do FSAA in HL2 and the radeon series can
the geforce cards don't because the developers of half life told nvidia and ati than they needed to disable it in HL2 because HL2 doesn't support FSAA and it causes lots of graphic errors in the game, nvidia listened, ati didn't.

__________________
Main Rig
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @2750Mhz 11X250Mhz 1.45V / Asus A8N-SLI Premium / 4X 1024mb OCZ Platinum, 3-4-4-8 @416Mhz
Saphire Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770 1GB @925/1360 / Audigy 2 / Acer H233H 23" / Antec TruePower 2.0 TPII-550
WD Raptor 74GB / Segate Barracuda 500GB / Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Water Cooled: CPU Swiftech Storm / Danger Den Double Heater core / Eheim 1250
shiltz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-03, 01:40 PM   #6
n00bular
Member

 
n00bular's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: california, north and south

10 Year Badge
 
hl2 fix


Well now, Half Life 2 can run with AA on with all Geforce series cards. Valve fixed the bug Yay

half-life central

Quote:
Valve has reported that the anti-aliasing bug for Nvidia video cards has been fixed. This is a huge relief for many geforce owners.
n00bular is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-03, 01:47 PM   #7
R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3
Member

 
R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York

 
cool, thanks for the update guys
R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-06-03, 07:51 PM   #8
cursor
Member

 
cursor's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Seattle, WA USA

 
Does this hold true for the 9800 non-pro and the 5900 non-ultra?

And one thing I think needs to be said in the "Final thread" is that nVidia doesn't seem to be able to with ATI on price. And to be honest, I can't think of why. I just got a Radeon 9800 Pro refurb from newegg for $267 shipped. A refurb 5900 non-ultra is $10 more.

__________________
This space intentionally left blank.
cursor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-06-03, 08:33 PM   #9
dippy_skoodlez

 
dippy_skoodlez's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In front of my computer

10 Year Badge
 
Actually, look at the benchies.. not the ones w/oout AA/af.. then the 9800 kicks butt.. ESP in Q3 But w/out aa/af the 5900 leads by a bit... but who would pay $500 for no aa/af?!!

__________________
Retina Macbook Pro 2.6Ghz, 16GB DDR3, 512GB SSD, GT650m
FX 8350, 24Gb DDR3 1600, eVGA GTX670 SLI, Gigabyte FX990, 850w HALE90, NZXT Switch 810, Water cooled.
My Heatware
dippy_skoodlez is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-06-03, 11:00 PM   #10
aceyO
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
HOw about 5900Ultra? Hmm...btw, im from Singapore n if i buy visiontek 9800Pro..HOW TO RMA?
aceyO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-06-03, 11:00 PM   #11
aceyO
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
HOw about 5900Ultra? Hmm...btw, im from Singapore n if i buy visiontek 9800Pro..HOW TO RMA?
aceyO is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?