Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

newbie question... how to oc ram..

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-29-02, 10:43 PM Thread Starter   #1
xvi3tsoljahx
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: KaliforNia LoVe

 
newbie question... how to oc ram..


my ram is posted on the bottom... would it be smart of me to get 2 different brand rams? im planning to add 512 or maybe an other 256 will my board support pc3000 or pc3200 it says on the specs max 2700... i need opinions... =\ Love ocing its gettin me hooked on computers more and more... im more interested how to make my ram to pc3000
xvi3tsoljahx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-02, 10:51 PM   #2
Maxvla
Senior Member

 
Maxvla's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: OKC

 
don't get two different rams. its better to have one stick than several. makes overclocking more of a challenge.

you overclock ram by either a) changing the ram timings in bios or b) altering the motherboard's front side bus (FSB) or c) going out to the barn and hitting the animals rear with a cattle prod

__________________
The Black Hole
Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
Gigabyte P55M-UD2
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX460 1GB
Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
Corsair HX850W PSU
NEC DVD-RW
Maxvla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-02, 11:15 PM   #3
Starfoxer
World's Biggest E-Thug

 
Starfoxer's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: USA

10 Year Badge
 
your mobo will support 2700 and beyond rams. if i were you,
i would sell my 2700 stick, then buy the 512mb of the stuff you
had in mind. it isn't a good idea to have 2 different brand name
rams in one mobo as it may cause some compatibility issues.

__________________
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
Starfoxer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-02, 12:05 AM Thread Starter   #4
xvi3tsoljahx
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: KaliforNia LoVe

 
always thought when it said pc2700 max it would be the max =) then again my mobo said xp2000 but i stuck a xp2100 =) thanks for ur help starfox
xvi3tsoljahx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-02, 12:09 AM   #5
Maxvla
Senior Member

 
Maxvla's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: OKC

 
nobody laughed at c)



oh well.

__________________
The Black Hole
Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
Gigabyte P55M-UD2
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX460 1GB
Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
Corsair HX850W PSU
NEC DVD-RW
Maxvla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-02, 12:17 AM Thread Starter   #6
xvi3tsoljahx
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: KaliforNia LoVe

 
hahahahha =D
thats a nice picture next to your name
xvi3tsoljahx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-02, 12:24 AM   #7
Maxvla
Senior Member

 
Maxvla's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: OKC

 
Quote:
Originally posted by xvi3tsoljahx
thats a nice picture next to your name
interesting you would say that...

Here's a desktop for you

__________________
The Black Hole
Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
Gigabyte P55M-UD2
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX460 1GB
Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
Corsair HX850W PSU
NEC DVD-RW
Maxvla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-02, 12:34 AM   #8
Starfoxer
World's Biggest E-Thug

 
Starfoxer's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: USA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by xvi3tsoljahx
always thought when it said pc2700 max it would be the max =) then again my mobo said xp2000 but i stuck a xp2100 =) thanks for ur help starfox
sure "your name here" i'm glad to have helped

__________________
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
Starfoxer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-02, 12:39 AM   #9
Maxvla
Senior Member

 
Maxvla's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: OKC

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Starfox


sure "your name here" i'm glad to have helped


took me a second til i read his screen name. lol.

__________________
The Black Hole
Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
Gigabyte P55M-UD2
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX460 1GB
Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
Corsair HX850W PSU
NEC DVD-RW
Maxvla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-02, 01:00 AM   #10
Starfoxer
World's Biggest E-Thug

 
Starfoxer's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: USA

10 Year Badge
 
hehe, yea it's a tuffy, how would ya pronounce it?

__________________
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
Starfoxer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-02, 12:49 PM   #11
CyberFed
Member

 
CyberFed's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Orlando Florida UCF Alumni! C/0 2005 Computer Engineering

10 Year Badge
 
Yes i've done C) and it helps ram alot just gotta becarefull horses kick REALLY hard

__________________
I couldn't begin to list my computer specs here..I work as a systems engineer for NASA just imagine the toys I get to play with.. :)
CyberFed is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-02, 01:22 AM Thread Starter   #12
xvi3tsoljahx
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: KaliforNia LoVe

 
Maxvla
whos that girl just curious =\
oh yeah how do i oc ram by bios? i want to see if i can get my ram to pc-3000
xvi3tsoljahx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-02, 02:08 AM   #13
Starfoxer
World's Biggest E-Thug

 
Starfoxer's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: USA

10 Year Badge
 
umm you would steadily increase the FSB until it gets unstable.
also try changing the timings to make ram go fast.

look at the stickied post above, that should help you out

__________________
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
***************************
Starfoxer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-02, 08:37 AM   #14
Maxvla
Senior Member

 
Maxvla's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: OKC

 
Quote:
Originally posted by xvi3tsoljahx
Maxvla
whos that girl just curious =\
check my sig for a wallpaper.

__________________
The Black Hole
Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
Gigabyte P55M-UD2
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX460 1GB
Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
Corsair HX850W PSU
NEC DVD-RW
Maxvla is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?