Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Radeon 32mb DDR

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-07-01, 11:37 PM Thread Starter   #1
It_The_Cow
Senior Member



Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
Radeon 32mb DDR


Is this card worth its ~$100 price tag, or should I go with a GeForce 2 MX card?
It_The_Cow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-08-01, 02:36 AM   #2
[OC]_SR20DE
Senior Member

 
[OC]_SR20DE's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Ummm..

 
No no!! ATI Radeon 32mb is still faster than the MX.. Keep your sweety card. You could've gotten that Radeon for much less price but.. still... not too bad. just my opinion.
[OC]_SR20DE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-08-01, 12:44 PM Thread Starter   #3
It_The_Cow
Senior Member



Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
The lower prices probably refer to the LE and VE models, though. Is there any difference between these and the retail one?
It_The_Cow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-08-01, 03:50 PM   #4
OpenFriday
Senior Member

 
OpenFriday's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hamilton, Ontario

10 Year Badge
 
Retail= 166 core/mem hyper-z enabled
Le=148 core/mem hyper-z not enabled (can be enabled very easily, i clocked my LE to 191/191 so no problems there)
VE= i believe is clocked the same as the LE but has dual monitor support.

Definitly the LE is the way to go for 80$, it spanks the Mx and even beats the GTS in a few areas. Sorry for my assault on the MX but all the benches ive been have compared to the GTS so it really shouldnt be compared to the Mx IMO.

__________________
Folding User Stats
OpenFriday is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-08-01, 03:53 PM   #5
[OC]_SR20DE
Senior Member

 
[OC]_SR20DE's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Ummm..

 
oops.. yes you're right. I assumed it was a LE version of Radeon. sorry.. you have a regular version of Radeon 32mb. I heard that the Radeon 32mb LE can have its BIOS flashed so it will perform equal to a regular version of Radeon 32mb. There are lots of discussion on the flashing Radeon LE in the forums like Anandtech.com video section. There should be someone who can help you here too... but I donno about flashing.. sorry.
[OC]_SR20DE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-08-01, 06:03 PM   #6
AKDUDE
Senior Member

 
AKDUDE's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Go with the Radeon, the MX is starting to reach the end of its life cycle, especially on the newer games coming out.
AKDUDE

__________________
MSI Neo2 Opteron 165 280x9
2x 1 gig DDR500 Gskill sticks
BFG 6800 GT@ 415/1150 ddr
2x250gig raid
AKDUDE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-08-01, 09:23 PM   #7
William
Guest




 
the full 64mb version isn't too much more, and I rather like my radeon 64.
  QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-09-01, 02:58 PM Thread Starter   #8
It_The_Cow
Senior Member



Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
Eh... I can't cough up that much extra money right now. Such a shame...
It_The_Cow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-01, 11:54 AM Thread Starter   #9
It_The_Cow
Senior Member



Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
Has anyone noticed any setbacks when using this card in AGP 2x as compared to 4x
It_The_Cow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-01, 12:24 PM   #10
harderclock
Member



Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: montreal

 
there isnt any difference between dissabled and 4x in benchmarking with 3dmark 2000 with my 64 meg ddr so i dont think you would see a difference

__________________
hell raiser guitar player and power manipulator
harderclock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-01, 02:38 PM   #11
OpenFriday
Senior Member

 
OpenFriday's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hamilton, Ontario

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
It_The_Cow (Jun 11, 2001 11:54 a.m.):
Has anyone noticed any setbacks when using this card in AGP 2x as compared to 4x

I had the radeon 32mb ddr on my board which supports 4x, sold that radeon to a friend who only has 2x and i truthfully couldnt notice any difference.

__________________
Folding User Stats
OpenFriday is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-01, 02:50 PM   #12
[OC]_SR20DE
Senior Member

 
[OC]_SR20DE's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Ummm..

 
i know that the agp 2x over 1x gave me about 1 fps increase in Q3a. so it's very little difference.
[OC]_SR20DE is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?