Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Help... Help Me Please!!!!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-02, 03:22 PM Thread Starter   #1
moosellama
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2002

 
Unhappy Help... Help Me Please!!!!


Help please........ recently, i took out all the components from my comp to clean it (it was reaaaaaalllly dusty) and cut a hole. After my friend and I put it back together, he connected all the fans really messy so there was wires blocking alot of air flow. when we turned on the comp,,, everything was all right. well... i disconnected the comp again and rewired my fans in a much for organized way, only this time when i hooked my comp back up, i also connected my printer and stuff (note: my printer was on). when i pushed the power button, the printer sucked up and spat out a sheet of paper but my comp did not turn on. now, it just wont turn on. I know it has power because the led on the motherboard lights up. I NEED HELP!!!! PLEASE, WOULD AN EXPERT PLEEEEEAAASSSEEEE GIVE A SUGGESTION!!!!! Note: all the pins are in correctly.

here are my comps stats:
Motherboard: AAbit ST6 RAID
CPU: Intel Celeron Coppermine 866 (not overclocked)
Case: Antec SX630 (its the small one)
moosellama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-02, 03:30 PM   #2
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
First of all welcome to the forums

Try disconnecting all the fans again and see what happens.
If your computer posts try connecting the fans one at a time, one or more of the fans could be makeing a short somewhere.

GL

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-02, 03:35 PM Thread Starter   #3
moosellama
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2002

 
i tried dis connecting the fans once, but i will try again, thx. if u have any other suggestions, i would really really appreciate it.
moosellama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-02, 03:45 PM   #4
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
Well from my point of view the other option might by that a short has occured on the motherboard or in the PSU. Have u tryed another PSU ? If not try that. You mention that u have power cuzz your mobo LED is on but does your CPU fan and harddrive turn on (rotate/power up) when u hit the power button or does the comp just remain off?

Enywayz try with another PSU (Power Supply Unit)

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-02, 05:27 PM Thread Starter   #5
moosellama
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2002

 
well... i tried diconnecting the fans again, but nothing happened. When i hit the power button, nothing happens at all. ya.... mabey i will borrow my friends PSU to see if that is the case. hmmmm.... any other suggestions?
moosellama is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-02, 07:31 PM   #6
Antimatter
Member



Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Theresa, Wisconsin

 
This may seem like a dumb question, but is everything connected firmly? And is your power button plugged in all the way/correctly? I recently had a similar problem where my comp wouldn't start, so I checked the power button wires and re-attached them and it started.
Antimatter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-02, 09:54 PM   #7
Jackywebdesign
Member



Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: near ORD,IL

 
I had a problem similar to this b4 and it was caused by a not so tightly connected ATX pwr connector.

__________________
A creative solution (that works :)) is a good solution.

My setup: Ghetto Celeron 600, Athlon XP 1600+ (currently OOS), and A64 3200+ - "yay it finally works!!"

My Heatware
Jackywebdesign is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?