• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Voodoo 5 overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mad Butter

Hi guys.......I have a voodoo 5 5500 and I was going to get a GF3 but i dont have any money at the moment....... I have overclocked my CPU (800-1.1) but never clocked my video card......I have an idea of how to cool it but i need some suggestions........I've never overclocked a vid card before so i need so advice and help......Any cooling suggestions and a good program to use to help me overclock........i also need the newest possible drivers for the voodoo 5......I looked in www.voodoofiles.com but i'm not very good at knowing which ones are good and not.......If someone could help me out with that too.......thx guys.

-evan

http://www.guru3d.com/files/

Click video card utilities, then overclocking and tweaking. At the bottom, theres a voodoo 5 overclocking utility.

As far as cooling, I dont know what a voodoo 5 has on it. To start, I would just get that program and up the frequencies in small increments until you get artifacts or lock ups. If you want to get better cooling then, you can see how much farther the new cooling will let you go than stock by comparing it to what you originally overclocked to (if that makes sense, it does in my head:) )

I do have a voodoo 5 and i have placed a pair of crystal orbs on it, i know that i only managed 190Mhz but here it is quite hot topping 32 degrees celcius already !! :(
anyway if u want to check out how it looks check my web link (it also shows my modded pc :) ) and btw if u r thinking of getting the crystal orbs make sure u have a vacant pci slot