• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Reinstalling Windows xp

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tacka

Hi I'm a newbie to all the overclocking stuff
but 1st things 1st i have just purchased an athlon xp 2000+ and an Abit Kr7a mobo.
Would i need to reinstall windows xp since my previous chip was an athlon 1.2?
would i have to have a fresh installation or re-installation and what options do i choose to reinstall windows xp on the installation screen.

I havent installed any additional drivers yet , hpt 37x or via 4in1.

is it best to leave them after the windowsxp re-install?

first of all wrong place to post this ? second of all i would just do a new install myself but this is my opinion not what to do.

Some people have said that since the tbird does not have SSE support and the XP does it is necessary to reinstall windows in order for windows to detect the SSE support. I dont really know if thats true or not but I dont believe it. If you have installed a new motherboard and CPU then a reinstall would be a good idea but if its working now then its not totally necessary.

yes i think you should install the via 4in1s and also do windows update as there is a patch for the amd xp line of processors (its in the drivers section after you scan for updates). I wouldnt worry about the raid drivers right now but installing them shouldnt hurt anything.

after the driver installs download either WCPUID or Sisoft Sandra or both (search on google and you will find them). When you run WCPUID it will tell you if SSE support is detected (not SSE2, no AMD CPUs support SSE2 as of yet). In Sandra run the CPU and BIOS information module, then scroll down the info for processor 1 and look for SSE technology. if there is a green checkmark beside it then SSE is detected.