Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

ouch! temps too high!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-02, 10:53 PM Thread Starter   #1
speedy4500
Member



Join Date: May 2001

 
ouch! temps too high!


ok according to winbond, my freshly installed Athlon XP1800+ is running at 53 celsius during normal web surfing / music playing. That seems way too high to me for safe operation. I'm thinking that using a shim was not a good idea as it might be preventing full pressure contact between core and heatsink. Does anyone have any hints that might help me fix this problem? Here's what I have:

Abit NV7-133R
Athlon XP1800+
Arctic Alumina
Alpha 8045
Enermax adjustable 80mm fan on HSF, turned to max RPM
2 80mm case fans in
1 80mm fan out, plus power supply.

I followed the Arctic Alumina instruction, making sure to not apply too much, and to make it as even as possible. Thanks.

__________________
n/a
speedy4500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-02, 10:55 PM   #2
Neco
Member



Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Waterloo, Wisconsin, USA

 
Make sure your heatsink is making proper contact.


If you have loose cables, tidy them up somehow and put them out of the way. also, do you have any case fans ? if not get one or two.


and if your getting readings off the mobo's socket sensor then have a little faith, those things are horribly innacurate
Neco is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-02, 11:06 PM   #3
Avatar28
No, I showered



Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nashville, TN

 
I'm worse off than you. I've got an 8045 with a decent fan on it (40 cfm or so I believe). My T-Bird 1000@1450, 1.8v vCore (well, 1.93 according to MBM) is running at something like (almost idle, just websurfing and reading the forums) at 59C with a case temp of 24C. That's using the in socket thermisitor of my K7T Turbo (which is the springy flexible kind that SHOULD work better than the more common ones I see on most boards).

So, don't feel bad, it could be worse.
Avatar28 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-02, 11:30 PM   #4
pby5cat
Member

 
pby5cat's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: california

 
correct me if im rong but Arctic Alumina is the arctic silver + epoxy?

__________________
Intel Q6600 L727A
Asus Maximus Formula
2X2gb Gskill DDRII-1000
2X HIS ATI HD3870 in Crossfire (835,1206)
WD 150Gb Raptor and Maxtor 250Gb DiamondMax10
2X Samsung DVD-RW DL SATA
Silverstone OP850
Thermalright Ultra 120 Xtreme (lapped)
thats it, and proud of it.
My Heatware
pby5cat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-02, 12:07 AM   #5
JFettig
Hey! I showered! Senior

 
JFettig's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MN

 
artic alumina is cheap artic silver.....

__________________
||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||
JFettig is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-02, 12:35 AM   #6
Neco
Member



Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Waterloo, Wisconsin, USA

 
Define "cheap arctic silver"

works fine for me. It's not plain old white goop and it's not conductive, I'm pretty sure it's better than AS1, and slightly worse than AS2.. so I'd call it a "safe value" rather than cheap AS
Neco is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-02, 01:54 AM   #7
hellrazrblade
Member

 
hellrazrblade's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: H town or Tulsa

 
whatever you call it, its cheap and not as thermally conductive as AS2, AS3, or AS adhesive; so yes, its cheap arctic silver
hellrazrblade is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-02, 02:00 AM   #8
Rotary-Motion
Member

 
Rotary-Motion's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Herefordshire - UK

 
hi

my temps are at the bottom i get those with mine but before i changed my hsf i had 64c running temp?

mad ah!

thx.......
Rotary-Motion is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-02, 08:11 AM   #9
JFettig
Hey! I showered! Senior

 
JFettig's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MN

 
why did they make artic alumina? artic silver isnt conductive or anything, its only the epoxy....

__________________
||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||
JFettig is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-02, 08:20 AM   #10
SLO_N8
Member



Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: PA, USA

10 Year Badge
 
I'm pretty sure AS2/3 is conductive. Its not designed to be but I've heard of alotta guys shorting out their memory w/ it. While they say its not conductive, they say to keep it away from pins and traces, lol.

Hell, test it w/ a multimeter

__________________
E8600. EP45-UD3P. 500FSB 24/7. Still WinXP. Heatware
SLO_N8 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-02, 08:44 AM   #11
JFettig
Hey! I showered! Senior

 
JFettig's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MN

 
its only the epoxy, the goop isnt...

__________________
||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||
JFettig is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-02, 05:06 PM Thread Starter   #12
speedy4500
Member



Join Date: May 2001

 
well, stupid me i just found out why my CPU temps are so high. According to the Abit website, the in-socket diode reports temps that are 10 scales higher than they should be, and with a simple BIOS flash it should be fixed. So in reality, I should be looking at 40 C idle temps and about 46 under load (10 loops of 3DMark2001 for now, i'm gonna do a 24 hr burn in when I install XP), which i guess aren't too bad after all.

Also, I used Arctic Alumina because it isn't conductive, it's less messy, it didn't cost as much, and the performance is only 1 C higher in most cases. I'm also planning on ducting cool air from a side vent with a 92mm fan directly on to the heatsink in the up coming weeks, hopefully that can knock down the temps another 4 C or so.

__________________
n/a
speedy4500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-02, 05:13 AM   #13
Neco
Member



Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Waterloo, Wisconsin, USA

 
I think it's shady they say it's not conductive but also warn to keep it away from pins - etc...

If it's not "conductive" then what is it ?? Whatever it is, it can render equipment useless is the fact of the matter...

As far as I know, you don't run that risk from Arctic Alumina, and actually it's not even "silver" looking...

So it's not cheap arctic silver it's..... Performance "white" goop
Neco is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?