Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

New Protein

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-23-02, 03:52 AM Thread Starter   #1
gtsimmo
Member

 
gtsimmo's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA

 
New Protein


Okay in a weird move Stanford has released two seperate proteins with the same name p145_1L2Yunf. One of them is worth 0.6 pts while the other is worth whopping 6 pts with a 20 day deadline!!! Now if your like my and use EM3 you will get some initial error reports when you get the bigger one, since it will expect it to fold alot faster. This protein has already cause quite a few confusions. So dont freak out thinking your CPU has slowed down when you see this new one.

http://folding.stanford.edu/psummary.html
gtsimmo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 05:37 AM   #2
rich99million
Member



Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: UK

 
145 p145_1L2Yunf 201 4 0.6 Description
146 p145_1L2Yunf 201 20 6 Description

I guess from looking at it the 20 point protein should be named p146_1L2Yunf seems odd for a 20 pointer to only have 201 atoms though.

If anyone gets one can you post rough frame times here please?

Rich
rich99million is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 05:47 AM   #3
rich99million
Member



Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: UK

 
lol - brother just got one

it folds about 10 minutes per frame on a stock XP1800+

funny really cos he was saying yesterday he wanted a 6 pointer (after i'd told him the biggest you could get was 5)


Rich
rich99million is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 10:16 AM   #4
NASsoccer
On a string I was held Senior

 
NASsoccer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: i live

10 Year Badge
 
from vijay on this:
yea, sorry. P146 got labeled as P145's. P146 is 6 points and takes 10x longer than P145 (0.6 points). Other than the labeling on the .xyz file (which doesn't have any internal meaning -- it's just there for people to see which WU they get), there is no problem. Sorry for the mixup.

vijay


so all that happened was it was labled wrong, oh well, as long is there isn't a problem i guess it is alright

FOLD ON
NAS
NASsoccer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 10:22 AM   #5
FoldingAddict
Intel Fanboy

 
FoldingAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montgomery, AL

10 Year Badge
 
NAS!!! Where are you getting all of this info?? I can't find it anywhere.

__________________
Standard CPUs:
"Charlie" - Tyan S8812, 4xOpteron 6168 @ 1.9GHz, 4xHyper 212+, 16x2GB G.Skill DDR3 1333, Silverstone 1200 Watt PSU

GPUs:
1x550 Ti @ Stock, 2x580 GTX @ 840


TEAM 32!
FoldingAddict is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 10:24 AM   #6
Arkaine23
Captain Random
Senior Evil Genius


 
Arkaine23's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodlands, Tx

10 Year Badge
 
new WU


Got one right now on my main rig. The client errored out and tried to send it at only 54 frames. I restarted the client and its going fine now... about 9 minutes/frame @ 1750.

__________________
Folding.for.team.32.as.OC3d!
i5 3570 @ 4.5 | 8GB | SSD | 5-disk Raid 0 | 660 Ti
Folding User Stats
Arkaine23 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 10:26 AM   #7
NASsoccer
On a string I was held Senior

 
NASsoccer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: i live

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by verdufreak
NAS!!! Where are you getting all of this info?? I can't find it anywhere.
the community boards where the vijay and company hang out



FOLD ON
NAS
NASsoccer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 10:32 AM   #8
FoldingAddict
Intel Fanboy

 
FoldingAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montgomery, AL

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by NASsoccer


the community boards where the vijay and company hang out



FOLD ON
NAS
I knew that!

__________________
Standard CPUs:
"Charlie" - Tyan S8812, 4xOpteron 6168 @ 1.9GHz, 4xHyper 212+, 16x2GB G.Skill DDR3 1333, Silverstone 1200 Watt PSU

GPUs:
1x550 Ti @ Stock, 2x580 GTX @ 840


TEAM 32!
FoldingAddict is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 10:33 AM   #9
Arkaine23
Captain Random
Senior Evil Genius


 
Arkaine23's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodlands, Tx

10 Year Badge
 
Folding Forums


Team 32 even has a private room there where we can discuss secret strategy, but that's not the only non-public place we can chat.

However, because these are unofficial locations where O/C forums rules aren't strictly enforced, we can't post the information here. You'll have to PM one of the Team Leaders to get the details.

__________________
Folding.for.team.32.as.OC3d!
i5 3570 @ 4.5 | 8GB | SSD | 5-disk Raid 0 | 660 Ti
Folding User Stats
Arkaine23 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 10:51 AM   #10
FoldingAddict
Intel Fanboy

 
FoldingAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montgomery, AL

10 Year Badge
 
Hehe talking to NAS Now.

__________________
Standard CPUs:
"Charlie" - Tyan S8812, 4xOpteron 6168 @ 1.9GHz, 4xHyper 212+, 16x2GB G.Skill DDR3 1333, Silverstone 1200 Watt PSU

GPUs:
1x550 Ti @ Stock, 2x580 GTX @ 840


TEAM 32!
FoldingAddict is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 12:06 PM   #11
chuckerants



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Phoenix

10 Year Badge
 
Damn, I thought there was a problem with my Unlocked Duron last night. It kept getting the big protein while my XP1800 kept getting the small one Grrr...

I lost at least 3 WU because of this.

__________________
Folding User Stats
i7 920 D0 @ 3.8 @ 1.328v - Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R (rev. 1.0) - Prolimatech Megahalems push/pull - OCZ Gold 6GB RAM - HD6870 - Corsair TX750 - Antec 902 - Windows7 x64
Heatware
chuckerants is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 12:12 PM   #12
portorock
Member

 
portorock's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Quantico, Va but am from Queens, NY

 
Anyway to fix the labeling prob or do we just have to wait for them to fix it? I'm ready to go, I have 2 on my 1800+ Dually and it's taking like 10 min/frame
portorock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 12:26 PM   #13
FoldingAddict
Intel Fanboy

 
FoldingAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montgomery, AL

10 Year Badge
 
Grrr, I envision my PII 400 doing one frame every oh, half a day.

__________________
Standard CPUs:
"Charlie" - Tyan S8812, 4xOpteron 6168 @ 1.9GHz, 4xHyper 212+, 16x2GB G.Skill DDR3 1333, Silverstone 1200 Watt PSU

GPUs:
1x550 Ti @ Stock, 2x580 GTX @ 840


TEAM 32!
FoldingAddict is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 12:28 PM   #14
Rav
Member

 
Rav's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philthadelphia

10 Year Badge
 
Average 8.76 Min/frame on XP 1736 Mhz (proteinA was 8.53 min btw).

Also noticed:

- Dynamic steps required: 5000000

That seems like more than usual! Guess they are going for precision?

-Rav

__________________

+ Intel i860, i760, i530
+ I kill threads like a mass-murderer
Rav is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 01:45 PM   #15
new_novice
Member



Join Date: May 2002
Location: san jose, CA

 
takes 12.xx minutes on my main 1.4 Duron, and 196 Hours per Wu on my AMD K6 262.

__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
Intel Q9550 @ 3.4 Ghz
4 Gbs Kingston 1066
Saphire 4780 1Gb version
1 Raid 0 for scrap (2)
1 Raid 1 for OS (2)
1 Raid 10 for data (6x)
new_novice is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 05:20 PM   #16
Arkaine23
Captain Random
Senior Evil Genius


 
Arkaine23's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodlands, Tx

10 Year Badge
 
6 pointer


OK, now I've got 4 of these on my boxes at home. Every rig has one!!!

__________________
Folding.for.team.32.as.OC3d!
i5 3570 @ 4.5 | 8GB | SSD | 5-disk Raid 0 | 660 Ti
Folding User Stats
Arkaine23 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 05:59 PM   #17
res0r9lm
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: florida

10 Year Badge
 
Re: New Protein


Quote:
Originally posted by gtsimmo
Okay in a weird move Stanford has released two seperate proteins with the same name p145_1L2Yunf. One of them is worth 0.6 pts while the other is worth whopping 6 pts with a 20 day deadline!!! Now if your like my and use EM3 you will get some initial error reports when you get the bigger one, since it will expect it to fold alot faster. This protein has already cause quite a few confusions. So dont freak out thinking your CPU has slowed down when you see this new one.

http://folding.stanford.edu/psummary.html
it was an error on stanfords part they have the wrong name they should be p146_1L2Yunf but some how it got crossed with p145_1L2Yunf don't worry from what I have been told even though it has the wrong name it will still give you the right amount of points you are suppose to get.
res0r9lm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 07:26 PM Thread Starter   #18
gtsimmo
Member

 
gtsimmo's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA

 
I just checked the link and it looks like they corrected the situation and it's been renamed p146_1L2Yunf
gtsimmo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 07:42 PM   #19
res0r9lm
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: florida

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by gtsimmo
I just checked the link and it looks like they corrected the situation and it's been renamed p146_1L2Yunf
yea when I got home today it was already corrected on the site but they are still getting sent out as p145's still so if you have a p145 that takes 8-11 minutes per a frame it's a 6 pointer and if it only takes around a minute it's a .6 pointer thats the only way I know of telling them apart
res0r9lm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 08:22 PM   #20
diehrd
Senior SMP Gawd

 
diehrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NY

10 Year Badge
 
I am folding the p-145 Protien and at stock onmy dual XP1800
I am running 11 minutes a frame ... Also folding a p-143 at 7 minutes a frame ....

__________________
.
diehrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?