• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Chassis Temp (MSI KT3)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ice Cool

Registered
Please someone help -this is driving me nuts !!

I have an XP1900 which is running 42 C idle, 45 c in Windows and 48 C gaming - OK so far....

But the Chassis Temp, as reported by PC Alert III and MBM is 39 C - I have a MSI KT-3 Ultra.

Can someone please let me know whether I have a case cooling problem or if the chassis temp sensor is in a hot spot in the case - I dont think that if the Chassis was 39 C I would get the CPU under 50 C idle.

Meant to say, thanks for making me feel so welcome here - I am new to all this overclocking, but getting hooked!

Cheers in advance

I"m gettin hooked on this too! I have the same mobo...

One way to tell if your case cooling is adequate is to record the "chassis" temp (and cpu temp for that matter...), then remove the sidepanel from your case, do your thing for about 15 minutes, then check the temps again. If they only fall a degree or two, then you're case cooling is good. If it drops dramatically, then you need some improvement!

Cheers for the reply - will try

A quick 10 laps of Silverstone in Grand Prix 4 with the cover off and will try again !!!

BTW, what temps are you getting CPU and Chassis, and what is your spec - I am running an XP1900+ with GF4 Ti4200 128mb and a Coolermaster (cheap?) heatsink, 2 fans intake, 1 out with PSU fan and slot cooler for GFX card.

Laters...