Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

modifying w2k splash screen

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-02, 10:44 AM Thread Starter   #1
lord_moose
Member

 
lord_moose's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Silicon Valley

 
modifying w2k splash screen


Yeah, yeah, I know... It's only up on my computer for about 3-5 seconds and I'm usually not in the room anyway.... but what application out there allows you to modify this boring screen? And does anyone have any directions on how to do so?

And while I'm thinking about it.... any idea on modifying the "logo" that pops up with the start button, or how about the "Ctrl+Alt+Del" or "shutting down" screens?

That would be cool.

And ofcourse I'm looking for something that costs less then penny if at all possible.

Thanx guys
lord_moose is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-02, 11:21 AM   #2
Emericana
Member

 
Emericana's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boulder CO

 

__________________
Barton 2600m AQYHA 0346 XPMW Y @ 2640mhz 1.9v
DFI Infinity
2x256 Twinmos BH5
Geforce FX 5900XT
Emericana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-02, 08:23 PM   #3
turd
Member

 
turd's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Ok you want to get a look at what is going on?

Type: boot.ini
into your run box and find the line that ends like this:

"Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect

and modify it to end like this:

"Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect /SOS

So you will change nothing and will only add the /SOS

then save it and reboot and see if you like


To change the other stuff the easist way is to get a progrem called xteg and tweak with its many plugins

http://www.xteq.com/
turd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-02, 08:59 PM   #4
FoldingAddict
Intel Fanboy

 
FoldingAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montgomery, AL

10 Year Badge
 
I tried the way that Emericana linked to, and it worked great. I also figured out how to change the start menu thing that says what OS your using, I got mine to say Windows 2000 Server.
FoldingAddict is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-02, 10:58 PM   #5
Desmond
Registered

 
Desmond's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002

 
Also.. if you wanna get rid of the bootlogo just add /noguiboot to "Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect in boot.ini

It will remove the ability to see blue screens tho.. hmm.. :P
Desmond is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-02, 11:57 PM   #6
FoldingAddict
Intel Fanboy

 
FoldingAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montgomery, AL

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Desmond
Also.. if you wanna get rid of the bootlogo just add /noguiboot to "Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect in boot.ini

It will remove the ability to see blue screens tho.. hmm.. :P
Oh yea i'm certainly going to miss those pretty "blue screens of death" I haven't seen one of those in 2 years lol.
FoldingAddict is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-02, 12:17 AM   #7
FoldingAddict
Intel Fanboy

 
FoldingAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montgomery, AL

10 Year Badge
 
lol this is actually windows 2000 pro. I could make it look like Datacenter if I wanted. I'm working on making all of windows 2000 look just like XP, it's working so far.
FoldingAddict is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-02, 01:55 AM   #8
roYal
Member

 
roYal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
here's a picture of my win2k pro setup, tell me if you like.
http://www.wideopenwest.com/~eshudno...tivegreen2.jpg

__________________
Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
Power: Corsair HX620W
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
roYal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-02, 11:39 AM   #9
FoldingAddict
Intel Fanboy

 
FoldingAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montgomery, AL

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Royal
here's a picture of my win2k pro setup, tell me if you like.
http://www.wideopenwest.com/~eshudno...tivegreen2.jpg
That's just a theme right? I'm trying to actually change the shapes of the task bar, but it seems impossible.
FoldingAddict is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-02, 12:23 PM Thread Starter   #10
lord_moose
Member

 
lord_moose's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Silicon Valley

 
Quote:
Originally posted by FoldingAddict


That's just a theme right? I'm trying to actually change the shapes of the task bar, but it seems impossible.
WindowBlinds does that nicely. I've used it a bit but am unsure if I want to keep it or not. http://www.stardock.com/products/win.../download.html
lord_moose is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-02, 12:24 PM Thread Starter   #11
lord_moose
Member

 
lord_moose's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Silicon Valley

 
Quote:
Originally posted by FoldingAddict
I tried the way that Emericana linked to, and it worked great. I also figured out how to change the start menu thing that says what OS your using, I got mine to say Windows 2000 Server.
Dude, how'd you change the start bar like that? that's pretty sweet.
lord_moose is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-02, 01:06 PM   #12
FoldingAddict
Intel Fanboy

 
FoldingAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montgomery, AL

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by lord_moose


Dude, how'd you change the start bar like that? that's pretty sweet.
I used “reshack” to edit the bitmaps used in explorer.exe. I modified the registry and disabled Windows 2000 file protection that was overwriting my changes if I had left it alone. Using this same method, i'm trying to change the shape of the menu but so far no luck.
FoldingAddict is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-02, 08:10 AM   #13
voxace
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia

 
What exactly did you do with the resource hacker?
In Explorer.exe what bitmaps do you change for that look.
voxace is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-24-02, 01:47 PM   #14
easy_livin81
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pennsylvania

 
how about XP Pro?


Can this be done on the XP Pro OS???? If so...how?!?!?!
easy_livin81 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?