Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Corsair CAS2 PC3200 is OUT!!!!!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-02, 11:52 AM Thread Starter   #1
Overclocker456
Member

 
Overclocker456's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York

 
Corsair CAS2 PC3200 is OUT!!!!!


Finally.. I know a lot of people have been waiting for this memory..
400MHz @ Cas2..

These are the specs for it..

CMX512-3200C2
Memory bus speed: 2x200 MHz
CAS latency: 2.0 clock cycles
RAS precharge: 3 cycles
RAS-to-CAS delay: 3 cycles
RAS active to precharge: 6 cycles
Command rate: 1T (1 cycle)
Population: 1 module/system

And for anyone that's looking to do some extreme overclocking, don't think that just because it's Cas2 @ 400MHz that you can overclock to 450MHz or something.. My stick of memory which is spec'd at PC2700 does Cas2 @ 400MHz using 2.6v.. The same exact specs as above. Now using the most relax timings I can hit 438MHz with 2.7v. Anymore voltage and I get errors.. What does the PC2700 stick of memory I have have to do with the Corsair CAS2 PC3200?? Well it uses the same Winbond BH 6 chips.. So if your goal is 433MHz... I think it should be within reach.. so go for it.. but if you're looking to get past that.. I don't think it will cut it..
Overclocker456 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-02, 12:17 PM   #2
Da Whip
Senior Member

 
Da Whip's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sunny Florida, you can keep the midwest!!

 
This looks very promising. They tested it on a Epox EP-8K3A and an Asus P4S333 and got 200fsb.
http://www.corsairmicro.com/xms/xms_modules.html

__________________
New System:
Asus MA379-T Deluxe bios 602
AMD Phenom II 940 Black Edition@ 3.35Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 64 35C Ambient, 50-60C load
4gig (2x2gig) Kingston Hyper X 1066
Asus Radeon X4870 Black Knight 1gig
Lg DVD Burner
PC Power & Cooling 750 watt Silencer
Thermaltake V9 Black Edition (2x 230mm & 2x 120mm fans)

My Heatware
Da Whip is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-02, 01:03 PM   #3
Element-Xero
Member

 
Element-Xero's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Nothingness is Everything.

 
yowza....must....restrain...wallet........agh....!
Element-Xero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-02, 01:15 PM   #4
Penguin4x4
Are you my Daddy?
♫ ♪ ♫ ♪ Senior Member ♫ ♪ ♫ ♪

 
Penguin4x4's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sector 7G

 
Its mine!

__________________
~Yasashiku Onegaishimasu~

OCForums Metal Club member #39


Need To Contact Me? Use E-Mail or Instant Messenger
Penguin4x4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-02, 06:57 PM   #5
OC-Master
Member

 
OC-Master's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

 
Time to drool!

400MHz CL2

433MHz CL2.5

450Mhz CL3

What more could we ask for?



DS-Master

__________________
RIG:
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI | 1805:Bios
AMD Athlon X2 4200+ | 2733MHz
4.00GB OCZ PC3200 | 400MHz 2-3-2-5-2T
2.00TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 (4X500)
1.00GB Radeon HD 4870 | CORE/MEM 790 / 3840
Creative X-Fi Fatality Champion Platinum
OCZ 850Watt Xtreme PSU | MS Windows Vista Ultimate x64 Edition
Acer 26" Wide LCD 1920X1200 5ms | Sunbeam Fully Mod BlueUV Acrylic Case
OC-Master is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-02, 07:09 PM   #6
Penguin4x4
Are you my Daddy?
♫ ♪ ♫ ♪ Senior Member ♫ ♪ ♫ ♪

 
Penguin4x4's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sector 7G

 
2.5-?-?-?-?T
3-?-?-?-?T

__________________
~Yasashiku Onegaishimasu~

OCForums Metal Club member #39


Need To Contact Me? Use E-Mail or Instant Messenger
Penguin4x4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-02, 08:45 PM Thread Starter   #7
Overclocker456
Member

 
Overclocker456's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York

 
Quote:
Originally posted by DS-Master
Time to drool!

400MHz CL2

433MHz CL2.5

450Mhz CL3

What more could we ask for?



DS-Master
CL3?? Umm.. your board has a CL3 setting?? and why would you want to use such a low timing??
Overclocker456 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-02, 10:52 PM   #8
Yodums
Senior Member

 
Yodums's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ottawa, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally posted by DS-Master
Time to drool!

400MHz CL2

433MHz CL2.5

450Mhz CL3

What more could we ask for?



DS-Master
Hmmm? DDR doesn't have CAS3 timings.

Quote:
why would you want to use such a low timing??
Do you mean high timing? I'm guessing you already know the differences since you started this post

__________________
Peter Gibbons: Let me ask you something. When you come in on Monday, and you're not feelin' real well, does anyone ever say to you, 'Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays'?

Lawrence: No. No, man. ****, no, man. I believe you'd get your ass kicked sayin' something like that, man.
Yodums is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-02, 11:57 PM   #9
Kato
Addicted Tweaker

 
Kato's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada

 
Humm...very interesting...
But its a bit expensive now, I guess I will wait til the Nforce2 came out, then buy the ram for it

__________________
e6400@3.5Ghz
Asus Commando
2Gb Corsair 8500C5D
Leadtek 8800GTX
Seasonic M12
Samsung 226BW

My Heatware 51-0-0
Kato is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-02, 12:40 AM   #10
Gozma
Member



Join Date: May 2002

 
where can u buy the cas2 pc3200? also what is this nforce2 u mentioned?

__________________
Q6600 at 3.4 with 1.4v
EVGA 750i FTW/Xigmatek HDT
2gb X 2 G.Skill 100mhz/PCP&C 610W
GTX260/Antec 900
Gozma is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-02, 01:46 AM   #11
syntax_error
Member

 
syntax_error's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada

 
NForce2 is the second generation of chipsets produced by Nvidia for AMD systems...it will support Dual Channel DDR.

http://www.infosatellite.com/news/20...a_nforce2.html

I'm looking forward to the P4 Dual Channel DDR offerings...Intel Granite Bay and SiS655 ... and then soon afterwards DDRII!

Augh! My wallet is having fits and spasms!
syntax_error is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-02, 05:52 AM   #12
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
Its pretty awsome, just a shame that the pc3200 only exist in C2.5 in Denmark (at the moment)

I'm thinking of buying the 512 mb pc3200 C2.5 but I think I'll wait for the C2.0, can't take that long for the model to hit the Danish market...

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-02, 06:19 PM   #13
Re-Volt
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Go Griz!

 
On its way from PCProgress to replace my OCZ

CMX512-3200C2 MEMORY XMS3200 (400MHZ BUS) 512MB DDR 64X64 (184PIN) UNBUFFE



$253 yeeouch (remember the day when we paid $5 per meg..=))
Re-Volt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-02, 08:21 PM   #14
SpoonMaN
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Olympia Washington

 
hell man i paid $199 for a 4MB simm to get a whole 8mb in my old 486
SpoonMaN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-02, 09:09 PM   #15
Shadco
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland

 
Spidey looks like he's opted for a lifestyle change.

Shad
Shadco is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-02, 09:28 PM   #16
Penguin4x4
Are you my Daddy?
♫ ♪ ♫ ♪ Senior Member ♫ ♪ ♫ ♪

 
Penguin4x4's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sector 7G

 
LMFATFOHS!!!!!!!!!

__________________
~Yasashiku Onegaishimasu~

OCForums Metal Club member #39


Need To Contact Me? Use E-Mail or Instant Messenger
Penguin4x4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-02, 09:40 PM   #17
Pipsquek
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville

 
What mobo will this work in?
Pipsquek is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-02, 10:04 PM   #18
Penguin4x4
Are you my Daddy?
♫ ♪ ♫ ♪ Senior Member ♫ ♪ ♫ ♪

 
Penguin4x4's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sector 7G

 
WELCOME TO THE MADHOUSE!!!!!!!!!!. Any DDR board.

__________________
~Yasashiku Onegaishimasu~

OCForums Metal Club member #39


Need To Contact Me? Use E-Mail or Instant Messenger
Penguin4x4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-02, 10:26 AM   #19
PhobMX
Member

 
PhobMX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

 
bd7
PhobMX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-02, 03:38 PM   #20
xgman
Member

 
xgman's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: xgman

 
This memory is dam stable at 200+ cas2-2-5-2-1T 4way!!! Much beter than "CTL" Samsung was.
xgman is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?