• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i just wanna host files!! good god!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mr. Chambers

in this constant and ongoing stuggle for me to learn how to install and maintain an FTP Server on my spare computer here... is there any site that has step by step (read i'm not very good at this networking stuff) alls i want is to be able to tell which folders, files i WANT to share, and to have it passworded... very simple or so i though.. if anyone can help i'd appreciate it!

its for cable internet, i have a lynksys 4 port router with switch.

oops sorry forgot to say that its on my 2k pro machine.

i know it needs to be accesible from the net outside my lan here.. so i'll need to know the IP of it before i leave the house if i wanna say use it at a friends or something. how do i make it have its own ip that doesnt change? and can any browser d/l from it or does each pc i'm on need an FTP client or whatever?

well lets see.... to have a ip that does not change ur inet connection will have to be static.. what isp do u have? ask them if its static

if ur runnen a ftp server then internet explore on any comp should be able to access it or for convenience they would probly be better off using cuteftp or bulletproof or the likes

hope that helped

ps... one thing thats kind through me off was that the router will assighn ip addresses to each comp on it.. there for when u look on ur computer for which what ur ip is.. it will likely tell u the lan assighned address and not ur acual inet address.. which u need to know to access from another computer

also ur router probly has a firewall built in u will have to tell it to forward traffic on port 21 [or whatever port u chose]to the lan ip address of the computer with the files.....

im also learning so hope this helps