Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

xp--> nt4.0

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-02, 10:02 PM Thread Starter   #1
AltecXP
Member

 
AltecXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
xp--> nt4.0


i have xp pro on my c drive and its formated as ntfs, now can i put nt4.0 on my d: drive as either fat 32 or ntfs it doesnt see the c: drive as a supported format(i know 4.0 doesnt support ntfs) but if i put d: as fat32 how can i install it?
AltecXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 01:39 AM   #2
Oni
Oni-ni-Kanabō
Ninja Hippo eater Moderator

 
Oni's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario Canada

10 Year Badge
 
NT4 certainly DOES support NTFS!

Seeing as your current C: drive is already formatted NTFS, I think you should put NT on an NTFS partition as well. Just seems better. That, and I'm not sure if NT4 will be able to see the NTFS partition if it's on a FAT partition.

__________________
Mama, put my guns in the ground. I can't shoot them anymore.

On Indefinite Hiatus

Asus P6T SE
Intel i7 930 @ Stock
12GB Corsair DDR3 9-9-9-24
XFX Radeon 5830 @ Stock
Corsair 750 Watt PSU

Oni is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 03:31 AM   #3
roYal
Member

 
roYal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
NT will not read fat32. It also wont read NTFS from WinXP since WinXP uses NTFS5.0 and NT uses NTFS4.0. If you upgrade your WINNT to use the lastest service pack, it can read NTFS5, but cannot write in NTFS5.

__________________
Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
Power: Corsair HX620W
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
roYal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 10:08 AM Thread Starter   #4
AltecXP
Member

 
AltecXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
well how can i installit to my d:drive if c: is ntfs5?
AltecXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 12:26 PM   #5
roYal
Member

 
roYal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally posted by AltecXP
well how can i installit to my d:drive if c: is ntfs5?

just install NT to the d:drive and intall all the service packs. When you go back to xp, you'll be able to read the ntfs4 because xp can still read ntfs4, just can't write in ntfs4. WinNt install on d: drive will be able to read ntfs5 if you upgrade to all the service packs, but wont be able to write in ntfs5.

__________________
Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
Power: Corsair HX620W
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
roYal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 01:22 PM   #6
ThePerfectCore
Red Raccoon Dojo

 
ThePerfectCore's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Texas

 
NT4 can't read FAT32? News to me.
ThePerfectCore is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 01:45 PM   #7
roYal
Member

 
roYal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally posted by ThePerfectCore
NT4 can't read FAT32? News to me.
it was said above when i displayed each of the os's and what each can read/write.

__________________
Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
Power: Corsair HX620W
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
roYal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 02:22 PM   #8
Big Nuttz
Always one step ahead of jdmcnudgent

 
Big Nuttz's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toledo, Ohio

 
I tried installing 2000 Advanced server after XP Pro was installed and it wouldnt dual boot right. I had to install 2000 Advanced Server first and then install XP Pro.

__________________
My Rig--Asus P6T Deluxe--i7 920 @ 3.6--6144MB Corsair XMS--HD 4850
Big Nuttz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 02:36 PM   #9
roYal
Member

 
roYal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
I wish i had win2k advanced server. I had win2k but i formatted yesterday and installed xp. I wish i could've reinstalled 2k but my friend burnt my win2k cd with his cigarette and the cd wont work anymore.

Actually, i wish i had win2k datacenter server, LOL/

__________________
Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
Power: Corsair HX620W
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
roYal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 03:14 PM   #10
rogerdugans
Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...

 
rogerdugans's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Corner of No and Where

 
Get the Windows .Net RC1 Beta....
I have Server up and running, and downloading Enterprise Server now...........

__________________
Still overclocked and running linux on watercooled computers after all these years.
rogerdugans is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 04:24 PM   #11
roYal
Member

 
roYal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
downloading?

__________________
Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
Power: Corsair HX620W
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
roYal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 09:46 PM Thread Starter   #12
AltecXP
Member

 
AltecXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
durring installation it tells me that nt needs t o put certain files n c: but cant cuz c: has ntfs5
AltecXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 09:49 PM   #13
roYal
Member

 
roYal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally posted by AltecXP
durring installation it tells me that nt needs t o put certain files n c: but cant cuz c: has ntfs5
nt is trying to configure the ntldr/boot.ini to dual boot, in order to do this, nt4.0 has to install its' boot files onto the system partition. It can't do this, because xp is running in ntfs5 while nt4.0 (obviously has no service files because it's not installed) is ntfs4 and not ntfs5. There's nothing you can do unless you convert ntfs5 back to fat32 which you can only do with partition magic 7, but in order to convert it, you need to have less then 2 gigs on it since it 1st converts it to fat16 then to fat32.

__________________
Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
Power: Corsair HX620W
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
roYal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-02, 09:57 PM   #14
rogerdugans
Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...

 
rogerdugans's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Corner of No and Where

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Royal
downloading?

Yup.

See this thread for more details

__________________
Still overclocked and running linux on watercooled computers after all these years.
rogerdugans is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-06-02, 12:59 AM Thread Starter   #15
AltecXP
Member

 
AltecXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
so i have to reformat and start from scratch? thats ok, im assumeing that nt will run fine w/ my 1.6mhz intel 256mb sdram SB live! ati 128 rage ultra and linksys100tx lan card, i plan to use it just for vs6 and the xp pro for vs.net will office xp run ok on nt or should i use 2000 or 97? and should 8gb be enough room or should i go for 10-15? nt will be for school(same os and vs as school) and xp will be for my own use? is their any problems w/ this set up? oh c: is a single 20gb drive and D: E: F: and Z: are currently two 11.7 gb and one 13.8 gb drive and z: is 500mb u usefor a page file for xp d-z are partition off of a 40gb drive. will my cd burner work if i install nero? and will my usb zip 100 work at all?
AltecXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-06-02, 01:07 AM   #16
roYal
Member

 
roYal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
a lot of software's are made for specific operating systems. For instance, if you try to play red alert on a non win9x system, it ownt work. Some software come in options for win9x, and some for winnt. Refer to the back of the box the software came in and check whether or not it can be used on the os you want it on. Also, yes you'd have to re-format to dual boot winnt. There is a downfall though, you'd have to use fat16 for your winxp because winnt can't use fat32. Don't bother using fat16, as the largest partition size is only 2GB. Just install nt on your other computer.

__________________
Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
Power: Corsair HX620W
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
roYal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-06-02, 01:20 AM Thread Starter   #17
AltecXP
Member

 
AltecXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
i gave my other comp to my dad for a fam. comp, so i just have the dell, will it work ok if i install nt 1st then xp?im not big on games and yje ones i do have run good in xp, i dont have the package for nt cause i bought it at a garage sale w/ win95 and 3.11 for $20 (good deal in my opinion ) but they did come w/ keys.
AltecXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-06-02, 01:33 AM   #18
roYal
Member

 
roYal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
yes, you can install nt 1st then xp. This is because xp can read all of the file systems that nt uses. However, your nt wont read xp if your xp is using ntfs until you upgrade to the latest service pack in NT.

__________________
Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
Power: Corsair HX620W
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
roYal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-06-02, 10:12 PM Thread Starter   #19
AltecXP
Member

 
AltecXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

 
ok whats the biggest hd nt can see it said that 20gb is to big
AltecXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-07-02, 12:14 AM   #20
roYal
Member

 
roYal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
well, with win2k, the only way for it to work with 1 full 20gig hd, is to let the win2k cd take care of the partitioning and let it format in ntfs4. With fat16, the biggest partition size is 2GB. So lets say you want the full 20GB using fat16, you have to create 10 2GB partitions, so you'll have 10 different drive letters all 2GB each.

__________________
Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
Power: Corsair HX620W
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
roYal is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?