Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cases and Case Modding
Cases and Case Modding
Forum Jump

case for watercooling

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-02, 12:39 PM Thread Starter   #1
Potato_P
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: MI

 
case for watercooling


i was looking at this case and wondering if this would be a good case for putting a watercooling system in. would it fit a chevette heatercore in the front without killing any of the HDD bays?
Potato_P is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-08-02, 09:49 PM   #2
Intrepid
Member

 
Intrepid's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Boise, ID, USA

 
I'm no watter coolnig expert but I am an air cooling expert now. I would recoment the Cheiftech/Anteck cases. the aluminum antec one's are great and they have lots of room for watter coolnig and are light weight. they also have nice airflow!! I would almost prefer and Antec alu to my lian-li alu case, cept that the Antec has that door that would annoy me. You couldd get the lian-li pc-70 but it's expensive. that case there might work, but it could be a crunch, the antec and lian-li are nice because they are a bit wider than normal, giving you more flexibility with bigger fans and rad, which you could put right inftont of the front intakes on the bottom.

__________________

.......OOOOOO.......**********************************
......O......O......**********************************
.....O.SSSSSS.O.....**********************************
....O.S......S
.O....**********************************
...O.S..U..U..S.O...**********************************
..O...S.U..U...S.O..**********************************
.O......USSU......O.**********************************
..O.S...U..U.S...O..**********************************
...O.S...UU...S.O...**********************************
....O.S......S.O....**********************************
.....O.SSSSSS.O.....**********************************
......O......O......**********************************
.......OOOOOO.......**********************************
Intrepid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-02, 12:13 PM Thread Starter   #3
Potato_P
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: MI

 
i just converted the measurements of that elanvital case and it might be a bit narrow. i was going to nab a cheiftec case at newegg but it seems the cheap ones are no longer sold there. i did see a nice chieftec based on the sx10xx chassis with a rather nondescript bezel(a plus when modding which i will be doing)and most of all, it's cheap. 49+ship right here

how does that case look?
Potato_P is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-02, 01:34 PM   #4
pby5cat
Member

 
pby5cat's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: california

 
look around directron more antec, chieftech, chemming and chenbro make the same cases. or i like this one http://www.directron.com/9804.html the 120mm front fan is nice, u can mout the rad there and should be wide enof ur HC is 6x6 the width for case is 7.9x17

just cut off the extra 3.5 rails to fit the HC, don't cut them all off thogh u still need 1 or 2 for HDD

__________________
Intel Q6600 L727A
Asus Maximus Formula
2X2gb Gskill DDRII-1000
2X HIS ATI HD3870 in Crossfire (835,1206)
WD 150Gb Raptor and Maxtor 250Gb DiamondMax10
2X Samsung DVD-RW DL SATA
Silverstone OP850
Thermalright Ultra 120 Xtreme (lapped)
thats it, and proud of it.
My Heatware
pby5cat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-02, 03:19 PM   #5
Oreo_The_Cookie
Member

 
Oreo_The_Cookie's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: To Each His Own

 
I like my case
Oreo_The_Cookie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-02, 07:05 PM Thread Starter   #6
Potato_P
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: MI

 
pbycat, do you really think it will work? could i really keep 2-3 3.5 bays(one for floppy, one or two for HDD's)?

also, how much air does the bezel let through? it doesn't look like i could hack it up too much due to the placement of the power and reset buttons so making sure a good amount of air can get past is a big deal.

that case is very nicely priced and looks sharp too, even if i don't use it in my WC project, i might use it for a few boxes for other people.
Potato_P is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-09-02, 11:16 PM   #7
pby5cat
Member

 
pby5cat's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: california

 
yes i think u can fit 3 3.5 drives in there, 2 external mounts and 1 internal, HDD can br put in a external bay. for the front, drill holes if u think its not getting enough air, also check if it has a inlet at the bottem if the bessle where id curves under neath.
i would draw a pic but i cant download the pics from directron to draw on.

__________________
Intel Q6600 L727A
Asus Maximus Formula
2X2gb Gskill DDRII-1000
2X HIS ATI HD3870 in Crossfire (835,1206)
WD 150Gb Raptor and Maxtor 250Gb DiamondMax10
2X Samsung DVD-RW DL SATA
Silverstone OP850
Thermalright Ultra 120 Xtreme (lapped)
thats it, and proud of it.
My Heatware
pby5cat is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cases and Case Modding
Cases and Case Modding
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?