Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Can someone that reads Chinese translate this for me NV30 data?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-20-02, 09:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
Silversinksam
Moderator/ Silver Paste Taster©

 
Silversinksam's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sunshine State, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Can someone that reads Chinese translate this for me NV30 data?


http://www.pcpop.com.cn/view.asp?type=news&id=7722

3DMark 2001


If this info is correct the person that called me an Nvidiot will be eating crow soon

__________________
-15 May 2012: On Hiatus helping bees and the planet at the moment

-You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds??? Click this link.

My Heatware
Silversinksam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-02, 10:05 PM   #2
hellrazrblade
Member

 
hellrazrblade's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: H town or Tulsa

 
i think www.av.com (altavista) has a translator that handles web pages

EDIT:

it works, but it takes some deciphering. oh well, kinda entertaining to figure it out

actually, incredibly entertaining: "Eldest child's position how could easily cups one hand in the other across the chest to resign"

... whatever that means

sorry, not much help, its like talking to fresh immigrants with a chinese english dictionary... still sounds like chinese

Last edited by hellrazrblade; 08-20-02 at 10:11 PM.
hellrazrblade is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-02, 10:14 PM   #3
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
Re: Can someone that reads Chinese translate this for me NV30 data?


Quote:
Originally posted by Silversinksam
http://www.pcpop.com.cn/view.asp?type=news&id=7722

3DMark 2001


If this info is correct the person that called me an Nvidiot will be eating crow soon
Now we are talking big, real big. This could be the last vid card needed for awhile. Would be great, allow one to concentrate on cpu, mobo, ram, cooling, etc. Yes, if true, really big.

Edit: Yep, big, really, really big. Note to self, be happy with radeon 8500...save money....wait.....work on other projects. Really big, damn big (sorry young'uns).

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-02, 10:17 PM   #4
PreservedSwine
Member

 
PreservedSwine's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ft. Myers, Fl.

 
You are really reaching if you think the a yet to be taped out card is running 3dmark.

This is just a made up graph that's been circulating.
PreservedSwine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-02, 10:23 PM   #5
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
Quote:
Originally posted by PreservedSwine
You are really reaching if you think the a yet to be taped out card is running 3dmark.

This is just a made up graph that's been circulating.
Now I do not purport to support (kind of rhymes) any brand however I do know that the 9700 falls short of getting the job done. I do not think Nvidia will make the same mistake in its offering. Hold on to money and wait...yes, wait. Need new psu for the tecs anyway, smoked the psu (35 amps ) and need to replace it. Setup for new cpu would be a better move possibly.

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-02, 10:29 PM Thread Starter   #6
Silversinksam
Moderator/ Silver Paste Taster©

 
Silversinksam's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sunshine State, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by PreservedSwine
You are really reaching if you think the a yet to be taped out card is running 3dmark.

This is just a made up graph that's been circulating.
What am I reaching for? I like both ATI and Nvidia, I just dont like being called an Nvidiot......Time will tell if the graphs tell a true story

__________________
-15 May 2012: On Hiatus helping bees and the planet at the moment

-You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds??? Click this link.

My Heatware
Silversinksam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-02, 10:40 PM   #7
PreservedSwine
Member

 
PreservedSwine's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ft. Myers, Fl.

 
Ok Johnnie Cochran....

If you're thinking this graph holds ANY indication of what the NV30 is all about...it's nothing but HOGWASH.

The supposed specs between the NV30 and the R9700 are quite similair, so although the NV30 may be alittle faster, do not expect to be blown away. If the R9700 falls short in your opinion (which it doesn't, in mine ) I think you'd be better off waiting until the NV35 hits the shelves.
There aren't any changes that can be made to the NV30, it's too late in the game for that, and Nvidia has been caught with thier pants down for the next 4-5 months. After that, I expect the NV30 to give the R9700 a run for it's money. I expect the NV30 to to a superior card, being .13micron, but time will tell. Speaking of money, be prepared to spend MUCH$$ for the NV30 when it comes out.

BTW have you noticed how the GeforceTi4600 and R9700 are quite close in many application w/out the use of AA and AF. Although I assumed most people would understand that is due to cpu limitations, I just don't think they're getting it. Once cpu limitations are removed (by adding FSAA and AF, for example) the Ti4600 gets crushed by the R9700. Twice as fast to as much as 5 times as fast. Just wait till cpu's get a bit quicker, and the R9700 advantage will only grow over the Ti4600.

Back to the topic of the thread- that graph may be a simulation of theoretical performance at best. Fact is, the NV30 at least a quarter of a year away, AT BEST. After that, the R350 will soon roll off the assembly line....then another 3-5 months waiting for the NV35.... and so on, and so on... and so on


Quote:
What am I reaching for? I like both ATI and Nvidia, I just dont like being called an Nvidiot......Time will tell if the graphs tell a true story
Ummm I didn't call you an Nvidiot?

I think both companies are quality as well, I just thought I'd point out it would be a little tough for the yet to be taped out NV30 to be running 3dmark- it's a stretch, that's all
PreservedSwine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-02, 10:59 PM   #8
Rav
Member

 
Rav's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philthadelphia

10 Year Badge
 
Checkthis thread. We've already been through this. It was pretty much decided unamiously that its fake. CPU limitations make those scores impossible, even if a working NV30 did exist, and somehow was given to this obscure website. Its just "guesstimations" based on theory. Don't beleive anything until they can show you some real hardware. How can anyone beleive these scores in the first place? Geeze

-Rav

__________________

+ Intel i860, i760, i530
+ I kill threads like a mass-murderer
Rav is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-02, 11:04 PM   #9
Kato
Addicted Tweaker

 
Kato's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada

 
Re: Can someone that reads Chinese translate this for me NV30 data?


Quote:
Originally posted by Silversinksam
http://www.pcpop.com.cn/view.asp?type=news&id=7722

3DMark 2001


If this info is correct the person that called me an Nvidiot will be eating crow soon
Translation:

"With the arrival of Ati Radeon 9700 GPU, it really makes our eyes brighten. Not only its performence is out of this world, its hype is also overtaking the GF4 Ti4600, which dominated for the past half year. So will Nvidia really just lie down and do nothing?

No 1 spot isn't that easy to give up, and looks like Nvidia is keeping quite for now, concentrating on their "finishing" move. This "finishing" move might well be the up coming NV30, and its aiming directly at ATI R300.

Actually me and the rest of you are the same, really wondering what kind of performence will get with the Nvidia NV30, can it really beat Ati R300...so in order to fullfill your needs now, this is some early stage of NV30's benching scores, so now lets see what can the NV30 do."


This is the best I can do for translating it

__________________
e6400@3.5Ghz
Asus Commando
2Gb Corsair 8500C5D
Leadtek 8800GTX
Seasonic M12
Samsung 226BW

My Heatware 51-0-0
Kato is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-02, 11:18 PM   #10
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Rav
Checkthis thread. We've already been through this. It was pretty much decided unamiously that its fake. CPU limitations make those scores impossible, even if a working NV30 did exist, and somehow was given to this obscure website. Its just "guesstimations" based on theory. Don't beleive anything until they can show you some real hardware. How can anyone beleive these scores in the first place? Geeze

-Rav
I must say that I found nothing conclusive in the thread. I am obligated to stand with Silversinksam however I am more interested in the oc'ed AMD at 2.5Ghz. Please oh please let it be on air. If it is on air then fun times ahead on the competitive front and even a Ti4600 should perform rather nicely.

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-02, 11:38 PM Thread Starter   #11
Silversinksam
Moderator/ Silver Paste Taster©

 
Silversinksam's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sunshine State, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Thanks for translating that Kato....much obliged


PS Silver, If I could get a 2.5 AMD I might make the switch to the dark side

__________________
-15 May 2012: On Hiatus helping bees and the planet at the moment

-You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds??? Click this link.

My Heatware
Silversinksam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-02, 11:58 PM   #12
Rav
Member

 
Rav's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philthadelphia

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Silver


I do know that the 9700 falls short of getting the job done

What! If by falling short you mean making AntiA and AnisF a playable option at all resolutions. I think any card that can be twice to five times as fast as the previous top of the line card is sure getting the job done, regardless of brand!

-Rav

__________________

+ Intel i860, i760, i530
+ I kill threads like a mass-murderer
Rav is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-02, 12:03 AM   #13
PreservedSwine
Member

 
PreservedSwine's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ft. Myers, Fl.

 
Guys, just to inject a little bit of reality into this thread....

No way will the NV30 pull off 25,000+ 3dmarks. That's just lunacy. It is cpu limited just like many other games and benchmarks. It just doens't add up
PreservedSwine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-02, 12:17 AM   #14
john240sx
Member



Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Prophetstown IL

 
i ran 3DMark on a duron 750Mhz and got about 2750, i ran it again when i got my XP1600 and scored about 2825. it doesn't seem to be that CPU dependent to me.

__________________
CPU Intel E8400 EO @ 3.6Ghz Xigmatek HDT S1284
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro
Video Zotac GTX 560 1GB
Ram 2x2GB G.Skill PC2 8000
PSU Corsair 650TX 650w
HDD Western Digital 500gb 7200rpm Sata
Case Coolermaster HAF 932


Heatware
john240sx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-02, 12:20 AM   #15
PreservedSwine
Member

 
PreservedSwine's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ft. Myers, Fl.

 
Quote:
Originally posted by john240sx
i ran 3DMark on a duron 750Mhz and got about 2750, i ran it again when i got my XP1600 and scored about 2825. it doesn't seem to be that CPU dependent to me.
Thats prett sad- you might want to check your set-up.

Your's is a poor example, however....

Your video card is not exactly state of the art....

Check out many of the reviews that mention cpu scaling, and how it can affect your results. You'll soon see that 3dmark is indeed cpu limited, and a new video card simply add that much performance. There are many computations that are still cpu dependant, and if you can't get the algorithms to the gpu fast enough, you just won't see a whole lot of impovement. 25000+3d marks on todays hardeware just isn't a reality, especially when you consider the the similarities of the NV30 and R9700. Other than .13 micron, and what should be a faster core and clock, there just isn't much difference

Last edited by PreservedSwine; 08-21-02 at 12:25 AM.
PreservedSwine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-02, 12:36 AM   #16
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Silversinksam
Thanks for translating that Kato....much obliged


PS Silver, If I could get a 2.5 AMD I might make the switch to the dark side
And the lord said, "Let there be light" and there was.

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-02, 12:49 AM   #17
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
Quote:
Originally posted by john240sx
i ran 3DMark on a duron 750Mhz and got about 2750, i ran it again when i got my XP1600 and scored about 2825. it doesn't seem to be that CPU dependent to me.
It would appear that your system might be limited by your vid card. The new vid cards are limited by the cpu. Sorry about that. Your system will (I promise) turn out bigger numbers with a little newer card. My 1600 oc'ed put a ti200 over 10g. Sorry?

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-02, 12:52 AM   #18
supra33202
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002

 
Is the info reliable? It's too early to talk about NV30.
supra33202 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-02, 01:02 AM   #19
DaddyB
Member

 
DaddyB's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada

 
Obviously that is just speculation about how the card will perform, the first nv30 chip was just tapped out last week... they may not even have it in a working card yet, nevermind working drivers.

I have seen many comments about these "benchmarks" but no one has read the fine print at the bottom of the page:

Quote:
note: Above tests the result certainly does not represent the NV30 final performance, only uses for everybody reference. Welcome everybody enthusiastically to participate the discussion
Even in broken english that seems to be saying those are not real results, just speculation or extrapolation. Im not saying that nv30 cant acheive those numbers (although my feeling is that it wont) but we will just have to wait and see what happens, as always.

BTW that quote is taken from the translated version here.

__________________
Mobile XP2500@2700MHz 208x13 @2.0V†††††††Dell Dimension 8100 P4 1.3
Abit NF7-S, 1024MB Corsair XMS3200††††††††††512MB PC800 RDRAM, T.B. Santa Cruz
ATi Radeon X850XT, Klipsch PM 5.1†††††††††††AIW Radeon 9800, 17" Trinitron
Dangerden RBX, 47c load, Dell 2005FPW†††††††Altec Lansing 4.1, THX certified
DaddyB is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-02, 01:09 AM   #20
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
Alas, we have been found out. I agree that it is most likely an extrapolation. Does give one hope though. Regardless, I think that unless it makes use of an on board processor that the cpu would be the limiting factor for awhile. Might consider researching cpus to more accurately find out what performance level one might achieve.

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?