Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

2 500gph pumps into one rad?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-02, 01:51 AM Thread Starter   #1
Daemonfly
Member



Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NW Pa

 
2 500gph pumps into one rad?


Well, I think I'm gonna go all-out-insane & do a dual pump/dual loop system.

Loop1 will be a 500gph Danner feeding a homemade high-flow water block. Pump -> Block -> Rad

Loop2 will be either 250 or 500gph Danner(probably the 500) feeding GF4 -> Chipset -> RAM -> PSU -> Flow sensor/indicator -> HD -> Rad.

_
Basically: (ignore periods for spacing)

Pump1 -> Loop1 -\................/-> Pump1
..........................>Radiator<
Pump2 -> Loop2 -/................\-> Pump2

90% sure there will be a plexi waterwindow/res in there too..., Two systems could dump into the res then into rad. I might put the GF4 into the first system loop though...

Rad is an Escort Heatercore, about 6"x8"x2" core or so, shrouded with fans on both sides.

I'll be getting the new Soyo P4X400 DRAGON Ultra P4 board with a 1.6A P4 or 1.8A P4 at the least, OC'ed as far as it will go.

Can anyone tell me if this HC will handle all this?
Daemonfly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-02, 02:29 AM   #2
dimmreaper
Senior Member

 
dimmreaper's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: home

10 Year Badge
 
Heatercores can handle a lot, it should be fine, but naturally higher loads do mean higher temperatures.

I have one suggestion though, have both pumps push water through the radiator and suck water through the loops. Large magnetic drive pumps, like the Danner's, can put out a bit of heat which is best to get rid of before the load(s). Those wise-tales about getting more flow with the pump discharging into the waterblock are rubbish. Your flow-rate is determined by the "weakest link in the chain" so to speak, the smallest orifice in the loop determines flow rate no matter where it or the pump are in the loop.

__________________
Jeff Evans (The Outcast)
dimmreaper is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-02, 03:43 AM Thread Starter   #3
Daemonfly
Member



Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NW Pa

 
I was aware of the Pump->HC->block reasoning in normal systems, but I was trying to figure out how to adapt everything into this dual system.

I originally thought it would be better to have the Res feed the pumps(equal amount avail into either pump), and have the pumps move that water thru the different lines before finally combining into the radiator.

With only the CPU waterblock (perhaps the GPU) on the one loop, the water should have a very good velocity, and wouldn't pick up that much heat up from the pump going into the WB. The temp change from water flowing from pump to block shouldn't be any more than 1deg max. This loop would be with a high-flow, high-surface area block with 5/8" hose/barbs.

The 2nd loop's temps aren't as critical.
Daemonfly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-02, 04:18 AM   #4
safemode
Member

 
safemode's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan / Pennsylvania

 
unless the heatercore has barbs that are twice the size of the pump outputs, you're limiting flow of the the individual loops by the heatercore. one pump will be working harder than the other and from the setup you describe, the pump with the lowest resistance will actually be working against the other pump. As long as the pressure of pushing or sucking combines with the two pumps, they will effect eachother and the one having least resistance in it's loop is going to further hurt the other pump as well as be brought down itself. It feels the suction of the other pump as resistance to it's own because they're both sucking the same water (even though it's twice the volume) they're in very close proximity.

It's not a very efficient use of power and heat dissipation. you're pitting the two pumps againts eachother where as in series they add their power. I'm not sure you're going to get an efficient use out of your system without completely separating the loops and having two heat exchangers. But you could probably survive with the setup you're using, you just may find a equillibrium that gives you poor performance or you may not. only trying can tell.
safemode is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?