Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Volt modding a PIII 667

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-02, 12:09 AM Thread Starter   #1
TooHot!
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CA

 
Volt modding a PIII 667


Is it possible to volt mod a PIII 667 (copermine)? How would you do that and how much does it up the voltage?
thanks guys
TooHot! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-28-02, 07:47 AM   #2
mugambo
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Earth

 
I haven't done the P3 677 C-mine, but I have voltage modded two Celeron 733s and a Celeron 850 -- all of which are coppermine core. Basically I chose to set my base voltage at 1.9 volts on the two 733s and 1.95 on the 850. You can choose what you want the voltage boosted to based on which pins you connect.

I've run the 733's at 1066 Mhz for several months without incident. They will both run at 1122 with coaxing, but it requires more voltage and I don't want damage.

I run the 850 at 1097 MHz. It will run at 1147 or something like that with coaxing, but again, I don't want the extra voltage and I don't want damage.

Dave
mugambo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-28-02, 08:44 AM   #3
jmsandrsn
Member



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Xenia OH

10 Year Badge
 
Yes it is possible...assuming you have a FCPGA chip rather than slot-1.

The pins you need to connect depends on the default voltage of your CPU (which mainly depends on the stepping). Please let us know what the default voltage on your CPU is.

__________________
Heatware Refs
jmsandrsn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-28-02, 09:44 AM   #4
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Like was said, which pins to connect depend on what the default voltage is and how much modified voltage you wamt.

http://www.overclockers.com/tips630/

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-28-02, 10:41 PM Thread Starter   #5
TooHot!
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CA

 
The default voltage I believe is 1.65v I want to up it to 1.75v. Yes, it is a FCPGA. I guess thats all you need to know.
TooHot! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-28-02, 10:54 PM   #6
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Sorry dude. The 1.65v default coppermines have the least possible ways to VID pin. The only choice you have is to connect VID3 to VSS for a modified default of 2.05v which is really way too high.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-02, 08:24 AM   #7
mugambo
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Earth

 
The man is right, and it sucks. Never liked the B0 that stepping.
mugambo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-02, 02:06 PM Thread Starter   #8
TooHot!
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CA

 
Eeeks! So I really limited to how high my mobo can increase, Oh well thanks
TooHot! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-02, 02:58 PM   #9
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
One thing you can do, is wire wrap the VID pins for 2.05v, but then always run the voltage with a lower BIOS "user define" vcore. For example: my 2.0a P-4 was wire wrapped for 1.85v modified voltage, but I usually had it set at 1.7v or 1.75v. Set the BIOS voltage for "user define" at a reasonable voltage before doing the wire wrap. The only danger is if you ever have to clear the CMOS, the BIOS will revert back to all default settings and will think the 2.05v is default (because the wire wrap fools the BIOS). But, if you ever need to clear the CMOS, then you can always remove the VID pin wires first.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?