Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

please help asus

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-02, 01:46 AM Thread Starter   #1
kickb0xer
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2002

 
please help asus


just got the a7v333 ok now my old epox board had a program on its Cd that had a m/b fan monitor and temp monitor which i really liked i cant seem to find a temp monitor for my cpu please help
kickb0xer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-02-02, 02:05 AM   #2
A380
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002

10 Year Badge
 
--------

Last edited by A380; 11-23-13 at 01:59 PM.
A380 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-02-02, 02:14 AM   #3
Bull
Member



Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Go to Asus and put search for probe and you can get the program if you don't have the disk. I have tried motherboard monitor 5 with it but it doesn't work. I don't think its updated for the a7v333. Probe works fine on it but the temps do seem to be too high IMO.
Bull is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-02-02, 02:23 AM   #4
A380
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002

10 Year Badge
 
--------

Last edited by A380; 11-23-13 at 01:59 PM.
A380 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-02-02, 02:28 AM   #5
Nitro
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2002

 
PC proce should be on that cd under software
supposively asus probe isnt taht accurate though.... its more of a estimate i hear
Nitro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-02-02, 09:24 AM   #6
moz_21
Member

 
moz_21's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MN

10 Year Badge
 
When I first got my Asus A7V333, I tried to install PC Probe offf of the CD. It never worked . It would crash constantly, and I never could get a reading, EVER. There's supposed to be an updated version on the Asus site (somewhere). I havn't found it, nor do I want to. I run Motherboard Monitor 5 and it works great

__________________
[Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, 2x EVGA GTX 560Ti 1GB SSC, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
[Ubuntu 12.04 LTS Server] Asus M4A79T w/ Phenom II X6 1090T @ stock, 8GB Kingston DDR3 ECC (KVR1333D3E9SK2/8G), Xigmatek S1284, 8x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID5 array, Fortron 530W PSU
[Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
[Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
[Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb Raptor HDD, 2x Realtek NIC Now a KVM on Ubuntu server
[My].Heatware
moz_21 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-02-02, 01:39 PM   #7
willlangford
Member

 
willlangford's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Wash., USA, Earth, Milky Way

 
i have an a7v333, and its a crappy board. pc probe sometimes works. i will never get an asus again.
willlangford is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-02-02, 01:43 PM   #8
A380
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002

10 Year Badge
 
--------

Last edited by A380; 11-23-13 at 02:07 PM.
A380 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-02-02, 03:54 PM Thread Starter   #9
kickb0xer
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2002

 
nope


i downloaded the asus probe and it says invalid chipset....hmmm any other program works?
kickb0xer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-02-02, 07:39 PM   #10
Borgy
Member

 
Borgy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Canada/was England

10 Year Badge
 
My Asus Probe V2.15.00 sucks on my A7v266-E it reads 20'c (apx) too high
get a compunurse or something ... thats what i have now
Asus probe reads 48-50'c
my compunurse reads cpu temp 28'c
room temp 26'C
water temp 27'C
just 2'c warmer than room temp ... gota love water cooling

__________________
Dont buy it ....MAKE IT
Borgy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-02-02, 09:11 PM   #11
Gregory_WE
Member

 
Gregory_WE's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Yeah Asus P4T533-C is a good board.

I'm not sure on the accuracy of PCProbe either... my idle is like 30C and under load is 41C.

__________________
Heatware
Gregory_WE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-03-02, 12:09 AM   #12
A380
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002

10 Year Badge
 
--------

Last edited by A380; 11-23-13 at 02:07 PM.
A380 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-03-02, 12:15 AM   #13
Roadkill
Member

 
Roadkill's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Regina, SK Canada

 
PC Probe works well for me. CPU is = on both PCprobe and MBM5, the MB temps are however one degree lower on MBM5.

The latest MBM5 supports Asus, and will report both the temps reported by the 1011 BIOS (A7V333) and the CPU diode.
Roadkill is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-03-02, 12:36 AM   #14
jreinsma
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002

 
The accuracy of pc probe is only as accurate as the calibration of the thermal reader. the way these thermal readers work is they change resistance as the heat rises significantly. the pc probe then reads the resistance of the thermal reader and runs a few calculations and gives you a calculation. Now the motherboard companies don't have time to calibrate the boards so they purchase the thermal readers in a lot. some of them produce higher resistances than what pc probe is expecting and some do the opposite. and what it realy comes down to is how much the motherboard manufactures payed for these readers. the more they pay, the more accurate the temp is read. Well chances are it is not very accurate since this is not a requirement for the motherboard to work! So they purchase less accurate ones just to give the person an idea what temp their cpu is running at.

The truth is the cpu is running as much as + or - a couple of
degrees.
jreinsma is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?