• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

MOHAA on AMD SMP

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cmcquistion

IT Director Senior
Has anyone run MOHAA on an AMD SMP machine? Are there known issues concerning this?

I can get the game to open and even load a game, but after a few seconds, it locks up the game.

I'm running Windows XP Pro on a MSI K7D Master with Dual XP1800's and a Geforce 4 Ti4600. I was using Nvidia's 40.41 drivers, so I tried changing back to the 30.82 drivers. No difference. I have the affinity tool, but I'm a little unsure how to use it. I set the affinity filter on for the Geforce 4 and rebooted. That didn't help either.

I'm new to SMP. I hear that the Quake engine is SMP capable and MOHAA is based on the Quake 3 engine. Does that mean it's SMP capable? Do I have to do something special to turn it on?

BTW. I've run Ghost Recon, Army Operations, and Jedi Knight 2 on this machine without any problems.

There must be something interfearing with the system because my dualie runs MOHAA with all settings maxed and no slow down let alone a crash...

I saw in a earlier post that you had your processors OCed to 150Mhz FSB...maybe you should back that down a little and see if it helps

Spec

My dual system runs Medal of Honor just fine.

The Q3A engine games are SMP capable but it's a semi-broken implementation. It's not turned on by default, you have to turn it on manually (r_smp 1). The problem is, the SMP tweak works for very few 760MPX board owners.

I can tell you what I am running -
GF3 Ti200 with 30.82 drivers
The AMD chipset drivers from the MSI CD
Windows XP
Onboard sound with drivers from the CD

And my Durons are overclocked to 103x12 right now and my video is slightly overclocked as well though I can't remember to what (using Coolbits).